We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, delicious breakfasts, and overall a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, delicious breakfasts, and overall a great time”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed there for two nights in April 2012, and had an absolutely great experience. The room was nicely decorated, with a gorgeous ocean view. Very clean too. We arrived after 5pm and easily found our envelope with the keys. The whole setting was breathtaking and we found ourselves taking a number of pictures in the beautiful gardens.

The owners were nice too, and I found the few negative comments very much uncalled for. While the man who owns the place isn't particularly chatty, some people have misinterpreted this personality trait as unfriendliness. He is actually quite nice and friendly, and was very kind and polite to us.

The price was certainly not cheap, but it didn't seem unreasonable either given the beautiful setting. The breakfasts were delicious too.

Tip: bring some quarters, as the room safe requires a quarter every time you lock it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeyroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    39
    20
    23
    10
See reviews for
13
160
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Clean large room with private bath wonderful sunrise view.the seperation of guest and host was nontypical of BB's but easy access to them with the touch of button, bed was very comfortable the breakfast was top notch and cooked by the owner. we looked at alot of places to stay and this was truely worth the money. They do charge for Internet access which seems a little silly if your going to have it anyway in the home. You can hear other guest on floor above so I would recommend 2nd floor unit with wall AC unit no ac first floor our stay in april nights were 60's so it was not needed. Very nice people would stay again in a min. Akaka falls is just up the road 5 mins and worth seeing

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nice converted home with a great views of the ocean. Room was so-so and bathroom was worse, i.e. 80's style mish mash of fixtures. Bathtub was worn out, marginal and no way would we have dared sit in it to enjoy the "jacuzzi". Head board on bed was loose and bed itself was unstable so even the mildest attempts at romance were nixed. No alcohol to be had on the premises despite wine/champagne glasses and ice buckets galore. Breakfast was served on lovely porch area but fried up pork/apple sausages from Costco and a microwaved wedge of kisch were disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gbb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kealaokapua, Owner at The Palms Cliff House Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We do serve a variety of breakfast meats special ordered through our restaurant supplier. I am not licensed to mfg. any meat products, not do I cure my own bacon. I’m not really clear on what the objection is, don’t know any one serving home made meats. All the remaining items we serve are home made in our kitchen, grown on site or nearby. We have had several wonderful articles written about our food. Sorry to hear you did not like it. We do not carry a liquor license, no B&B in Hawaii does - can't really, we provide the glasses for your convenience as most guests bring their own. The rest of your comments I think I must attribute to you simply not liking our decor. Hopefully our decor did not ruin the remainder of your visit to our beautiful state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Positives:
Hosts obviously care about Guest comfort and are hospitable: breakfast great, rooms have all you need. They allow 1 night stays.
Rooms:
Liked the egyptian cotton, the huge beds, amazing DVD collection, coffe machine in the room, fire place with nice gas fire, jacuzzi tub in the room, mozzi screens on all windows, loads of storage space, large safe, huge shower, large terrace (north facing though) and views of ocean. A lot of thought has been put into the decor - its difficult to describe... a Versace meets Liberacci meets the Hawaiian Royal family - slightly kitchy for my taste, but i am sure its the best possible local style!
The building:
Gorgeous plantation style with a lovely open verranda, swathed in white muslin, perfect for romantic dinners and lovely breakfasts.
Has a snack shop for snacks but no alcohol on sale. Gift shop and stall with brochures etc. Ice machine.

Minuses:
- Relatively close to Highway but all rooms face away from the road and the sound of the Ocean masks the noise so it realy didnt bother us at all - just for those thinking its secluded the proximity of the road my disappoint if you are not aware that its there.
- Cockrells - i know you get them everywhere on teh island but the neighbour has them and the hosts dont seem to be able to keep them out. I hate the noise, especially at 0500 in the morning when you would like a restful lie in. Dont forget your ear plugs.
- Property faces East so not many places to sunbathe in the garden as its in shade.
- I seem to remember wifi is not free but i may be wrong.
Having said this these points were not show stoppers and it was a lovely stay - the hosts have thought of everything- i researched loads of B&Bs at Hilo - and this was one of the nicest, that allowed 1 night stays.

Room Tip: Room 5 is at the end of the first floor. It is a larger room than the ones in the middle of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Palms Cliff House did not disappoint--ocean view from our bedroom was spectacular, the bed was so comfortable, the sound of waves and birds (and rooster in the morning!) just added to the most pleasant and relaxing time one could hope for, in a dream-like setting. Perched high on a cliff overlooking waves hitting the rocky shore below, I will keep that picture in my mind always. The only drawback is that you have to drive into town, about 20 min. away, for any meals other than breakfast. But there is so much to see on the "jungle side" of the island. Don't miss the Tropical Gardens--much more than you would expect! You'll think you are in the Jurassic park, without dinosaurs thankfully! Also the volcano, and the Akaka Falls are fantastic.

Room Tip: The Orchid Room (Room 1) which has its own jacuzzi in the room overlooking the ocean. Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janielovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honomu
76.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
96.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.8 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
79.6 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
79.9 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Cliff House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Cliff House Inn

Property: The Palms Cliff House Inn
Address: 28-3514 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honomu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96728
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honomu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Cliff House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3.5 acre private estate offers sweeping ocean views perched ocean side atop a 100 foot cliff. Delicious full breakfasts are included in the regular room rates. Honored in Song and depicted in hula, this inn specializes in catering to couples seeking a quiet and romantic get away that embodies the feeling of the Old Hawaii we all dream about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Cliff House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Cliff House Hotel Honomu
The Palms Cliff Hotel
Palms Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing