We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$285
US$273
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$238
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaron's Cottage(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilo Bay Hostel(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
155
25
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
25
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames michenerlava roomkoi pondfresh fruitcinnamon breadwaterfall shower headegg stratasecond homethe big islandrain showerwasher and dryertravel tipsselection of breadsa fairly busy streetplantation homeplace to staycharming b b
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We loved our stay very much at this special bed and breakfast. The Orchid room was very comfortable, very nice and beautiful decorated. We had a nice veranda with a view at a fish pont. During the night the frogs and and the traffic were a bit noisy. (our room was facing the street)
The whole bed and breakfast is wonderful equipped and is warmly decoraded. Matthew is a lovely host and made us a magical and very healthy breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits from his own farm. Everything was homemade and just delicious. We would definetly stay again at this wonderful place! MAHALO Matthew and all the best for you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I have been too, and I would choose this over the big hotels in the area. Each room has its unique gorgeous decor, and a lanai to sit out and sip your glass of wine (or cup of tea). The breakfast by Mathew is absolutely delicious with fruits from their farm, home cooked egg dish and coconut bread pudding (which was truly addictive, even though I rarely eat sweets). The owners are really helpful, with wonderful ideas about travel in the area, and everything. The property is cared for with love and attention and so are the guests. The beds are very comfortable, and just having a lanai / veranda to sit and enjoy, was delightful. It made me love the quiet town of Hilo more; the house being walking distance from all the downtown Hilo attractions, and a wonderful farmer's market. It was a spectacular stay in every regard - style, comfort and peace. I travel around the world, for work and pleasure and this was one of my most memorable stays. I cannot wait to be back.

Room Tip: Each room had a balcony of their own and were peaceful and gorgeous, with individualized decor!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank philly_food_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed overnight and had the best breakfast in the morning. Mathew was a charming host and prepared the best cinnamon coconut bread we have ever had. The porch was nice and it was fun to visit with fellow travelers during breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave and Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We loved the Michener room at Hilo Bay Hale, it was perfect, and had a great lanai from which you could feed the koi! The coffee was strong, the breakfast tasty, and the staff (we met Carolina and Matthew) were delightful, friendly, and super helpful. The house is old and quaint but very clean and well kept. Look for the geckos on the lanai in the morning. We'd love to visit again!

Room Tip: Get one with your own lanai!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_Holiday_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

You are going to love staying in this charming B&B near Hilo Bay and historic downtown. The owners go out of their way to help you feel right at home and comfortable between your daily adventures. We spent 3 nights here after spending 5 in Kona. Wish we would have allocated more time to Hilo as there's plenty to do, all within a reasonable distance from Hilo Bay Hale. The place is tidy and clean. The breakfast amazing! The day we left we were already planning our return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews