We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Aloha Home!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WiseRiver...
Alameda, California
1 review
“Awesome Aloha Home!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I brought my Women's Retreat group to the Pu'uhonua House and everyone was absolutely surprised by the beauty, charm and gracious energy of the space. The owners have put a lot of love and Aloha into the home and it fit our needs perfectly. Each floor and each room felt spacious and serene with wraparound views, fresh Hawai'ian breezes and lush gardens. We were greeted each morning with fresh picked fruit from the gardens by Bruce, the owner. He warned us that the Strawberry Bananas would ruin us forever and he was right. They are so good! Bruce was also so easy to work with and made sure my retreat guests were taken care of. He was very generous with his time and even helped me with a package that was delivered during the Retreat. This is a great space for groups and families that like adventure. From climbing the ladder to the loft to the paddle boards you can rent from Bruce, we all had so much fun plus were serenaded by the sounds of Nature at night. It made my swimming with Wild Dolphins Retreat perfect and my group now has many fond memories of our shared experience. I highly recommend staying at this beautiful home. Mahalo!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
139ktl
Castro Valley, California
1 review
“Fabulous tree house oasis”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family of 17 stayed in 2 houses on Kona, one of which was the Pu'uhonua House. What a fun place to stay! It's like a tree house. My family really enjoyed the lanai's, the unique bedrooms, the rooftop viewing area (awesome stars!), and the comfortable feel. There are lots of stairs, but easily manageable. Bruce was a pleasure to work with and made us feel welcome. We appreciated the credit he gave us when a couple people had to drop out just before the trip. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique property, great location, beautiful view
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiann R
Ham Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were taking this trip to Hawaii to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Some close friends joined us in this celebration so 6 of us stayed in the house for 7 of our 17 days, while the four of us enjoyed it the entire time. What we loved most was the open-air feel on the main living floor. We truly were awestruck by the beauty that surrounded us. We each claimed our favorite morning spot on the Lanai, where we watched the sun come up while enjoying our breakfast (we were early risers). The loft was a favorite sleep spot and we enjoyed the Eagles Nest look out above that. We tanned there early in the day and gazed at the beautiful sky at night. The kitchen was well equipped for the meals we prepared. We used the boogie boards and snorkel equipment several times. Having nice beach towels and chairs was fantastic! A washer and dryer right there was greatly appreciated and used plenty. We were well situated to enjoy the entire Island. We visited the white sand beaches further north, the Green Sand Beach further south, as well as took a trip to Volcano and Hilo. A favorite of one of our party was a 7 mile hike from the house to Captain Cook Cove for snorkeling. Bruce, the owner was at our disposal to help make our stay as comfortable as could be. A broken iron was quickly replaced, and while waiting for the replacement blender to arrive he shared his Vitamix with us, which was huge as my husband and I have a smoothie every morning. He also treated us on many occasions with fresh oranges, bananas, mangos and macadamia nuts...all picked on the property. We did need a day to adjust to sharing our space with the geckos, but once we adjusted we got to enjoy them. We actually miss them now. They were fun to watch and were absolutely no bother to us. We loved getting a real sense of living in Hawaii! We all agreed that this was The Most Relaxing vacation we have ever had!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open air feel of the main floor
Liked least: Distance to the white sand beaches north of Kona
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBlack333...
Palomar Mtn.
1 review
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the house. Very convenient to Captain Cooks and 2 steps to go snorkeling. The house is in lush vegetation like being in a tree house, lots of steps. Wouldn't recommend to young children infants due to the steps and deck. I would recommend it and stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: 20 mins. to Kona
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
We have had many guests in the past with infants and never had any previous complaints or problems. We provide a pack and play crib and have a baby gate for security at stairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richelle...
Novato, California
1 review
“Tropical Sanctuary, Jungle-O Bungalow, Hawaiian Hideaway, Thee Best Place to Stay on The Big Island!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I consider myself extremely privileged to have stayed at Pu'uhonua House many times. This place is a Paradise unto itself situated within the greater expanse of Paradise which is the Big Island of Hawaii. It really couldn't get any better than This: the Big Island (in case you are unfamiliar with it) being Clearly the Best of the Hawaiian Islands, is one of the most ecologically diverse places in the world, encompassing 8 (or 12, depending on the source and which climate classification system you refer to) of the 13 climate zones on our planet, all within its 4,028 square mile surface, meaning you can see them all in one day, watching the world change before your eyes again and again! I digress (sorry, this place gets me excited). The West side of the island (or the dry side, or leeward side) is the best because of the weather, the beach access, the people, the culture. Captain Cook rocks because it is mostly unspoiled, totally un-pretentious, laid back, progressive, stunningly gorgeous, and central in location. So, as you can see, without even beginning to describe the house, by staying here you are already experiencing the best of the best of the best! Descending the driveway to Pu'uhonua House, you already feel the awe and wonder of knowledge that you are entering a sacred place. The property is one of the most lush and secluded in the area, tucked in a nook teeming with diverse plant and animal life. When the wind blows, the palm fronds sway in the breeze and sound exactly like rain. A neon yellow bird flutters from a papaya tree branch. You get out of your car and are instantly overwhelmed by the fragrance of the giant Champaca tree. Then you see the house: an architectural masterpiece, Pu'uhonua house is a traditional-style pole house, which means it's bones are 9 sturdy poles supporting 3 luxurious levels. The masculine dark wood is balanced with plenty of light, breeze and open space for everyone to breathe. The house feels humbly elegant, and utterly peaceful. You feel enveloped in nature, even when you are indoors because of all the open air (don't panic, there are screens). It is so nice to be here, you may never want to go anywhere! You find your entertainment watching the antics of colorful geckos. Almost every room has direct access to a lanai (or deck), some private. The main level has a wraparound deck which showcases the ultimate indulgence this house provides: a majestic, sprawling view! The jungle hillside slopes gracefully into the mouth of Kealakekua Bay, just below you. The expanse of sky is hindered only by equally deserving trees. Here, you will watch splendid tropical sunsets over the ocean in total amazement and tranquility. Then be sung to sleep by a chorus of Coqui frogs. Yes, I am abruptly terminating this review upon the realization that I could go on and on professing my Love for this place! Bottom Line: Stay Here. Aloha!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing