We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lau Kapu Cottage = LOVELY!!!!”
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Places
Ranked #10 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the newest cottage at Volcano Places, only 5 minutes from HVNP, and had a wonderful experience. The serene location in the rainforest is peaceful and relaxing.The cottage was beautiful, clean, and well-stocked with everything from coffee to maps of the park and the area as well as books on ancient Hawaiian culture and headlamps for exploring the park at night. Kathryn has thought of everything and is a very helpful host, a wealth of information. The cottage is large and truly a home-away-from home with its' king sized bed with dual-sided mattress warmer, a cozy kitchen area and even an office nook if you need to work while traveling. We would highly recommend this cottage at Volcano Places to other travelers visiting HVNP!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

What a great place to use as a base to explore the Volcanoes national Park and the rest of the island as well. Katherine is a wonderful hostess and the facilities are comfortable and spacious. When we were there Halemaumau was spouting its lava in fountains which could be seen from Jagger. This was our third stay at Kahi malu and we will stay there whenever we return to the Big Island.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ronaldknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This was an incredibly convenient place to stay on the Hilo side. We used this as our base to explore Volcano National Park, to take our lava boat tour, and to explore the waterfalls & tide pools. The cabin itself is not glamorous, but it suited our purposes. Our very favorite part was the back porch - we had take-out here for dinner and we felt like we were eating in a jungle - really private and amazing. Kathryn is a great host and very helpful in giving information about the area. I would recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank thismomtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This place has potential to be really great. Although Kahi Malu had a nice layout and good space, it was incredibly damp. It felt like we were sleeping on wet sheets every night which was pretty uncomfortable. The place needs an air conditioner or a dehumidifier. The kitchen has a bit of a bug problem. If you leave any food on the counter for more than minute, you'll have bugs in it. Because of these to issues, this was our least favorite place to stay while visiting Volcano.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank miltonhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stayed two nights at Nohea cottage while visiting Hawaii Volcano National Park. The cottage is beautiful and well-designed. The bedroom has large windows on all three walls, giving you the feeling of sleeping in the lush rain forest. The lanai (porch) is a beautiful spot to have breakfast or drinks. Nice shower/bathroom. The kitchen is well-stocked. There are even things like headlamps in the cottage that came in pretty handy in our hikes.

Also, Kathryn (the host) is great. She sent us lots of info (perhaps a bit too much!) in advance, met us the first morning we were there, and gave us lots of helpful suggestions on places to visit and the best time to visit each. The check-in/check-out/payment processes were quite smooth.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moham233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
1.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
2.2 km away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
0.5 km away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Address: Volcano Hi 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: €93 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We own and manage three vacation-rental cottages in the village of Volcano, adjacent to the entrance of Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, just an 8-minute drive from our cottages, on the "Big" island of Hawai'i. Two are studio cottages, each with a private bathroom; one is a two-bedroom, one-bathroom cottage. They are homes-away-from-home, with very well-equipped kitchens, stocked with hot and cold cereals, granolas, regular and decaf coffees, green, black, and herbal teas, and condiments (salt and pepper in grinders, extra-virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar, sugar, stevia, and CoffeeMate), comfortably furnished, with books and maps about the Park and this island, WiFi, and cable TV. We, the owners, live on or very near the cottages' properties; guests are greeted after they check in but are given privacy during their stays. Each cottage has its own free parking spot. Guests may use the washer, dryer, and laundry soap in the laundry room in the afternoons and evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing