We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, easy walk to restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had the Michener room for 2 nights. It was very clean and the bed and linens were very good. Our hosts were very accommodating and along with a very complete breakfast, gave us some good travel tips. We enjoyed feeding the fish off of our porch and we actually really liked the singing frogs. They were very vocal but it was great back round music to us, (and I'm a light sleeper) It was a bit warm for sleeping, but the two fans saved the day, or more precisely 'night'.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBuffVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

We loved our stay very much at this special bed and breakfast. The Orchid room was very comfortable, very nice and beautiful decorated. We had a nice veranda with a view at a fish pont. During the night the frogs and and the traffic were a bit noisy. (our room was facing the street)
The whole bed and breakfast is wonderful equipped and is warmly decoraded. Matthew is a lovely host and made us a magical and very healthy breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits from his own farm. Everything was homemade and just delicious. We would definetly stay again at this wonderful place! MAHALO Matthew and all the best for you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I have been too, and I would choose this over the big hotels in the area. Each room has its unique gorgeous decor, and a lanai to sit out and sip your glass of wine (or cup of tea). The breakfast by Mathew is absolutely delicious with fruits from their farm, home cooked egg dish and coconut bread pudding (which was truly addictive, even though I rarely eat sweets). The owners are really helpful, with wonderful ideas about travel in the area, and everything. The property is cared for with love and attention and so are the guests. The beds are very comfortable, and just having a lanai / veranda to sit and enjoy, was delightful. It made me love the quiet town of Hilo more; the house being walking distance from all the downtown Hilo attractions, and a wonderful farmer's market. It was a spectacular stay in every regard - style, comfort and peace. I travel around the world, for work and pleasure and this was one of my most memorable stays. I cannot wait to be back.

Room Tip: Each room had a balcony of their own and were peaceful and gorgeous, with individualized decor!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank philly_food_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed overnight and had the best breakfast in the morning. Mathew was a charming host and prepared the best cinnamon coconut bread we have ever had. The porch was nice and it was fun to visit with fellow travelers during breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave and Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We loved the Michener room at Hilo Bay Hale, it was perfect, and had a great lanai from which you could feed the koi! The coffee was strong, the breakfast tasty, and the staff (we met Carolina and Matthew) were delightful, friendly, and super helpful. The house is old and quaint but very clean and well kept. Look for the geckos on the lanai in the morning. We'd love to visit again!

Room Tip: Get one with your own lanai!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_Holiday_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
2.6 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.0 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: €127 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing