We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Refuge in the Rain Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious bedroom with queen bed, lots of big picture windows and sliding glass door opens to a deck.
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen with gas stove top, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster oven, coffee maker & grinder.
View at dining table.
View of dinning area and kitchen from the sitting room.
Sitting room with large picture windows and a propane fireplace for those cold mountain nights.
Entry way to the cottage.
View at sitting room through a big picture window.
Night time garden view at sitting room
Night time garden view
View at side deck
Front view of cottage
Pathway to cottage with rock wall
Rainbow over Mountain Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc S. W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refuge in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was spotless and excellently maintained. The house itself is surrounded by dense tree ferns and "bamboo orchids". Every window has looks out on greenery.

Water is supplied by rainwater collected on the property. Although there was no shortage of it (there is a reason the location is called a rain forest) the process for using the sink and shower is a little different. Just pay attention to the instructions and it will work great.

There is a gas space heater in the living room and an electric one in the bedroom. These were great to have after being drenched by a sudden downpour while hiking in the nearby Nation Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slrahn
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“You will never be the same��”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We crossed our fingers and hope the Haven would be as pictured and described. It is so much more than that. We made simple dinners, packed lunches, hiked, stargazed and sat by the fire listening to soothing Hawaiian music. We are renewed and refreshed and forever grateful to Richard, Candice and Margaret for far exceeding our expectations. We got so much more than we came for

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, enjoyed our stay. Very clean, scenic and pleasant. We look forward to stay here again. Candice is really approachable and made sure we have everything in place and responded promptly. Very peaceful, enjoyed the birds humming, greenery around. I wish we stayed longer!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinghi...
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Haven in the Forest”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From beginning to end, renting the Volcano Mountain Haven exceeded expectations. The owners provided personalized attention including detailed information and answers to all my questions before our stay. Upon arrival the personal attention continued when we were met at the house for a walkthrough. The home is filled with windows and light. It is perfect for birdwatching with lots of outside decks. We really appreciated the coffee beans, local honey (the best I ever tasted!) and anthurium arrangements throughout the house. The home is very conveniently located for visitng Volcanoes National Park and Volcano Village. We appreciate all the detailed info and photos describing various hikes and drives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenient location and beautiful setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brians101
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat on a wonderful island.”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Volcano Mountain Haven.
This is a lovely cottage, suitable only for a couple, set in rainforest on the Island of Hawaii.
The standard of the accommodation could not be bettered. The attention to detail by the owners is very obvious. We were fortunate to meet candice and richard through our booking agent ron@escapesinternational.com and sincerely thank him for making the booking for us.
We thank Candice and Richard for the quality of the accommodation and can certainly recommend it.
The welcome chocolates went down well too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail that was obvious.
Liked least: Nothing to complain about, would like to think the clothes drier was available for guests given the climate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing