We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carefree and informative”
Review of Wild Orchid Tours

Wild Orchid Tours
Ranked #23 of 48 Tours in Hilo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our company specializes in Private Eco tours on the Big Island. We offer our guests ground expeditions in SUV, with up to 7 passengers.Our tours are personal and family oriented, and we are always open to the necessities of our clients.With Wild Orchid Tours you can experience old Hawaii on safe and easy walks, moderate or more vigorous hikes.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Lee is very knowledgeable about all things Hawaii and I'm so glad we booked with him. Seeing the lava was an important to-do item for our honeymoon, but the tours we were able to find with big companies all seemed to consume the entire day. The tour being offered with Wild Orchid fit perfectly with a more relaxed timeline of us driving over from Kona in the morning and having plenty of time to grab lunch and check into our hotel before the tour started. We ended up seeing a lot more than just Volcanoes National park and Lee managed to squeeze just about everything at the park in to the time we had. I would definitely recommend their tours to anyone who wants to see the volcanoes, it was wonderful to be able to let someone else take charge of all the planning and research that we would have needed to accomplish a similar experience.

Thank 653emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 7 reviews
"lava tube"
in 6 reviews
"the big island"
in 16 reviews
"lee"
in 44 reviews
"suv"
in 6 reviews
"culture"
in 9 reviews
"knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"stories"
in 4 reviews
"actors"
in 2 reviews
"volcano"
in 12 reviews
"trees"
in 4 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Wild Orchid Tours gave us a private tour in their SUV. A private tour is a wonderful way to see a place like the volcano because you have the opportunity to ask questions and converse as well as dictate what you see and for how long. We highly recommend it. In Hilo we saw some of the city, then a waterfall. It was fascinating to see the homes in the area as well. Heading on the long drive to the volcano we stopped at steam vents. The volcano itself was worth the trip. It is amazing. We did the tour of the lava tube. Lee brought with him head lamps for us to wear which made the lava tube really fascinating and safe. We also stopped at lava flow formations (not flowing molten lava) which were equally enlightening. Our guide, Lee, was very helpful, very knowledgeable and very kind. We highly recommend Wild Orchid Tours.

Thank joann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Mahalo for sharing your feedback! We are so glad you felt satisfied with your private tour and enjoyed certain highlights such as the steam vents and the Nāhuku (Thurston) Lava tube in the Hawai'i National Volcanoes Park. Those are certainly treats to visit! We also appreciate what you say about our tour guide who as you put is indeed very helpful, very knowledgeable and very kind. All the very best, Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

This tour has been absolutely fantastic. My mother and I decided to fly over to the Big Island from Oahu to get away from crowds and tourists and see "real" Hawaii close and personal. We found a tour guide that not only was extremely funny and helpful, but also very knowledgable about the local culture... and Big Island is awesome...so authentic....so big :) and so diverse. I think they have the largest number of different climates in the world.

We did the "Volcanoes National Park After Dark" tour and we highly recommend it. During the night you can hear loudly the volcano "bubbling" ...it is surreal and a bit scary...and watching it being so close by in total darkness around.. and seeing that red/yellow light inside that HUGE crater...incredible!! It was so cool!! Such a powerful experience...certainly worth staying there for a bit to soak it all in when very few people are around because the less people, the more intense the experience.


I wholeheartedly recommend this company and the tour we did.

Thank you!!

Thank stefanopadovan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Mahalo for your review! We are so happy that you and your mother decided to visit the Big Island and join one of our tours. Yes, the Big Island boasts 10 of the world's 14 climate zones, making this island the only place in the world to host such diversity. Also, our "Park after Dark" tour is one of our most popular tours and we are so glad that you both enjoyed this very special experience of seeing and hearing Pele dance to the beat of her own drum at night. We wish you and your mother all the very best, Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My family reserved the Park After Dark tour with Wild Orchid Tours. This is a half day tour to see the wonders of Volcano National Park. It started in early afternoon and finished after dark. Our tour guide was Lee. He was absolutely amazing. His passion for, and knowledge of, the Big Island and Hawaiian culture broadly was inspirational. It was not a scientific tour, rather it was much more steeped in Hawaiian culture and lore. This was perfect for us because it is the story less widely known.
Our tour included a visit to the sea arch, lava tube, hike down to the lava crater, and of course an after dark viewing of the main crater to see the lava glow. i highly recommend this tour for a family that wants to pack in a comprehensive tour of the park.

Thank JerryGarciaJohnGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our tour services and and the magical experience of the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. Thank you kindly for sharing a review with us. We wish you all the very best. Mahalo nui loa! Wild Orchid Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My husband and I finally returned to the Big Island this June, where we got married two years ago on the Kona side. We fell in love with Hawaii and always planned to come back and explore the East side, which is perhaps given less credit than it deserves. We came here to explore the rugged, charming old Hawaii spirit of the Big Island - and that is what Wild Orchid helped us experience.

Our tour guide put us right at ease with jokes, charm and joy. We were wonderfully surprised by the humor and stories the tour guide had - it unexpectedly added to the whole warmth and fun of our day. We felt that the tour guide wasn't at all rehearsed or spilling out facts, rather that the tour felt like a story time experience - sharing the magic of Hawaii.

The time blew by fast, with our day spent in admiration of nature, the ocean, waterfall and forests - so much greenery! Feel like another planet! Alongside the stories, history, facts and jokes that our tour guide provided. Wonderful entertainment

I would like to add that our tour guide respected us as a couple as well, allowing us to enjoy certain moments by ourselves - like the amazing crater rim at volcano, or the lush rainforest of the unique lava tube trail. Our tour guide was very sensitive to our tastes and wishes and we felt taken care of at a supremely personal level. It was first class service. We recommend this 100%! Beautiful, refreshing experience.

Thank ana_34_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Mahalo nui loa for your kind words and thoughtful feedback, Ana. We are very glad to know that you and your husband were both pleased with our tour and service. We hope you both have a wonderful rest of your summer! Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Orchid Tours also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wild Orchid Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing