We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Tina and Tom at Bay House made us feel so welcome and at home. Our room overlooked beautiful Hilo Bay, the waves lulling us to sleep each night in a huge comfy bed. We had the Harbor Room which was furnished beautifully with Hawaiian paintings and an Aloha quilt on our bed. The bathroom was spotless complete with large, fluffy fresh towels. Tina provided a yummy breakfast on our own special trays for us each morning which we enjoyed on our own lanai. She had made fresh muffins, a savoury dish and prepared fresh local fruit. We also had cereal, toast and fruit juice plus coffee and tea. We had a wonderful stay - so private and relaxing. And only a short walk across the singing bridge into Hilo town for lunch or dinner each day. We will certainly be heading to the Bay House next time we are back in Hilo!
Annette & Tony Western Australia

Room Tip: All the rooms have private balconies and face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    37
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
179
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Went with my fiancee this year (2012) in April.

It is a great house with good parking and close to Hilo. We stayed in the Palms room, which very clean and comfortable (especially I liked the private terrace and the spacious bathroom). Breakfast was plenty and healthy. Only minor drawback are the frogs at night, that are pretty loud, but since the bed was very comfortable, I had no problems to fall asleep.

The location is excellent for day trips to Volcano, Hilo, Waipio Valley and Puna. As it rains a lot, umbrellas are provided...

Tina, the owner, was the real star. We had a very nice conversation and she even gave my girlfriend two presents when it was her birthday.

Would go there again, Mahalo

Room Tip: Palm room is a little bit noisy due to the frogs at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A 5 star isn't enough. It was our second stay in Hilo. By-pass the Hotels for real Hawaiian elegance. The breakfast was an epicurian delight, with wonderful fresh fruit and breads.
The location is perfect, close to the water and a short walk to town. The rooms were very clean and fresh. Lovely decor. Tina and Tom are friendly and helpful. Hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Tina and Tom are very welcoming to guests. My favorite aspect of their Bay House was sitting in the spa amidst a mini jungle of plants while overlooking Hilo Bay. Also, I enjoyed the highlight of fresh papayas each morning for breakfast. Most importantly, I loved that the Bay House is right next to the bay, so there was a nice breeze with the windows open each night along with the coqui frogs' songs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a wonderful BnB. Easy to find, directions were perfect. Tina and Tom were great hosts. Answered all questions and gave good recommendations for dinner and shopping. The room was very clean and cheery with the Hawaiian decor. The soaps in the bathroom were an added bonus. I loved the nice leisure breakfast in the morning on our lanai. It was more then enough. She prepared the fruit and baked good in this nice basket. I felt like I was eating a healthy breakfast. We were ready to start our day. I was surprised when I heard the Coqui frogs. They sounded like birds not like any frogs I have heard. I would highly recommend this BnB and will stay here again should I be so lucky to come back. Thank you

Room Tip: Stayed in the Harbor room great view of Hilo Bay watching the ships and surfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltygirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
35.7 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
95.9 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing