We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$344
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Doubletree.com
US$343
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$356
US$309
View deal
SAVE US$47
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Expedia.comUS$339
Hotels.comUS$339
Trip.comUS$356
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveller rating
482
469
248
152
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
482
469
248
152
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula hula wrap around balcony lobby bar self park valet service resort fee corner room ocean front the big island banyan drive national park banyan trees rental car japanese garden coconut island mauna kea bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an unfortunate stay at the Grand Naniloa "Resort". With a less than clean room: long black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the tub and bath linens that were stained. The hotel was happy to give us new linens if we came and picked them up at the front desk.

This speaks to the overall level of service at the hotel. It's an older facility and felt this way. While hilton is trying to give the appearance of cleanliness, it provides no service beyond your initial room cleaning. Your room will not be cleaned or linens changed until the 4th day of your stay and each 4th day thereafter. If you want fresh linens or sundries, you can get them at the front desk, though we had to wait for 10 minutes after calling ahead to get some.

In addition, be aware that you will still be charged the $30 per night resort fee, unless you book your room as an islander, and receive only free self parking, even if you dont have a car. This is despite the Hilton website saying you will receive complimentary; parking, 2 rounds of golf at the resort, breakfast, 2 beverages and use of snorkeling equipment. Self parking is free ( there is no valet service for bags or cars), the bars are not open and only 1 of the restaurants. There is no use of the hoel snorkeling equipment, kayaks or paddleboards and breakfast is not being offered anywhere at the hotel. You must leave fir any breakfast service other than coffee in the lobby. In addition, the you will not receive 2 rounds of golf complimentary, but a discount at the course across the street.

In general, this should not to be considered a resort at this time. Once the services have been restored it will be more than just a mediocre hotel. If you are planning to stay, plan to pay $30 a night for self parking ( which is usually $20) even if you dont have a car and plan to have transportation to meal service elsewhere as there is no room service, no breakfast service and one restaurant open at the facility for lunch and dinner.

Having stayed at this facility before, you can see we were very disappointed by the level of service, cleanliness and fees for what was received, and this doesn't even mention the smell of pot smoke wafting through the vents on our floor.

Room tip: Other facilities in the area providing higher levels of cleanliness and service. If you dont mind not having services or " resort" accommodations, go with a rental.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank toastburnner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was fine, and as expected.
It was clean, and the view from our balcony was amazing. It was outdated and felt as if we have traveled back in time. The paint would come off the walls and we could see the mold in multiple areas.
The pool area was specious, well maintained and super nice!
The only downside is that the water were too cold and there was no hot tub. The towels were located at the front desk, so just remember to stop by the front desk on your way to the pool.
There was a restaurant at the hotel that made sure we would never come back again. We ordered two mai tai cocktails and a virgin cocktail for kids and paid $40 for it! We were charged only $2 less for a non alcoholic drink (which means a super expensive cup of juice, for about $10), and when we asked for one extra Empty cup, we were charged additional $0.79. And another $0.79 for each drink on top of the original price because we took our drinks to the pool area. The price not a big deal but they make us feel as if they are doing us a favor.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Olga Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Visited during Covid restrictions so dining options and amenities were limited. However, the hotel was kind enough to waive parking a resort fees due to this. Check in was easy and although we were required to show ID and Safe Travels documentation, there was plenty of advanced communication about this. Location was nice.... right on the waterfront with harbor views and close to Lili’uokalAni gardens. Would stay here again....

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jottos864941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Lovely hotel with an old world charm. Right on Hilo bay, a walk to coconut island and the japanese garden. A short drive to downtown. Worth spending a few extra dollars to get the balcony rooms overlooking the bay. Rooms are all upgraded and modern form the inside

Room tip: Pay a few extra to stay in the Manua Loa Tower with the balconies
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dl0vestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

Highly recommend the upgrade to an Ocean View Room. We had two back to back clear days and were able to see both Mauna Kea & Mauna Loa from our window!

The Grand Naniloa has three towers -- the Mauna Kea tower, the Mauna Loa tower and the Kilauea tower. The Mauna Loa tower is 12 stories, and all the rooms face the Bay, but no balconies. The Mauna Kea tower is 9 stories, and half the rooms have balconies and face the bay, while the other half do not have balconies and face the parking lot. Lastly, the Kilauea tower is six towers, half of which face the bay and half of which face the parking lot. Some of the rooms which face the bay may have balconies.

We stayed on the 10th floor of the Mauna Loa tower and it was absolutely gorgeous. My only regret was not springing for a balcony room (although maybe then we would have been on a lower floor).

The lobby is beautifully renovated. Really beautiful and peaceful as soon as you walk in. Beautiful Banyans driving up to the property as well.

No resort fee due to COVID-19 and parking was free as well. The location was also excellent.

My only complaint is that the air conditioner was quite noisy, and placed in an awkward location such that we were always getting air uncomfortably blown onto us.

Shower was excellent and comfortable. Might be a bit awkward for sharing a room with someone you don't know well, as the bathroom is separated from the room by a one-way mirror that doesn't always work perfectly. There is a curtain but it doesn't cover the whole window.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardentanonymouseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews