We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$293
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$298
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$298
US$189
View Deal
SAVE US$109
Hotels.comUS$293
PricelineUS$298
eDreamsUS$298
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,457)
Filter reviews
1,457 results
Traveller rating
473
465
244
149
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
473
465
244
149
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula hula wrap around balcony lobby bar self park resort fee corner room ocean front the big island banyan drive national park banyan trees rental car mauna kea coconut island bay hugos hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,457 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020

We got there and there was a water line break. They gave out bottled water, which was nice and they found a work around to get water back on pretty quick. The room overlooked the bay and the pool. The issues began as we left for dinner, there were bags of trash and just stacks of trash in the hallway. OK...COVID, I get it. They were still there when we returned over 3 hours later. The same issue repeatedly for our stay. They seemed to come around once a day to pick up trash. We noted repeated and numerous guests walking around without masks in the common areas, though 'required'. I brought this to the front desk attention and was tersely told they didn't have the staff to monitor mask wearing compliance. They make a big point of being 'clean' but evidently this isn't part of it, nor the trash in the halls. The pool closed at 9....well, kind of. There is no wall/gate to close the pool area. So people just did what they wanted, at ALL hours! Even at 3-4 AM!!! Security seemed lax or non-existent. They came at 9.20 telling people poll was closed, after I called. Some left, many didn't. The screaming of kids jumping in etc. made it impossible to enjoy the balcony that looked out over the bay. At 9.40, the guard came back, spoke to those still there, they ignored him and he left to return again in 15 minutes. Finally they seemed to get the hint, but only waited for him to go back to the front desk, then got back in. This happened EVERY NIGHT!!!! I'd avoid this place, though there aren't many choices here. It's a grat location, could be a great place, just needs staff who care about all the guests.

Room tip: See review, depends on what you want. I liked the balcony, just the pool mad it bad.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1968TR250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2020

Before I even got there, Laura Ann at the Front Desk was making certain tht my personal needs were taken care of well. TY! It is so reassuring to have professional aloha--so completely talented yet also balanced by caring aloha. TYSVM!!!

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KOAHINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2020

The Grand Naniloa is located on the waterfront of Hilo Bay just a couple miles from the airport. Hotel has a pool, restaurant, gym, and a rental shack for kayaks/SUPs. Pool and restaurant were open, gym was closed (CV19) but was decent sized, had new cardio equipment, and a rack of dumbbells. Restaurant was good but had a limited menu and was on the pricey side. Becasue of 'the Rona' the staff and guests wear face masks while inside the building and housekeeping must be scheduled. I had no qualms about the cleanliness of the building and would bring my family back virus or not. The Grand Naniloa is an older hotel but has been beautifully refurbished, the age occasionally showed when the elevator took a bit long to reach us and the fire alarm was triggered. The best part of the hotel is the abundant aloha of the staff, Sierra was fantastic and made us feel valued and welcome for our stay!

During our trip we had time to visit the black sands beach, South Point Park, Volcano National Park, Akaka Falls, and a day just to hang around Hilo.

Room tip: Higher floors have a fantastic view of the property and the bay!
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KnownToaster911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2020

This hotel is always one of my favorites while on The Big Island. But when my wife and I had to quarantine for 14 days they were truly put to the test. They treated us like family as always and made a rather difficult situation easier. If you are planning a trip to The Big Island please due yourself a favor and visit this amazing property as the "sense of place" here is truly magical and the Aloha spirit is alive and well with the staff! A BIG MAHALO to Terri Racine and her amazing staff!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank wademccurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my little one and 2 relatives. We had an ocean view room with 2 queen beds. The best view from our balcony of Mauna Kea, and Mauna Loa. Room was clean, bathroom nice and big, and AC was on top of it. To ensure the room has been cleaned and sanitized, they have the stickers on the door, kind of like a seal. Right now face masks are required during common areas which is not an issue. The front desk displayed the aloha spirit, and gave us all the info needed upon check-in. Wipes and hand sanitizer available in the lobby for hotel guests. Ample seating available even with social distancing applied. Pool and restaurant was open for patrons. We picked up take out and ate it out by the water on one of the tables available (much better than a restaurant experience imo). We called guest services for toilet paper and it was delivered right away. Elevator wait was never long. Check-our was quick, and effortless. Spoke with LauraAnn about the changes they had to make due to COVID and left with a smile on my face. Will definitely be back as soon because the sunset from the property is amazing! Thank you for a memorable stay Grand Naniloa staff!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kirstyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews