We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$270
ZenHotels.comUS$278
Trip.comUS$289
getaroom.comUS$273
Prestigia.comUS$348
Agoda.comUS$270
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
77
51
56
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
51
56
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge complex hgvc members boat ride hilton property our night stay beautiful resort parking fee beautiful room full kitchen fish washer and dryer dolphin quest the big island sea turtles amenities pools ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Beautiful, fun, expensive property. Rooms are nice. Dolphin Quest, beach and lagoon cabanas, lagoon activities, shops, restaurants. Truly a great property...but, and you had to know there was going to be at least one: The room AC units blast on high 24/7 unless you shut them off (except the MBR unit in room 7024 b/c we had it fixed). And, you can park your own vehicle for $33 a night and walk at least a half-mile to your room, or valet it for $39/night. Be prepared to wait 5-10 minutes for your car, and you either can or can’t call ahead depending on the valet you speak with.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank AlTheWop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Aloha, thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for your air conditioner not functioning properly, but we are glad to hear overall you enjoyed our tower and your room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Mahalo.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

My sister and I were underwhelmed by our stay at this resort. It is beautiful, overall, but there were many things that left us wanting more. Checking-in is a challenge because there are never enough front desk personnel--you are always waiting, waiting, waiting to be helped. More frustrating, is that the front desk people do not have readily available information on basic information that hotel guests will need, for example, how often do the trams run? Where is the lost and found? In addition, the tram and the boats that carry guests to the various parts of the resort were under repair regularly during our stay--we ended up walking most of the time, which was great from an exercise perspective, but some days, we were exhausted and hot from our activities and would have liked to get to our rooms quickly to rest. It was usually a 15 minute walk to get to our room once we parked our rental car. The lagoons that the boats travel through are dirty and full of algae. Staying in the Ocean Tower made us feel like second class citizens with regard to the other two hotels on the property--we were not allowed to enjoy some of the activities at the more fully-engaged portions of the resort. The rooms were standard with ample storage space and the bare minimum of amenities, but always clean, which was a welcome unexpected bonus. We understand the entire Ocean Tower property will be renovated, but the timeframe is unclear for when that will begin. There is no accommodation if you have to stay later than 1 hour after check-out despite the fact that most planes to the mainland depart late at night. They could easily set aside some hospitality areas with showers and changing rooms, which would be much more guest-friendly. Yes, you have the whole day to enjoy the island, but if you have to check out at 11 am (latest check-ou allowed) and your plane doesn't leave until 11 pm, you must leave your luggage with the hotel, (it's neither safe, nor advisable to travel around with your stuff in the trunk of your car) then travel to other parts of the island for whatever activity you are interested in, but then you need to go back for your luggage before heading much too early to the airport to await your flight. The airport is open air, so it's uncomfortably warm with only a bare minimum of shops and 1 restaurant to pass time and to entertain you while you wait. We decided to see a movie in Kona, but even so we still have a lot of time to waste at the airport. The other thing that was a head scratcher: why doesn't the resort develop a beach?? You are literally sitting at the edge of this beautiful ocean and you cannot get to the water because everything is lava or big rocks...build a beach, you're in Hawaii, people want to go into the water!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 607irmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Aloha. Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay in our tower. We are glad you found your room clean with ample storage space. We will use your feedback in a positive, proactive manner moving forward to further improve our overall guest experience. We hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back to a renovated room.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

A complete and utter disappointment. First off this is not a HILTON HOTEL RESORT. It's some vacation club this is turning this place into a time share. Hilton still shows it on their website which should not be since they have nothing to do with it. I have stayed here in the past and was in this Ocean Tower back in the 90's and the room was the same except for the dirty carpets, and black mold, YES BLACK MOLD AND I HAVE PICTURES OF IT!!! They also try to charge you a resort fee which is for "WIFI" AND A BUNCH OF CHILDRES ACTIVITIES. Well my Fiancé and I are 53 and had no kids with us and as a Hilton Honors member for over 20 years I get WIFI for free. I disputed this. Also, check out at 10 am are you kidding!! most people don't even fly out until nighttime due to the time difference. And we had a room on the golf course side even though I paid for a resort view and had daily construction of a sidewalk being widened outside our room. I will definitely be contacting my bank if this is not refunded and will be contacting local news stations Problem Solver reports on this place. If you’re not part of Hilton, then don't call yourself Hilton. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. NOTE TO HILTON, IF YOU SELL YOUR PART OF YOUR PROPERTY THEN DON’T KEEP YOUR NAME ASSOCIATED WITH IT. CUT OFF ALL ACCESS TO THIS PROPERTY AND LET IT BE ITS OWN RESORT OR TIMESHARE. AND GET IT OFF YOUR WEBSITE OTHERWISE PEOPLE WILL THINK THIS IS PART OF HILTON HOTEL GROUP.

Room tip: Stay at the Hilton Waikoloa Village not Ocean Tower.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Aloha. Thank you for your feedback and loyalty as a Hilton Honors member for over 20 years. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We hope you alerted a member of our team of the issues you experienced so we could assist you while you were still on property. Your review will be used in efforts to improve our guest experience. Thank you for choosing our resort and allowing us the opportunity to be of service to you and your fiancé. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

The resort has beautiful grounds and a lot to offer, or so it seems - staying at the Ocean Tower (which we heard while on-site was mid-remodel) was flat-out depressing and not up to par with what we expect from Hilton's usual service level. Staying at this tower cuts you off from many of the standard Hilton Honors-level benefits, and the front desk staff is either flat-out rude and unconcerned with customer satisfaction or blatantly unaware of the amenities available within this tower. Take the relatively low room rate, add in the extras for parking and resort fees, and it's only a small bump to stay somewhere else that will bring you a much happier result. I just wouldn't do it again or recommend to anyone I care about; this POS just left a massive blemish on our trip. I expected so much more based on the website photos, and we were left completely underwhelmed (and quite frankly, a little pissed off).

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank amsunshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2020

Aloha, thank you for your review. We are sorry we disappointed on your stay with us. The rooms in our tower which have not already been renovated are scheduled to be in the very near future, but it will take time. We appreciate your patience as we transform our tower. We wish you and your family safety and good health. We hope to host you again in the future.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Unfortunately for the price spent, our room was not clean. Plumbing was also an issue, but I wrote a review hopefully the Hilton makes the necessary changes for anyone else staying in a Suite.
Also, they should make it known on reservations that you now check into Ocean Tower, at Ocean Tower. (HGVC now runs that specific tower, you no longer check in at the main lobby)

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank HawaiiLiving808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, Resort Director at Ocean Tower By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Aloha. Thank you for your review. We truly value your opinions and comments. We apologize for the issues you had during your time with us. All rooms in our tower are scheduled for a complete renovation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to a newly renovated room in the future. Mahalo.

Wilbert Lee
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews