We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of The Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Tina and Tom at Bay House made us feel so welcome and at home. Our room overlooked beautiful Hilo Bay, the waves lulling us to sleep each night in a huge comfy bed. We had the Harbor Room which was furnished beautifully with Hawaiian paintings and an Aloha quilt on our bed. The bathroom was spotless complete with large, fluffy fresh towels. Tina provided a yummy breakfast on our own special trays for us each morning which we enjoyed on our own lanai. She had made fresh muffins, a savoury dish and prepared fresh local fruit. We also had cereal, toast and fruit juice plus coffee and tea. We had a wonderful stay - so private and relaxing. And only a short walk across the singing bridge into Hilo town for lunch or dinner each day. We will certainly be heading to the Bay House next time we are back in Hilo!
Annette & Tony Western Australia

Room Tip: All the rooms have private balconies and face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Went with my fiancee this year (2012) in April.

It is a great house with good parking and close to Hilo. We stayed in the Palms room, which very clean and comfortable (especially I liked the private terrace and the spacious bathroom). Breakfast was plenty and healthy. Only minor drawback are the frogs at night, that are pretty loud, but since the bed was very comfortable, I had no problems to fall asleep.

The location is excellent for day trips to Volcano, Hilo, Waipio Valley and Puna. As it rains a lot, umbrellas are provided...

Tina, the owner, was the real star. We had a very nice conversation and she even gave my girlfriend two presents when it was her birthday.

Would go there again, Mahalo

Room Tip: Palm room is a little bit noisy due to the frogs at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A 5 star isn't enough. It was our second stay in Hilo. By-pass the Hotels for real Hawaiian elegance. The breakfast was an epicurian delight, with wonderful fresh fruit and breads.
The location is perfect, close to the water and a short walk to town. The rooms were very clean and fresh. Lovely decor. Tina and Tom are friendly and helpful. Hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Tina and Tom are very welcoming to guests. My favorite aspect of their Bay House was sitting in the spa amidst a mini jungle of plants while overlooking Hilo Bay. Also, I enjoyed the highlight of fresh papayas each morning for breakfast. Most importantly, I loved that the Bay House is right next to the bay, so there was a nice breeze with the windows open each night along with the coqui frogs' songs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a wonderful BnB. Easy to find, directions were perfect. Tina and Tom were great hosts. Answered all questions and gave good recommendations for dinner and shopping. The room was very clean and cheery with the Hawaiian decor. The soaps in the bathroom were an added bonus. I loved the nice leisure breakfast in the morning on our lanai. It was more then enough. She prepared the fruit and baked good in this nice basket. I felt like I was eating a healthy breakfast. We were ready to start our day. I was surprised when I heard the Coqui frogs. They sounded like birds not like any frogs I have heard. I would highly recommend this BnB and will stay here again should I be so lucky to come back. Thank you

Room Tip: Stayed in the Harbor room great view of Hilo Bay watching the ships and surfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiltygirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
0.3 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
2.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
5.0 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
4.9 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
2.5 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: €160 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay House B&B has it all, with three oceanfront guest rooms, comfortably nestled in a serene jungle setting, perched above beautiful Hilo Bay. Just a 5 minute walk across the "Singing Bridge" and you are in historic downtown Hilo. Convenient yet secluded. THE place to stay in Hilo. Our spacious private rooms are superbly appointed. Each oceanfront room has a full private bath, King or Queen sized bed (Queen in the Bay Room only), ceiling fan, cable television, free WiFi, and a private ocean front lanai. Also for our guests enjoyment is a cliff side jacuzzi, where you can gaze upon the grandeur of the Pacific Ocean. In the morning, you are served an individual basket of tropical fruits and local pastries, cereal, juices, yogurts, eggs, jam, coffee and teas, all served buffet style in the guests' common area. Take it back to your oceanfront lanai and enjoy the fruits of paradise. Free onsite covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing