We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Alii Kane Cottages(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
32
22
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
22
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree teacoffee and hot chocolatemassive kitchennational parkhousestoragelavasheetsgpsrainforesthost
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The house is dated but the rooms are clean and all you need for basic accommodation to just sleep. The beds are comfy enough, and extra blankets are provided for the cool nights. The kitchen is well equipped and the surrounds are quiet. Free, decent wifi along with a computer makes it a convenient stay. Overall, given the cheap price it's good value for money.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ichindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the holo holo inn for 2 nights in september 2012. It is a great choice if you're on a budget and don't want to spend to much for a room.

Pros:
- Clean
- The owners are nice
- It's cheap
- Free coffee
- Not too far from Volcano National Park (5 minute drive)
- Free wi-fi + a computer

Cons:
- It was cold when we were there and they only have a portable heater downstairs, in the kitchen... we had to wear sweaters in bed because we were freezing.
- There is a lot of junk outside the house... the first impression is a bit scary
- They have washer/dryers but it's expensive (1$ for 5 minutes for the dryers)
- The dorms look nice, but our semi-private room was tatty
- The rooms and kitchen were clean, but the was some moisture in the bathroom

Tips:
-There are 2 general stores near the hostel, but the food is very very expensive. If you can, buy groceries elsewhere (like Hilo if your plane lands there), do it.
- Bring warm clothing, because it is much colder in Volcano than in Kona or Hilo, and bring an umbrella.
- These places in volcano are great: volcano winery, aloha candy company, café ono.

Room Tip: There is a general store near the hostel, but the food is very very expensive. If you can, buy groceries elsewhere (like Hilo if your plane lands there).
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mspitiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It's pretty decent Japaness style hostel. People are friendly inside, and the hosts lived in the same place as you lived. It's a family style businese and they make you at home.

However, there are still minor drawbacks: the place is a little bit hard to find, but the GPS did a good job. If there is another chance, I think I will still live there(cheap and nice).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We definitively saved money sleeping there but the place was a bit too rough for me... maybe I'm getting too old :) Surroundings are very quiet but the house is real noisy. You'll know for sure when people arriving late or getting up early mind their business in the house. It would also have been nice if the heater had been turned on... Shared showers are rustic too but you'll survive. Beside that, rooms were clean, kitchen offers plenty of space and the owner and his family are really adorable ! The volcano national park is 3 minutes away, awesome for late night drives to the caldera's crater !

Room Tip: Probably need to avoid the right hand side upper floor bedroom, which is closest to the kitchen than the others.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My gf and I showed up around 8:45 pm without reservations. The man who owned the place was very nice and quickly got us settled into a private room, around $80 (cash only) for the night. The room was very large, with a very comfortable bed. The private bathroom was also very large, and very clean. The stay was very comfortable. The inn also has free coffee/ hot chocolate, the kitchen is very communal. The location is excellent, very close to restaurants and gas stations, and is less than a 5 minute drive to the Volcanoes National Park. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews