We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
586
192
60
40
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
192
60
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo garden harmony house waffles beautiful waterfall the main house hibiscus room macadamia nut trees jade cottage king kamehameha single lane road foot waterfall the big island off the beaten path falling asleep breakfast was delicious other guests fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Our room was located in the original part of the Inn. We arrived late at night after a long drive around the island. Although we couldn't see the waterfall, we were greeted with a tantalizing view of the stars. Given its slightly remote location away from the light pollution of the city, the sky was lit by twinkling stars.

The room was clean, relaxing, and comfortable. The bed was large and we had a balcony on the waterfall side. Hearing the sounds of our rainforest neighbors, the birds and crickets, made the inn that more special. I have never slept so close to a rainforest, it's an entirely unique experience. Combined with the sounds of the waterfall, it had been a long time since I'd slept so well.

To top it all off, the breakfast was delicious. With waffles and fresh fruits, we were treated to an abundance of yummy Hawaiian treats; all of this overlooking the gushing waterfall in front of you.

If you're stuck between a hotel chain or this Inn, there's just really no comparison. You need to go to the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Great place to relax and get away. Very great staff and breakfast. Very short drive from the Airport in Hilo Hawaii. Easy drive from the Kona side of the island also. The staff would send out messages every morning of a list of activities. The Inn is very supportive of Military members. They have programs for military members suffering from PTSD.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

the rooms are very nicely appointed ,the staff is super ! they will help you out and can arrange almost anything , Repel down the waterfall with them is truly a fun experience that's not to be missed .every evening you get lulled to sleep by the sound of the rushing water over the falls . It's a very relaxing spot . if you want to stargaze they will make it happen , a short drive up mona loa and they have a super big telescope, pack a picnic dinner with some wine or beer. They provide winter gear to ward off the cold .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Just spent the last night of our Hawaiian vacation here. The property is stunning and we had a room that overlooked the waterfall! Staff was super friendly/helpful with recommendations. We sadly didn’t have time to stay for the dinner with the private chef, but we saw him making the dinner and it looked delicious! Property is 15 minutes from Hilo but ages from the hustle and bustle of the town surrounded by jungle and waterfalls and farm lands. Can’t recommend highly enough!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BrittonNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We've stayed here several times and came back with friends. We usually stay in the Harmony house but upgraded this time to a room with a view of the falls. The property is still beautiful, the walk down to the waterfall's base a delight (if you've got mosquito protection), and the sense of tranquility can't be overstated.

Good dining options in Hilo are limited so we took advantage of a new service and had a local chef prepare a meal for the six of us. Chef Dayson prepared a four course dinner with local ingredients, including a special version for one guest with food allergies. Nothing better than a group of friends watching the sunset on the terrace overlooking the waterfall as course after course of fabulous food is presented. Highly recommend participating in a dinner at least once.

Our concerns about the volcano's effect on Hilo were, fortunately, unfounded. The air quality was actually better here than on the West side of the island. Even if you can't visit the Volcano Park, you can enjoy a few days of rest and relaxation here, or let the staff organize an outdoor activity.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor are cooler than upper floors.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wego2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews