We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
141
34
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
141
34
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit trees rainbow falls every morning the big island other guests refreshing stay instant coffee and tea separate shower where breakfast is served fabulous place to stay outside entrance healthy breakfast downtown hilo soaking tub yogurt quiet location beautiful property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2021

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Hawaiian B&B! We came to the big island of Hawaii as part of our honeymoon. We arrived late at night and Lori was very accommodating. The room was perfect; spacious, clean and comfortable. And the grounds are just beautiful. When we moved on to another part of the island we regretted leaving, because we missed the amazing breakfasts in the morning. If we ever come back to Hawaii we would 100% stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Briclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lory Hunter, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. See you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

When we first drove up to the house I said “this looks like George Clunneys home in Decedents! Charming Home, Neighborhood, location, and Hosts! Our Room was Darling! Antique bed, Hawaiian influenced furnishings, soaking tub, separate shower,
COMFY BED pillows, and sheets! (Super clean too...ok a bit of a musty smell...but All the homes and businesses in Hilo smell a tiny bit musty...they get over 190 inches of rain annually!! }magical sounding Frogs lull you to sleep!! We left every window open to hear night sounds! Very comfy !!
DELICIOUS TRADITIONAL HAWAIIAN BREAKFAST! Mmmmmm!
Who has a Jungle, 52 various fruit trees, and a high bank River Front back yard??
They do!! Amazing! Book this dreamy home, and be happy!

Room tip: They have 3 rooms. We loved the room with a King size Bed and soaking tub!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lory Hunter, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you for staying with us.

Lory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

This B&B was one of the best decisions I've made on this trip. I was a little nervous about accommodations due to COVID but my mind was immediately put at ease. The room was extremely clean and well maintained, as well as the lanai where breakfast is served. Guests have their own entrance so no worries with high touch areas. Breakfast was fresh and an absolutely amazing way to start the day. The B&B is also perfectly located. Boiling Pots is a few blocks away at the end of the road, Kaumana Cave is a few miles away, and Rainbow Falls is almost a mile from the house. The house is also far enough out of the busy areas where you can sleep peacefully at night. I will definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lory Hunter, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Mahalo...

Lory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Just as advertised, nice/quiet location, very clean, comfortable with a wonderful host, Lory. The breakfast was fabulous and lots of it. Close to all the attractions in Hilo Will stay there again next visit to Hilo. Enjoy!!!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyjP9064HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

We stayed on New Years eve and the host was lovely and made our check in and stay very easy. The breakfast was fantastic! There were fresh fruits, juices, yogurt, eggs and homemade cinnamon rolls. The convo at the table with other guests and host was delightful too:)

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilyz505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews