We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hale 'Ohu Bed & Breakfast(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$100
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$493
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ainani Jade Ohana Hotel(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
296
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnohea cottagekahi maluthe kitchenthe big islandnational parkuseful informationplace to stayback porchhome away from homethought of everythingking bedlush rainforestb bskatemapslanaihostess
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This was an incredibly convenient place to stay on the Hilo side. We used this as our base to explore Volcano National Park, to take our lava boat tour, and to explore the waterfalls & tide pools. The cabin itself is not glamorous, but it suited our purposes. Our very favorite part was the back porch - we had take-out here for dinner and we felt like we were eating in a jungle - really private and amazing. Kathryn is a great host and very helpful in giving information about the area. I would recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank thismomtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This place has potential to be really great. Although Kahi Malu had a nice layout and good space, it was incredibly damp. It felt like we were sleeping on wet sheets every night which was pretty uncomfortable. The place needs an air conditioner or a dehumidifier. The kitchen has a bit of a bug problem. If you leave any food on the counter for more than minute, you'll have bugs in it. Because of these to issues, this was our least favorite place to stay while visiting Volcano.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank miltonhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stayed two nights at Nohea cottage while visiting Hawaii Volcano National Park. The cottage is beautiful and well-designed. The bedroom has large windows on all three walls, giving you the feeling of sleeping in the lush rain forest. The lanai (porch) is a beautiful spot to have breakfast or drinks. Nice shower/bathroom. The kitchen is well-stocked. There are even things like headlamps in the cottage that came in pretty handy in our hikes.

Also, Kathryn (the host) is great. She sent us lots of info (perhaps a bit too much!) in advance, met us the first morning we were there, and gave us lots of helpful suggestions on places to visit and the best time to visit each. The check-in/check-out/payment processes were quite smooth.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moham233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at Nohea during our 2 night visit to Volcano. Kathryn greeted us with a beautiful house and tons of great information and maps for the National Park. The house is surrounded by the song of birds. It's so peaceful. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This cottage located in the middle of this beautiful rain forest and very close to the Volcano National park (approx 8 mins drive to the visitor centre). We stayed at Kahi Malu for 2 nights, and enjoyed our mornings with birds singing.

The owner Kathryn is so nice and friendly, she answered all my random questions and gave us very useful information regarding this area.

Kahi Malu was very clean and it has everything we needed, a fully equipped kitchen, hot water, stove, heater etc. All beds with electric blanket which helped kept the room nice and warm. I wish I could stay here longer!!

Room Tip: Kahi Malu is beautiful, it can comfortably fit 5
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews