We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Moonstruck Patisserie
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Description: Moonstruck Patisserie is a bakery specializing in European pastries and desserts. Breakfast features a full line of croissants, quiche, rock buns, French press coffee and a full line of loose teas. Moonstruck also features Hilo's finest desserts - custom European style cakes and cheesecakes. Our customers also rave about our iced coffee and ginger peach tea.
Restaurant details
Description: Moonstruck Patisserie is a bakery specializing in European pastries and desserts. Breakfast features a full line of croissants, quiche, rock buns, French press coffee and a full line of loose teas. Moonstruck also features Hilo's finest desserts - custom European style cakes and cheesecakes. Our customers also rave about our iced coffee and ginger peach tea.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We stumbled on Moonstruck as we were trying to find a breakfast place. Paul from Paul’s in Hilo recommended this place.

Once we ordered and sat down, I admired the lovely space with a Parisian/ European vibe. I had the very delectable Frangipane Croissant - nothing like I have ever tasted before. And that is saying something as I am a baked good lover. My husband had a pear tart which he loved. We also had the Florentine quiche - yum. We felt the flavors were perfect. Just the right amount of sweet and salt. We would be regulars if we lived here.

Jackie, the owner/ baker, had a moment’s break and was wonderful to talk to. She shared a little bit of her life journey and wisdom I highly recommend a visit if you are in Hilo.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank MeenaB112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2020

Heard alot about this place so went with the family to try it out.
We ordered several pastries and slices of cake to share.
Everything was pretty good, but i liked the chocolate croissant, chocolate cake, lili koi cheesecake and salmon quiche the most. The taste of the food was just right, without being too sweet or rich.
A wonderful brunch overall, and would definitely return again when im back in Hilo.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chipzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

This is a very small place with a few tables. It was full on the Saturday I visited. I was looking for bread but they don’t sell bread. Got some desserts instead. They were good although a bit pricey, but this is Hawai’i. They sell coffee and although I did not try it, it was probably good too.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

Desserts aren’t overly sweet. Fresh and crisp croissants! Hours vary so If you happen to pass by and they are open.... you’re in luck!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Ro Chell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

We love their croissants, chocolate mousse and fruit tarts. The quality is authentic, but they are on the small side and expensive for their size.
It's best to call ahead for the daily hours because they are not always open when the hours sign says.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank moonlightlady108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonstruck Patisserie also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moonstruck Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.