We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to start and end each day; and to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kumukoa Studio

Queen Sized Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Queen Sized Bed
Room view2 Room view3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Queen Sized Bed
Room view2
Room view3
Private entry
Bathroom view1
Bathroom view2
exit to yard
Kumukoa Studio
Gate Entry
The Back Yard
Our Furry Mascots
Steps to Studio Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne A
1 review
“Great place to start and end each day; and to relax between activities!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for 6 days while in Hilo for a wedding. We found the Studio comfortable, very clean, private and a great location. The room is not air conditioned and could get quite warm during the day, but with the fan and open windows it was very comfortable at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanye...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy room in the heart of Hilo”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This studio was in the best location that made it easy to access stores, restaurants and waterfalls. The studio had everything you need minus a kitchen. There was also snorkeling and beach supplies you could use. The backyard was beautiful with a nice view. Even though the room was next to Justina's house it still felt very private and we had our own parking spot. I loved it here and I can't wait to back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustPassi...
California Desert, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Clean, safe and comfortable studio. Conveniently located "home base" for my 3+ week stay in Hilo. Peaceful back yard and use of assorted beach equipment was a plus! Studio was well equipped and fresh linen was provided as needed. Wi-Fi access on TV allowed music and movies through Pandora and Netflix in addition to nice mix of DVD's provided in studio. Complimentary Kona coffee, assorted teas, paper goods and plastic cutlery made breakfast easy and quick. Especially enjoyed the uphill walk to the park and tennis courts. Note: don't forget your umbrella :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth H...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Enjoyed my stay. Very clean, comfortable, nice atmosphere, easy access into the place. Nice neighborhood. Close to Hilo town. Parking was easy. I would highly recommend this place to my family and friends should they visit the island of Hawaii. Hope to be able to visit and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: How clean the place is. Good location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0123scree...
San Diego, California
1 review
“Enjoyed stay at Kumukoa Studio”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

- We stay for one week and we had our own rental car
- Lots of parking available either on the street or in the driveway
- Comfortable, clean, good base to explore Hilo and rest of the Big Island
- Microwave and refrigerator were nice
- Wifi and DVD player were nice
- Reasonably priced
- Nice neighborhood to do walks
- Nice table with 2 chairs in backyard with good view
- Two papaya trees to pick fruit; pick the fruit as soon as it starts getting ripe or the birds will eat it
- Felt very private, safe, and secure
- To access studio enter backyard through a side gate
- Studio has a single entrance with a security screen door and wood door; both doors have keyed deadbolt locks
- Studio has a private bath with sink, toilet, and tub/shower

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very comfortable chair, microwave, and refrigerator
Liked least: Only one very comfortable chair inside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing