We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
32
23
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
23
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club one bedroom suite hawaii calls washer dryer rice cooker lifetime platinum local musicians thanksgiving buffet flower lei full kitchen towel cards beach area coffee pot grocery store other islands the big island a nice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

This was our first visit to the Big Island and the Waikoloa Ocean Club one-bedroom villa was pristine with a full kitchen, contemporary décor with a great erupting volcano print (with flowing lava) behind the sofa. By the way, we arrived for our five-day stay on August 14, a week after the volcano stopped erupting. As a result, we had nothing but beautiful blue skies. The staff was excellent all the way around. The Hawaii Calls Restaurant on the lower level offers all-day dining as well as specials during the course of the week. We had a delightful sunset dinner overlooking the luau dancers performing in the distance at the on-property luau. Also, there was live Hawaiian music by local musicians in the restaurant. How nice. Of special note, was musican Widdy Loo (uke and guitar and great vocals) performing in the open air lobby on the day of our arrival. He also performs weekly at the Kings Shopping Center across the street with a hula dancer one a week. Don't miss him!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeffreyb406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are happy you had a great visit to the resort and look forward to more #vacationgreatness with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Celebrated our anniversary here and had a wonderful time. Even without the full kitchen we were able to prepare meals, use the grill and had no problems. The property is beautiful...the only downside was the smoking station placed between our room and the beach, wish they would move it to somewhere that is not seen ( or get rid of it).

Room tip: We splurged on an ocean front but could have gotten ocean view instead
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank bctrvlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your family vacation. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

My family, all 14 of us, stayed here for a week in summer 2018. Aside from the grounds being really beautiful and well maintained, the staff was amazing! Everyone was super friendly and helpful with whatever we may have needed. The beach is a fun little spot to get the kids familiar with snorkeling and of course all of the activities available literally right out front. We mostly snorkeled but all of the other activities looked fun! We spent a couple hours every day at the bar during happy hour where you have options for cocktails or beers and a few small bites which are delicious! We all drank way too many fruity drinks, highly recommend the Haupia. Peter, behind the bar, made great drinks and always have fun story to talk with us! He gave us really awesome recommendations for things to see, places to explore, and local food along the way. Peter made our trip better, plain and simple! Mahalo, peter!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review, Jessica! We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the warm aloha spirit from the team. We hope to see you again soon at Waikoloa Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We have been to six other MVC properties and the Waikoloa Ocean Club is our favorite so far. The resort is half MVC, half standard hotel which allows for more hotel amenities such as room service, a beautiful full service restaurant and bar, poolside bar and food service.

The property has been recently renovated and it is spectacular. The room decor is contemporary with a unique and fun volcano theme that reminds you that you are on an island with the most active volcano on earth. Colors are gray and black with pops of lava orange and deep blue. The artwork is bold; even a framed retro print of Hawaii Volcano National Park.

The bathrooms are spacious with upscale fixtures and tile. The only omission is a double vanity in the master bath. A compartmentalized bath would have been nice.

The kitchen is huge with plenty of storage space and table that seats eight. No stovetop or oven, but there is a microwave. It is a great space for quick breakfasts and gathering for drinks before dinner.

One of the great things about this property is that it is not too big. We have been to other Hawaii resorts that are so large you walk a mile to get to a restaurant or the pool. This property is mid-size, but not crowded. The beach is beautiful and has lounge chairs, cabanas and rentals of snorkel gear, kayaks, etc. There are three pools, including a sand bottom zero entry for toddlers. While there were many families with children of all ages, the pool areas were quiet and relaxing.

The Hawaii Calls restaurant is excellent and faces west for beautiful sunset views. The menu is wonderful and the service is great. This resort has extensive shopping and many excellent restaurants nearby.

My husband thought the massages at the spa were first rate. Our granddaughter enjoyed the free craft activities, such as real flower lei-making and candy lei-making.

A note about the eruption— the vog is pretty bad in Kona but not so much in Waikoloa. Sometimes there is haze in the afternoon when the win picks up. Even though the Hawaii Volcano NP is closed, there are lots of other things to do. It’s possible to drive near the park and to towns like Pahoa and Volcano. Just seeing the unique environments on this uncrowned island is inspiring. We are very glad we did not cancel because of the eruption.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank BZBCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

It's wonderful to hear your stay was five-star at Waikoloa Beach Club! Thank you for your review and for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel in April for spring break. We were in the Vacation Club section (aka Ocean Club) vs Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa. Although they are really one and the same. The look of the hotel is very 70's, but they have updated what they can. We had a two bedroom suite facing the pool. The room was very nice and had large family room in the middle. Washer and dryer in unit, which is a huge plus. The reason I am giving this hotel a 4 star is b/c there is NO kitchen! We are veteran Marriott timeshare owners and almost every resort has a kitchen, which is very much needed with 3 children. There is a refrigerator, micro, small dishwasher and sink. It would not have taken that much more effort to put in a stovetop/oven combo. We knew this in advance and bought a small camping stove with a pan so we could make eggs, grilled cheese, etc. We purchased the fuel at a local camping store. Also there are a few, old, grills you can use off to the side of the hotel. Nothing like other Marriott timeshare places where there are several large grill islands.
Pools are very nice and not crowded, however they need more waitresses to serve drinks. They would make a fortune, given the drink prices! Nice water slide for kids, nothing fancy, but kept them busy. The beach is close, and the walk there is paved through a little lava park (hard to describe). Spa was great - ladies had massages while husbands took 6 kids to the Hilton for their waterslides (FYI, a total nightmare very crowded).

Marriott restaurants are nice but expensive, we choose to go outside of the marriott to eat for dinners, or go to our friends condo which was next door (Kolea Beach Club. FYI, very nice condos with awesome kitchens. Pool is kind of boring (small rectangle).

Activities we did: hiked volcanoes national park (about a 2 hr drive but worth it and you can do this in a day if you leave early.). Although I am posting this after the volacano activity so I am not sure of the status of the park currently.
There are a few restaurants across the street that are hit and miss, but very convenient.

We did drive local to "Under the Bodhi Tree" for lunch (vegan). Very good, and I am not vegan. for Sushi go to Mostera (a short drive), and ignore the fact it is in a strip mall. It is very good sushi. Da Poke shack and Da Fish shack - both meh, kind of dirty. there was a great breakfast place across the street (can't remember name, but walkable). Lava Java maybe?
Overall, great vacation

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thebruckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are always delighted to hear about #vacationgreatness! Thank you for your review and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your travels. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews