We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park is OPEN!”

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A geological and historical museum.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The Park is OPEN. The Jagger museum has sustained substantial damage. It is currently closed. Probably not opening anytime soon but the park is still incredibly impressive. It's totally changed at the Summit. You must visit to really appreciate. History in the making!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank MaxHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"after dark"
in 66 reviews
"kilauea caldera"
in 45 reviews
"great place to view"
in 22 reviews
"visit at night"
in 18 reviews
"bring binoculars"
in 20 reviews
"active volcano"
in 73 reviews
"volcanic activity"
in 53 reviews
"observation deck"
in 20 reviews
"national park"
in 93 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 19 reviews
"lava cake"
in 64 reviews
"gift shop"
in 76 reviews
"orange glow"
in 22 reviews
"steam coming"
in 20 reviews
"ranger talk"
in 16 reviews
"vantage point"
in 19 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 16 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

This was the 9th stop on our drive from Waikoloa to Kilauea caldera. This was the goal of our daytrip; to see the caldera at night.

We arrived early so were lucky to get a great parking spot. Once the parking lot fills, you need to walk a decent distance from a second parking lot. You pass the bathroom building on your left and see the museum straight ahead. To the right and behind the museum is the view! It is interesting to see it at or before dusk to see what it looks like then. When it gets dark, people will cycle in and out so if you stay longer then you will be able to get a good view and photos of the view.

Full day Itinerary (before eruption). Our group included kids 2-15 years old, adults and 74 year old grandparents: We planned a few stops during our drive from Waikoloa to the Kilauea caldera in Volcano National Park. Waipio Valley Lookout was first (photo op and bathroom, no hike), then Laupahoehoe Beach Park (photo op down near water and bathroom), Akaka Falls State Park ("hike" on cement trail to falls), lunch at Hilo Farmer's Market, then Volcano National Park. In Volcano National Park we visited the Kilauea Visitor Center and watched the educational film, Thurston Lava Tubes, ate at The Rim at Volcano House Hotel, stopped at Steaming Bluff Overlook (steam vent near the parking area then hike to 'rim'), then to Jaggar Museum to view volcano at/after sunset. Drove back via the nice, smooth, DARK, Daniel K Inouye highway that bisects the island.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank nagiffag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Seriously, it’s about to fall into Halemaumau. You can’t drive past sulphur banks or KMC. Some things on display at Visitor Center.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kalamakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We came here last year, and in the evening. It was really cool to look at the lava glow. Bring jackets as it was pretty chilly in the evening, especially when the wind is strong. We went inside the museum when we got too cold, and browsed the exhibits and the shop inside. The museum had some interesting exhibits.

Wish we could have come during the day to look at the crater too.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Legopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We visited this museum both during the day and night. I loved the daytime visit because of the stories the park rangers told to the many visitors and the telescopes set up for viewing. The night time view was awesome to see the red glow of the molten lava. Lots of interesting facts and displays to visit inside the museum.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Starry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas A. Jaggar Museum also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thomas A. Jaggar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing