We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
256
468
301
78
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
468
301
78
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grillattached restaurantice pondclose to the airportkoi pondsmall museumthe big islandhawaiian familybanyan drivebudget hotelfree breakfastolder hotelon site restaurantold hawaiibeds were comfortableceiling fanconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I love this small hotel, complete with restaurant. Just a 5 minute drive to the Hilo farmer market. My 5th stay will be in Oct. Rooms are clean, bathroom is very clean, good beds, free parking but is limited and free Wi-Fi in every room and lobby. Close to Volcano National Park, zoo. Staff is very friendly. Ken's pancake house is just around the corner for great food. Hotel is close to the airport. I can't see staying anywhere else then here. Hotel has no resort fees

Room Tip: This is a 2 story, I like the second floor garden room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo for you continued support! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Good for a night's stay - has all the basic amenities - bed + bathroom. Room was clean, bed firm, everything in the bathroom worked, TV worked. Curtain had to be kept partially drawn else it covered the window AC unit, but then light from the window (opaque) woke me up in the morning. I heard noise from just 1 airplane (in the morning), but I had asked for a quiet room & did sleep well. Very dated, old style building & rooms. Does have a decent restaurant (Coconut Grill) in house but it's only open 0700-2030. Food is ok, but I thought small portions & service was a bit slow, but friendly & courteous. Price may be a little high for a basic 3* quality.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank a-wt-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your feedback is very valuable to us. Mahalo for staking the time to provide your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

staff very helpful. Room was okay. Bathroom facilities old. A/C ok.
Parking tight. Location good for my purposes, especially the airport. 3 or 4 restaurants within walking distance. furniture and room decor dated.
Worked out well for me as a solo traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gitgoing347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We ended up in this hotel as we booked through Hawaiian Airlines package to the Big Island from Honolulu. This was the only hotel available during to the the Christmas and new year holidays.

The room and beds were comfortable, with suprisingly fast and reliable wifi, coffee maker, small referigerator, window air conditioner, TV and a comfortable bed. The hotel is almost Downtown Hilo, over looking a small cove acrosss the street.

The hotel has its own pond full of large colorful fishes and it is maintained very well. Every thing was spic and span. It is walking distance to many quaint little restaurants on Kamehameha Ave. The Banyan Drive near by is nice for a quiet evening stroll. The Japanese garden is also a 15 minutes walk from the Hotel. Along side on Banyan Drive are more modern buildings.

The drive to the Hawaii Volcanoes national park is about 45 minutes from the hotel. The Imiloa Astronomy center and Planetarium is a 15 minute drive in the University of Hawaii Campus. Kamana Kitchen - Indian restaurant is a 5 minute drive.

The front desk staff were always smiling and helpful and giving away fruits.

There is ample parking on hotel property and our room on the 2nd floor was quiet.

The only reason I am giving it 4 bubbles instead of 5 is because
our room had a very musty odour to it, just like the Japanese garden, like that of rotting wood, the stair case was creaking and moving and the air conditioner was noisy.

The airport near by is also noisy but we did not hear any planes during sleeping hours, so that did not impact us.

Overall the hotel exceeded its 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for pond view on the second floor. Second floor is quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the value and amenities our property offers. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Recently, we were able to stay at the Hilo Seaside Hotel.
We found the Staff to be very helpful and friendly, and the on-site Restaurant offered a very good menu with plenty of food for the money. Our Room was located next to the Swimming Pool which looked to be very clean and well maintained.
There was on-site WiFi which was free and worked very well, with free use of the Computer Workstations in the area of the office.
All in all, a Great Place to stay and very good value in what was the start of the Tourist Season.
Well done, Hilo Seaside Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spider S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the value and convenience of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews