We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
297
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kate's cottage the big island national park wealth of information home away from home thought of everything king bed b bs tropical rainforest kathryn maps hostess books hawaii hvnp properties art
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

What a great place to use as a base to explore the Volcanoes national Park and the rest of the island as well. Katherine is a wonderful hostess and the facilities are comfortable and spacious. When we were there Halemaumau was spouting its lava in fountains which could be seen from Jagger. This was our third stay at Kahi malu and we will stay there whenever we return to the Big Island.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ronaldknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This was an incredibly convenient place to stay on the Hilo side. We used this as our base to explore Volcano National Park, to take our lava boat tour, and to explore the waterfalls & tide pools. The cabin itself is not glamorous, but it suited our purposes. Our very favorite part was the back porch - we had take-out here for dinner and we felt like we were eating in a jungle - really private and amazing. Kathryn is a great host and very helpful in giving information about the area. I would recommend this place!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thismomtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This place has potential to be really great. Although Kahi Malu had a nice layout and good space, it was incredibly damp. It felt like we were sleeping on wet sheets every night which was pretty uncomfortable. The place needs an air conditioner or a dehumidifier. The kitchen has a bit of a bug problem. If you leave any food on the counter for more than minute, you'll have bugs in it. Because of these to issues, this was our least favorite place to stay while visiting Volcano.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank miltonhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stayed two nights at Nohea cottage while visiting Hawaii Volcano National Park. The cottage is beautiful and well-designed. The bedroom has large windows on all three walls, giving you the feeling of sleeping in the lush rain forest. The lanai (porch) is a beautiful spot to have breakfast or drinks. Nice shower/bathroom. The kitchen is well-stocked. There are even things like headlamps in the cottage that came in pretty handy in our hikes.

Also, Kathryn (the host) is great. She sent us lots of info (perhaps a bit too much!) in advance, met us the first morning we were there, and gave us lots of helpful suggestions on places to visit and the best time to visit each. The check-in/check-out/payment processes were quite smooth.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moham233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at Nohea during our 2 night visit to Volcano. Kathryn greeted us with a beautiful house and tons of great information and maps for the National Park. The house is surrounded by the song of birds. It's so peaceful. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews