We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, artistic, comfortable, kid friendly and food allergy aware”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband, our 8 year old daughter and I stayed at Crater Rim Cabin back in March. I apologize for not writing this sooner. As others have said, Barry was the perfect host. He greeted us, showed us everything we needed to know about the cabin, and gave us all sorts of information on the area and where to eat. The room was spotless, and he thought of everything we could need. My daughter has some severe food allergies - and he even had not just one, but several types of gluten free cereals for her. He also got her some 100% pure juice boxes in addition to the eggs and fruits and other food they left for us. I have to say out of our entire 2 week vacation in Hawaii - this place was the most kid friendly and allergy aware of all the places we stayed. My daughter was so excited that she had her own bed and own special foods. She also loved the wall of windows and the cool mirror in the bathroom that could raise up and become a window. Thank you Barry and Jim for all your thoughtfulness and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ookpik-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived at Crater Rim Cabin with a big welcome sign – we knew we picked well. Barry and Jim are just great hosts – I love the space that they created: warm, welcoming, and easy to be in. I really appreciated the humidifier which kept the dampness out, along with the fireplace. Though major props go to the heating blanket which WE LOVED. They provide plenty of information to make your visit a good one: maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Barry gave us great advice on what to check out – I especially appreciated seeing the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater at night, hiking the Kilauea Iki trail and driving the Chain of Craters road.

If you are going to spend any time at Volcano – this is the place to stay. You won’t regret it! We’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We loved our stay at Crater Rim Cabin. Barry and Jim are the perfect hosts and they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The cabin has a beautiful redwood interior, hardwood floors, and attractive furnishings. Everything you need to make a hearty breakfast is waiting for you. The gas fireplace and electric blanket on the bed will keep you warm on those chilly nights and mornings at the 4000’ elevation. The cabin has maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Jim, in his days with the USGS, has taken spectacular photos of volcanic activity. The grounds are beautiful – we’re sorry we won’t be around to see Jim’s dahlia garden in full bloom.
The highlights of our one whole day here were hiking the Kilauea Iki trail, driving to the end of the Chain of Craters Road and watching the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater as the sun set. Thanks, Barry, for all of the great advice on what to see and do.
We can’t wait to return to the Big Island and Crater Rim Cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Crater Rim Cabin. It is situated on a beautiful yard within a mile or two of the park. It is comfortable and probably the cleanest place I have stayed at since Austria (where the maids were hovering in the hallway hoping for a chance to clean). The decorating is bright and cheerful. The kitchen is darling with a nice supply of breakfast items provided. We prepared our breakfasts and dinners at the cabin. It is cool at night but you have a fireplace and an electric blanket to keep you comfortably toasty. In many ways, we felt like we were at a cabin in Northern Minnesota but were at the other side of the planet! Barry and Jim are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The cabin is a two room rustic log cabin, but is very cozy and comfortable. Barry and Jim make you feel very welcome and Barry in particular gave us a lot of useful information about things to do and where to eat. The road to the cabin is very bumpy and I was really glad I was driving a rental, rather than my own car. Unlike most B&B, you are expected to cook your own breakfast but the kitchen is well stocked and equipped, so it was not a problem for us. Nights are chilly but the gas fireplace does a great job keeping room temperatures up. The heated blanket is a nice touch. Everything is spotlessly clean. The cabin is an excellent place to stay while you explore the volcano area. We plan to return someday.

Room Tip: Only one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
4.1 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
4.4 km away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
5.1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#8 of 32 in Volcano
438 reviews
6.2 km away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 24 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: €134 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing