We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
5
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
4
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

With that said, this hostel is not for everyone. It is in a residential area far removed from the hustle & bustle of a town (yet Hilo is only 15-20 minutes away). Although there is a bus that stops nearby two times a day, this hostel is best suited to those who have a car to use.

Personally, I loved the quiet of this hostel, and listening to the coqui frogs at night. I was in the middle of a six week trip, so the quiet was a nice change of pace. It is only about 10-15 minutes from Hawaii Volcano National Park, which makes it very convenient for early and late viewing of the lava.

I have stayed in hundreds of hostels and this is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. The inside of the building is very beautiful and well kept, the rooms are spacious, there are large locked trunks where you can lock all of your belongings, and the kitchen is well equipped.

Doc is a great host. He can offer suggestions if you want, or just leave you alone if that is what you want. His wife runs the Pineapple Park - Kona, which is very different, but also a nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank ExploringCuriously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is hard to find and only stay here if you want some adventure and don't mind hostels. It's pretty dirty the kitchen reminds me of Jamaican hostels. With that said, staff was very nice an a great location to the volcanoes.

The is a lot of potential here, it's obvious that this was a very nice property 20 years ago.

Room Tip: It's a hostel, but you can book private rooms with a private bath at very good rates. Just don't expect hotel quality.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cemoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at all three Pineapple Park properties while on the Big Island. Doc and Annie were excellent hosts and they gave us a nice discount off of the "semi-private" rate as well as upgrading us to private rooms with private baths in the Hilo and Kona locations.

Note that the "Volcano" location is not in Volcano but in Mountain View, between Volcano and Hilo. It's located off the beaten track, and a bit hard to find at night, at least the first time.

The Volcano location has a variety of rooms, including Private, Semi-Private (a private room with a shared bath) and typical hostel-style dorm rooms. A confusing array of sliding walls allows them to re-configure the rooms to accommodate various group sizes and arrangements. The Volcano location also features a very nice shared "living room" area, nice outdoor seating areas, and a very functional shared kitchen (they even have a pizza oven!)

We had a semi-private room at this location. It had a king-sized bed, which was awesome, however the shared bath arrangement was a bit odd. The entry to our room was from the outside of the building, so we had to go outside around the building to get to the available bathrooms. Considering that Mountain View is on the rainy side of the island, this meant going out in the rain to get to the bathroom a lot of the time. There were awnings around most of the building, but not the side that our room door was on, so that was not the best arrangement. Doc did find me an umbrella since I often have to pee in the middle of the night when the rains tend to be heaviest. The other issue with being on the rainy side of the island was that the entire place had a pretty noticeable moldy/mildewy smell to it. If they were able to banish the mold and mildew, and provide a covered walkway to the restrooms, I'd upgrade my rating to 4 stars.

Overall, you can't beat the price, and that was a primary factor for us. The people were great -- both the owners and the other guests, and the shared facilities were nice. I'd recommend to a friend as long as they understood what they were signing up for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2007

Very pleasantly surprised! We had a private room and private bath. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bed was huge and had great bedding and pillows. The place was very quiet and private. The room was a little small, but who cares. The shared kitchen was pretty good! Best I have seen for "shared".

No laundry facilities, they were broken.

Great grounds, huge piece of land, hammock, etc. Nobody was there! About 15 minutes to the volcano and about 15 minutes to Hilo.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jentuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2006

While not deluxe (it has nice private rooms-which we used-as well as bunks for the backpacker crowd), the Volcano version of Pineapple Park is a great location to explore the entire southern end of The Big Island, including Hilo, the Wailuku falls and the Volcano. They have a similar operation in Kona and another opening this month (4/2006) in Hilo. Several groups of people who had stayed at Kona said it was good, too. They rent Kayaks and other ocean gear at both other locations. The hosts, Joseph and Doc (Doc is also the owner) couldn't have been nicer, and thats despite the fact that they were working 7 days getting the Hilo operation up and running. The kitchen facilities were vastly better than most backpacking operations I've seen. With the Hilo and Keeau farmers markets nearby, getting fresh cooking supplies was easy and cheap.

Great place and we WILL stay with them again if we can!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ejpiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews