We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hale 'Ohu Bed & Breakfast(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$86
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$520
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ainani Jade Ohana Hotel(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
203
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenelectric blanketsfruitnational parkthe big islandliving roomwonderful hostsgas fireplacevacation rentallarge bedroomlocal informationking bedfelt like homemin drivethree nightsmain roombreakfast food
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived at Crater Rim Cabin with a big welcome sign – we knew we picked well. Barry and Jim are just great hosts – I love the space that they created: warm, welcoming, and easy to be in. I really appreciated the humidifier which kept the dampness out, along with the fireplace. Though major props go to the heating blanket which WE LOVED. They provide plenty of information to make your visit a good one: maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Barry gave us great advice on what to check out – I especially appreciated seeing the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater at night, hiking the Kilauea Iki trail and driving the Chain of Craters road.

If you are going to spend any time at Volcano – this is the place to stay. You won’t regret it! We’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We loved our stay at Crater Rim Cabin. Barry and Jim are the perfect hosts and they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The cabin has a beautiful redwood interior, hardwood floors, and attractive furnishings. Everything you need to make a hearty breakfast is waiting for you. The gas fireplace and electric blanket on the bed will keep you warm on those chilly nights and mornings at the 4000’ elevation. The cabin has maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Jim, in his days with the USGS, has taken spectacular photos of volcanic activity. The grounds are beautiful – we’re sorry we won’t be around to see Jim’s dahlia garden in full bloom.
The highlights of our one whole day here were hiking the Kilauea Iki trail, driving to the end of the Chain of Craters Road and watching the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater as the sun set. Thanks, Barry, for all of the great advice on what to see and do.
We can’t wait to return to the Big Island and Crater Rim Cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Crater Rim Cabin. It is situated on a beautiful yard within a mile or two of the park. It is comfortable and probably the cleanest place I have stayed at since Austria (where the maids were hovering in the hallway hoping for a chance to clean). The decorating is bright and cheerful. The kitchen is darling with a nice supply of breakfast items provided. We prepared our breakfasts and dinners at the cabin. It is cool at night but you have a fireplace and an electric blanket to keep you comfortably toasty. In many ways, we felt like we were at a cabin in Northern Minnesota but were at the other side of the planet! Barry and Jim are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The cabin is a two room rustic log cabin, but is very cozy and comfortable. Barry and Jim make you feel very welcome and Barry in particular gave us a lot of useful information about things to do and where to eat. The road to the cabin is very bumpy and I was really glad I was driving a rental, rather than my own car. Unlike most B&B, you are expected to cook your own breakfast but the kitchen is well stocked and equipped, so it was not a problem for us. Nights are chilly but the gas fireplace does a great job keeping room temperatures up. The heated blanket is a nice touch. Everything is spotlessly clean. The cabin is an excellent place to stay while you explore the volcano area. We plan to return someday.

Room Tip: Only one room!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family spent a couple of nights at the Crater Rim Cabin while visiting Volcanoes National Park and we loved staying there. Barry and Jim are "the hosts with the most". They make you feel very welcome and at home (kitchen was stocked with breakfast items), and they give you great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. The cabin is spacious (comfortably slept our family of four, with kids 12 and 9) but has a very cozy feel, and it is located just a few minutes from the main gate of Volcanoes National Park. We highly recommend the Crater Rim Cabin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews