We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$263
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$259
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$263
US$195
View Deal
SAVE US$68
PricelineUS$263
Hotels.comUS$259
travelup.comUS$218
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,456)
Filter reviews
1,456 results
Traveller rating
472
465
244
149
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
465
244
149
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula hula wrap around balcony lobby bar self park resort fee corner room ocean front the big island banyan drive national park banyan trees rental car mauna kea coconut island bay hugos hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,456 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

Pathetic stay! This place shouldn’t even be associated with Hilton. No room turndown - slept in a sandy bed despite leaving in 2 requests for room cleaning (both of which they confirmed).

Called the front desk desperate for help and at night when we discovered they hadn’t followed through on their commitment to clean our room.

They hung up on us! We called to talk to the manager and were SHOCKED to discover that the manager, Laura, was herself the one who hung up on us !

We noticed this a second time with yet another front desk staffer, Marvin, which convinced us that this is a systemic issue at this property.

We understand the covid considerations and that these folks are operating on reduced staff but I almost felt like the few who were there wanted us gone from this place.

Sadly, we did not at all feel welcome. I would advise anyone coming to Hilo to stay AWAY from this place.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank saurabhl2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

We have stayed at the Grand Naniloa several times before & always had a great experience. But not this stay... the door lock battery was dead & the smoke alarm battery so it was beeping continuously. The maintenance guy shows up, changed the door lock battery but didn’t have the smoke alarm battery So had to come back & after an hour of this the lock still didn’t work. Of course we were too late for dinner. Went to lobby to be informed they had gone out of their way for us!!! What??? And we were suppose to upgrade rooms (reserved 2 rooms) & that didn’t happened either And in the midst of the lock issues my husband found a disgusting dirty cup with the clean ones. Actually he almost drank out of it too!!!
Worst experience ever at Grand Naniloa !!!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank annransdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. ...room was immaculately clean, staff was helpful and friendly, and they even gave us a complimentary upgrade. It seems to be an older property, but is very well maintained. Definitely the place to stay in Hilo.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Takach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Due to this pandemic it’s difficult to travel but our saving grace is being able to do a staycation. We stay at the Naniloa at least once a month even though we live here in Hilo. Last week we stayed there for my birthday weekend The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and very accommodating. There’s good eats at the restaurant Hula Hulas! The ocean and mountain views are beautiful!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graysea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for over 60 days. I would highly recommend staying there as it is beautiful, clean, and extremely accommodating. Staff was excellent and always made the extra effort to met any small request I had. Several nearby hotels are not even in the same food chain as the Grand Naniloa. Restaurant /Bar is ocean and pool side, great place to pre-game before visiting many other local restaurants such as ice ponds and coconut grill. Hilo ocean adventures is a short walk away as is the Naniloa golf course. Bike rentals are available if front of hotel and are ideal way to see Hilo as the town is less than 10min ride. Bottom line Grand Naniloa is worth the few extra bucks. Be sure to get a room facing ocean on 4th floor or higher as sun rise/set are breath taking. For Hilo Grand Naniloa is the place as other hotels WiFi doesn’t work and is generally not up to par with luxury standards. Naniloa is a bit of a museum to Hawaiian culture and Hula. Miss Hawaiian did there photo shoots durning my stay. Fishing spots are right out back. Naniloa is safe has a free grill and has several snorkel worthy location as well as close proximity to Coconut Island with has a jumping rock worth paddle boarding or walking to. Suisans is a 5 min walk and has the best poke. Ask captain Kimo at Hilo ocean adventure if you want a more thrilling time diving, fishing, or snorkeling. Hilo is underrated and Naniloa is perfect for a timeless Hawaiian experience that is relaxing and filled with culture emersion.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank R2244WKdanield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews