We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved this house!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eugene an...
1 review
“We loved this house!”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We spent a week here with our relatives loving the view and the location. The architecture of the house is unique--it's a 3-storey pole house --yes, it's 'hung' on 9 huge Douglas fir poles. The top floor is where we all hung out. If the weather permits, you can push back all the sliding glass doors and then it's almost like living outdoors.
The location is great--just 5 minutes from a grocery store, 5 minutes from great snorkeling, close to restaurants, botanical gardens, etc. The house was well supplied with bedding, towels, kitchen gear and some handy beach gear. The four bedrooms were equally comfortable. We will go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn C
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
“Perfect home in the perfect location!”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We visited the Big Island with another family and we absolutely fell in love with this house. This amazing property is situated in a very quaint location, just a short drive from Kona and all of its attractions. Great restaurants and shopping centers are all close by and convenient to the home. The pictures of this home are just the tip of the ice berg because its views and amenities are just amazing. The home has wrap around porches on the second and third floors so every room takes in the beautiful and lush views. The home itself was wonderfully maintained and had all the basics needed for preparing meals. When we visit the Big Island again, we would love to come back and stay at this home to create more memories that our family will cherish forever!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R
2 reviews
“AWESOME VIEWS!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What an amazing house with awesome views. The pictures are not as nice as the actual views you will see from the balconies. If you want to feel like you are in Hawaii then I recommend you stay here! We visited with our 2 kids and another couple and still had plenty of room. Thank you!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
famtrip5
winnetka
1 review
“Perfect holiday in the Pu'uhonua House for my family...such amazing memories together!”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved our time at the Pu`uhonua House. It was perfect in every way. To begin with the house was in perfect shape, felt like stepping into a property that the owner loves and respects. The view is more breathtaking than the pictures online and sitting each morning having breakfast and watching sunset on the deck was the favorite part of our day. We found that we didn't want to leave for all the adventures that we had planned on the island, just so incredibly peaceful each day at the house....a real vacation. The architecture and space is just so Hawaii and loved the comfort and room options for me and the kids! The location is perfect for venturing out each day to see the Volcano or various beaches on the island. Loved every minute of our stay and counting the days til we can get back! Thank you Bruce, you are an amazing host and appreciate all you did for us while we were staying in your property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
racheljoh...
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Magical getaway!!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I stayed at this dream vacation for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed all this beautiful house had to offer! The sunsets we witnessed were truly awe-inspiring. The house itself is quite unique, and offers a great "home" for anyone travelling to the Big Island. Captain Cook is a great place to set up home base on Hawaii as we were close to a great restaurant called the Coffee Shack, as well as to Kealakekua Bay where early morning swims can be quite rewarding! The house is a magical getaway and both my partner and I were happy to relax in the beauty of the home. There are many provisions the house has to offer if you were coming as a couple or with your family. There were even some mermaid oracle cards we found that had some really interesting messages during our vacation! Bruce is a wonderful and attentive host, anytime i messaged him for assistance with a matter he would respond quickly and resolve the issue in a very timely fashion. We will be returning next year for another visit for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing