We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
338
215
52
16
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
215
52
16
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mauna kea deluxe suite shared kitchen our tour guide the big island private bath visitor center lounge area common kitchen nice beaches own bathroom common areas air conditioning great place to stay residential area other travelers rental car
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We stayed there two nights in tent,everythink was perfect,there is a lot of space for sitting,cooking.Staff was very nice.Close to beach.Hilo is a good location for beaches and turtles,but rainy often.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5043SAala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Aloha and mahalo nui for your review! We are stoked to hear you enjoyed your time camping here at Arnott's Lodge! Aside from a couple county camping grounds, we are the only secure place on the east side of the island to pitch a tent! In addition to a nice lawn, we are proud to be able to provide hot showers, running toilets, and free WiFi for even our camping guests! We are stoked that you had such a wonderful experience and that you had the opportunity to explore our nearby beaches! We hope you will visit us again during future travels to Hawaii Island! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We ended up staying here when our reservations for a place much closer to the volcano were cancelled 2 weeks before our trip. We wanted a place with 2 bedrooms (2 adults; 2 teens) and affordable. It is a definitely a no-frills place but it did have good ac in the bedrooms which helped immensely. The beds were fairly comfy. Shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water but we had to line towels up around the edge so we didn't flood the bathroom. Ours also had a kitchenette and each bedroom had a small fridge (no fridge in the kitchenette). No TV in the rooms but there is a TV room near the front office and good wifi throughout. There are other common areas where you can talk with other people staying there. One part is like an outdoor dining room with free coffee (not all that great but hot, if available).
It is located in a more industrial section of town without a lot of amenities. It's about 10 minutes from the main part of the town so plan accordingly. About a block away is good beach access. We weren't sure about it at first due to the tarp/pole tents that blocked the view from the street, but it is a public beach. Parking during the day might be a problem but it's close enough to walk from the lodge.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Arnott's Lodge! It seems you were one of the many "victims" if the currently Kilauea Eruption. Many local residents, as well as many travelers ended up being displaced...however we are happy that you decided to join us here! As advertised, we are a no-frills lodge. We do take pride in being able to provide the necessities, as well as plenty of space for our many traveling families and groups in our suites, which can comfortably fit up to 6 guests! We are definitely within walking distance to many local beaches...although it seems you went to Keaukaha Beach park. The tents you saw are only up during the summer (Memorial Day to Labor Day), for many local Hawaiian families. We have many other nearby beaches that do not have those tents, and are much more enjoyable to explore! We even have other popular beaches only a couple more miles down the road that are frequented by turtles, and ones that have neat reefs to check out! You are correct in that we are located 10 minutes away from the town center, however this is what gives us a much more laid back, quiet place for guests to relax, and recharge for the rest of their travels around the island! We hope that when you visit Hawaii again, that you will choose Arnott's Lodge, for both accommodations, and adventure tours! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Arnott's Lodge has something to appeal to EVERY budget, just about. I very much enjoyed my stay there and appreciated the homey feel. I also deeply appreciated that I could pay $5 to shower there even when I wasn't staying overnight--since for a few nights I had to stay in my car to offset expenses following the eruption of Mount Kilauea when I couldn't afford hotels anymore. There is educational literature about the island in various places and several guided trip options for those who care to have a professional, seasoned veteran to lead adventures and provide historical/cultural background. The only downside is that one can only stay overnight here with

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Aloha and mahalo for your review, Kimberly! We are happy to hear that your experiences with us have been up to your expectations! We are proud to be able to provide affordable, comfortable lodging for all types of travelers, from the budget-hostel backpacker, to those preferring more private suite options. As we are a travelers lodge, we do require our guests to have a continuing destination off this island, as you noted in your title. We hope that everything came together for you during your departure from the island, and we hope you will return to visit the island in the future! The changes that Pele has made to the slopes of Kilauea are both terrifying and incredible. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Our family and relatives came to Hilo for a funeral. However, Hilo had several large events going on at the same time and hotel vacancies were hard to find. Arnott's Lodge was a lifesaver! Not only were they able to provide my family with peaceful and more than adequate space but they were able to provide lodging for my relatives that came in unexpectedly. We had over 10 family members at the Lodge. The rooms were comfortable and the surroundings were just the right medicine we needed during this hard time! Mahalo for turning our funeral trip into a peaceful and serene memory that was enjoyed by all!!!

Room tip: This is not a hotel so bring your own bath soap and personal cleaning products.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E2Ni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It seems to be a recurring theme this year, with most accommodations in and around Hilo being filled due to some sort of event. We are happy that we were able to provide all the space necessary for your family! We may not be your standard hotel, we do take pride in having a more basic, homey aesthetic for our guests during their time in Hilo! While we do not provide shampoo/conditioner, we do provide body soap in all bathrooms for our guests to use. We hope that you all can visit us again on better circumstances! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is also offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

I loved the welcoming friendliness of the staff there. They were responsive to my requests / needs. It is a drug free and peaceful environment to stay at. There are tours that are available, although on this trip, I was not able to indulge in. But from my past stays at Arnott’s, I would highly recommend the Maura Kea Sunset tour & stargazing adventure. The facilities are clean & well maintained by Doug and his staff. Have a chat with the staff, and it’ll feel like your talking to friends. You won’t be disappointed choosing Arnott’s Lodge

Room tip: All rooms are air conditioned, which is great on those hot summer days.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alk_Pipefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha and mahalo nui for your review! We are definitely proud of our staff and their readiness to help all of our guests during their stay here at Arnott's Lodge! We also take pride in providing a safe, family friendly environment for our guests to enjoy, relax, and make the most out of their time here on the island! Although you didn't get to participate in our tours this time around, we are happy to hear that your previous experiences with us and on our tours left an impression! We definitely look forward to seeing you again during future travels to Hilo, and we welcome you to join us again at the lodge as well as on our other amazing tours! Arnott’s Lodge & Adventures is still offering a referral discount! As word-of-mouth is how most information gets passed around, refer your friends and family to stay or tour with us and we'll extend a 10% discount to them, as well as a 15% discount toward your next reservation with us. Referred guests simply need to provide your Last name and the Booking Reference Number as shown on your previous reservation. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews