We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A highlight of our Big Island stay!”
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6. Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6.
Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Kitchen area with island sink. Doorway opens to porch and the sky-walk.
Open kitchen/dining/livingroom area with spiral stairs case in the middle.
.Queen with extra trundle bed underneath.
Queen loft at the top of the treehouse looking out at the secluded forest
Outdoor covered lanai 20 feet above the hapu'u ferns and forest floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Citysnob
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Big Island stay!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We could not be more happy with choosing to stay at this tree house. The owner, Skye Peterson, met us upon arrival and gave us a great intro/tour of the treehouse. We really enjoyed meeting Skye, asking questions about the tree house, and getting advice about VNP. Be prepared to wake up early since the tree house is full of uncovered windows. This worked out great for us since we were wanting to get up early anyway and get to VNP. It was so refreshing to wake up in a canopy of ferns with only the sound of birds chirping. There is an awesome catwalk from the tree house out into the tree canopy. At night, it lights up and you feel like you have an entire forest to yourself. Skye supplies eggs and bagels for breakfast. It was really fun to stay in a tree house but have so many amenities. It was great to have a kitchen with a stove and fridge. What a unique play to stay. I highly recommend it! This will be one of those special moments of your trip that you will never forget!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felizvoya...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in December 2010

A wonderful place for those who love to be surrounded by nature. The house is well-equiped and comfortable to stay in. The drawback of such a lovely place is that it is hard to get out and explore the region (and the region is full of amazing things to do, especially if you like hiking). Our children were at the perfect age to be enchanted by staying in a treehouse but I would not recommend this property for anyone with young children or with limited mobility. The attention to detail is apparent and the owner goes out of his way to make sure that you have what you need. The property is off the beaten path but that is part of the charm. During our stay, it was rather chilly at night and we were happy that we had warm clothes with us. One of the highlights of our stay here was waking up at 4 am (jet lag to thank) and lying in bed with a canopy of stars above and then watching dawn break.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LATravele...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How awesome is this?!”
Reviewed 29 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
8
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two sons spent two nights in Skye's treehouse and we wished we'd spent the whole week! It was a real highlight of our trip, and the kids can't stop talking about it. The photos of the treehouse give a very accurate feel of the the place, but can't fully capture the amazing attention to detail and the sheer fun of living in a house in the trees. Aside from simply being the coolest place ever, the house was clean and inviting, the beds were very comfortable, and everything was in working order. Skye was so friendly and helpful, suggesting great restaurants and things to see. Really, really a treat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2011
Thanks Patti,
I enjoyed meeting you guys.
Mahalo,
Skye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtn_climb...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true work of art”
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Skye's treehouse on our honeymoon, and had an amazing time. His attention to detail and use of recycled materials is absolutely amazing. This place will always hold special memories for us, as we have both always wanted to stay in a treehouse. Great location for exploring Hawaii Volcanoes National Park! Stay here! You won't regret it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickergir...
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hands down the most amazing place we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010
5
people found this review helpful

We wanted something cozy and unique for our mini-honeymoon, and were looking for something in the rainforest since beaches weren't on our priority list. Read every 5-star review posted so far - they are not exaggerating about anything. The house is cozy but has plenty of room, perfect for a couple looking for a romantic and off the beaten path place to stay. Super private, gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous location right in the trees and giant ferns. Windows and light from every direction. Multiple doors, windows, decks from every angle. Every morning we would wake up and wander out the kitchen onto the catwalk leading through the trees to the sky deck, where the sun would slowly nudge itself through the trees. We found it so hard to tear ourselves away every day to go explore the National Park (right around the corner 5 minute drive, very convenient for nighttime/evening visits) and would always look forward to returning so we could crack open a bottle of wine, light the fireplace, and just enjoy being in the treehouse.

As everyone has mentioned, the attention to detail is amazing, there are so many lovely little surprises and touches that Skye has included. You really see that this house is a labor of love. The place is IMMACULATE - the wood smells so fresh and clean, there is no mold, mildew, bugs, anything. The house is well-stocked - even the kitchen items seem chosen with care, not the random assortment of cheap mismatched plates and glasses you find in most rentals. We loaded up on groceries from the Costco in Kona before driving over - definitely a good idea to stock up before you head to Volcano, since your options are rather limited in town. Breakfast supplies provided by Skye were great - we had fresh ground coffee, bagels with cream cheese, and eggs every morning.

Skye is a wonderful host, interesting to talk to, and he will make sure you have whatever you need. Though he lives on the property in a separate house, there is no lack of privacy and you really feel as though you are alone in the forest. There are no neighbors or houses visible or within earshot, as you are just surrounded by trees and ferns.

No Wifi or TV. We didn't miss it (though we are self-professed junkies). Plenty of DVDs to watch if you need entertainment, a nice selection of Hawaiian CDs, and so many great spots for reading.

The only downside: beautiful weather all week long! We had hoped for some rain so that we could have a good excuse not to leave the house and just listen to the rain come down on the roof and the trees...

At the end, we were so grateful to Skye for sharing this house - though we saw and did lots of fun things on the Big Island, the treehouse remains the highlight of our trip!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$350
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing