We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$188
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Official Hotel
US$178
View Deal
Hurb
US$188
US$160
View Deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
PricelineUS$188
eDreamsUS$188
Expedia.comUS$188
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,287)
Filter reviews
2,287 results
Traveller rating
480
911
670
161
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
480
911
670
161
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut island ocean view queen's court seafood buffet mauna kea the big island banyan drive bit dated national park beautiful park close to the airport stayed one night mini fridge coffee maker short drive lobby bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,287 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed three wonderful nights at the Hilo Hawaiian. We had the ocean view room looking over the Coconut island, and the view was nothing short of spectacular! We spent a lot of time on the balcony/lanai. Although we did not get daily house keeping service due to COVID-19, the house keeping Dept was responsive to our request for clean towels and coffee, etc.

I especially appreciated kind and wonderful staff. I would stay again when we visit Hilo!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sabinak513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

We always stay at this resort when we on on the Hilo side of the Hawaiian. Very impressed with their redo - the rooms are very clean and the beds are wonderful
This hotel is close to a beautiful park for walking and enjoying the bay views

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Venture595887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2020

1. The room we got had
- dust, dirt, and hair over the pillow case
- on the sheet right under the headboard,
- hair on the towel, and
- dirt/stain on the comforter cover.

Front desk was nice and patient enough overall. We checked another three rooms and the same problems persisted ( one of them had stains on the bed sheet ) - hence the hotel has not been on top of keeping the rooms clean and tidy at all.

Then we were asked to wait in the lobby while hotel staff checked on another room first to make sure it was clean before we headed up to that room ( obviously to clean it up first in case it wasn't already ). We decided at this point that this was not what we wanted and we could no longer trust the staff or the hotel overall.

2. It took us over two hours and unable to settle in after a lot of back and forth. We had to find another hotel elsewhere at 10:30pm after a long day on the road.

3. Hotel was very short staffed. We were told only two staff working the night we were there, and no maintenance staff available onsite. This simply didn't seem like a three-star hotel standard.

4. Also this is during COVID time. A hotel guest was walking around with no mask on and tried to talk to other hotel guests and hotel staff. This guest wasn't asked to put on a mask by staff.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2444hl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

Very disappointed. Room was large with a nice view. A lot of mildew on the ceiling of the room. Wall paper falling off in the bathroom. Lots of covid rules. No housekeeping. We had a week long reservation and they gave us only 2 towels total for 2 people. They forgot to give us pool towel cards so we had a bit of a hassle getting them. Since no housekeeping maybe more than 1 tiny wastebasket would be helpful.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Our room was spacious and very clean. View of Hilo Bay. The place was quite empty because of the pandemic. It was very rainy during our stay so we didn't use the pool. The grounds of the adjacent park that we looked out onto are outstanding.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank paulrH3467HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews