We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$160
Orbitz.comUS$160
TravelocityUS$160
CheapTicketsUS$160
TripadvisorUS$160
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
392
274
53
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
392
274
53
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread fresh fruit every morning hotel cat the big island small kitchen full kitchen coqui frogs downtown hilo provide ear plugs within walking distance of downtown queen bed would definitely stay here again baked goods ceiling fan volcano park kona coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Conveniently located in a quiet residential neighbourhood just a couple of blocks walk across a short bridge into the downtown/harbour area. The venerable Dolphin Bay Hotel isn’t luxurious but is clean, quiet, has parking, offers laundry on site and provides tea, coffee, seasonal fruits and pastries/bread in the morning. It is the lovely staff that really make this place. There is a garden out at the back of the hotel and parking lot that is part of the same family property and I asked permission to take a walk through the garden. We will certainly recommend The Dolphin Bay Hotel and would stay there again if in Hilo.

Date of stay: March 2020
4  Thank Kermit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

This was our second visit at Dolphin Bay Hotel in Hilo (on our first visit we stayed only one night). It’s a great property in a very quiet area in Hilo. We took a studio apartment (unit 3) and it had everything we needed. The staff and/or owners are really nice people. John provided a vast amount of information regarding the entire island while giving us his map of highlights. It was really helpful since so much had changed since 2016 around the south end of the island due to volcanic activity. The cleaning staff are friendly and the rooms are kept very clean. In the morning, there is fresh coffee in the reception area. There’s also banana nut bread as well as fresh bananas. Yummy! You just bring the mug from your room and help yourself. Parking was directly outside our apartment which was very convenient. It's also easy to walk into downtown Hilo without the hassle of finding a parking spot. Opi, the resident cat, is the perfect cat. If you want to interact, great; if not, Opi just sleeps or wanders about. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Dolphin Bay Resort to others!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

Dolphin Bay was a great place to stay in Hilo. Though there is no AC and it is an older building, it more than makes up for it with the cleanliness and exceptionally friendly staff. The hotel is well within walking distance of downtown Hilo and there's also a hotel cat named Opihi! The provide ear plugs in case the coqui frogs keep you up at night and honestly, though the frogs are quite loud they pretty much fade into the background noise by the second night.The hotel offers free coffee and tropical fruit in the morning as well as delicious banana bread and the usual housekeeping.

We saw all the waterfalls and all the new lava flows/beaches but for whatever reason, Opie was definitely the highlight of our trip. We keep watch our videos of the hotel cat and miss her daily which is strange because we don't have any pets of our own. Anyway, if you get the opportunity, I highly recommend that you become acquainted with her and pet her so she feels comfortable enough to follow you back to your room. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves planning a trip to Hilo again.

Room tip: Pet the cat!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cjoe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at Dolphin Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Mahalo -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

The staff was friendly. The banana bread and fresh papaya for breakfast were wonderful. And John's advice on what to do, complete with annotated maps, are the backbone of our vacation visit to the Big Island. We heartily recommend that others stay here during their visits!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank patcZ4056CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Here is my favorite place to stay on the planet , Comfortable friendly and local. Close ( easy walking) to several eateries,. Whether you are vegan, into tea, or coffee or a regular meat eater... it’s great. Also, at the Dolphin bay you can fix your own. We fix grilled fresh island fish at the BBQ in the garden. Close to hiking, and world class birding. I can not think of a better vacation. The staff can help you plot a great adventure and then offer up a restful night of sleep. Awesome , Very close to a 24 hr laundromat.

Room tip: I like the upstairs room, but there are one and two bedroom suites too.depends on the travelers needs.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spf110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews