We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hale 'Ohu Bed & Breakfast(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$146
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$520
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
296
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnohea cottagekahi maluthe kitchenthe big islandnational parkuseful informationplace to stayback porchhome away from homethought of everythingking bedlush rainforestb bskatemapslanaihostess
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed 3 nites at Kate's Volcano Cottage, just outside of Volcano Nat'l Park. This is a charming studio style unit perfect for a couple. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well furnished. Kathryn was an excellent host. 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ingredients:
- A beautiful forest, 5 minutes drive from the Volcano National Park
- A very warm welcome from Kathryn
- A lovely cottage (Nohea), with lots of windows to the forest
- A hot tub

Melt all these ingredents and you'll get the perfect place to stay :)
Thank you very much Kathryn for your help and kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Bungalow. We were very happy with our experience here. The cottage was clean and cozy and had everything we needed. We appreciated the heated mattress pads and the heaters in the cottage. The living room has a selection of books, maps, and DVD's, and the wireless internet works. It rained both nights but we were warm and comfortable. The location is perfect for visiting the volcanoes and close enough to drive to the park for night viewing. Kathryn was very helpful with information about the park and the weather. I recommend on buying groceries in Hilo or Kona before coming to Volcano, since the selections and prices are better in the larger towns. If we ever come to Volcano again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Nohea for 2 nights in early February. I loved it! I wish we would have planned on spending more time there! First off, the cottage is spectacular. The craftsmanship is amazing. The pictures on line do not do it justice. It is so comfy tucked into the fern forest. Equipped with everything you could need. Kathryn was such a treat. She could not have been more friendly and helpful. We met her husband Kenneth (his skill and carpentry built Nohea). What an interesting couple! I told my husband when we pulled away that I would love to have them as friends. Highly, highly recommend this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenafrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Nohea is a handcrafted perfectly stocked house in the woods with all cabinetry and the house itself built by
The owner 's husband. Great entertainment center -dvr etc-room with hot tub outdoor eating area , contemporary bath living rm dining area ,
bedroom. Everything you need is here. We ate dinner in one night. Kathryn is full of info. The park entrance
Is 5 minutes away so we went 3 times one day
Had dinner another nite in the small town of Volcano
At Kiave Kitchen and drove "home" in 5 minutes. next day drove to Kona airport in 2 1/2 hours for flight to
honolulu. all in all a Fantastic property. a "must" in
Volcano

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bull59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews