We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rustic charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 'Lucky' Farm. We stayed in the Coffee Barn, a charming renovated little 'barn' - nothing at all like a big ol' Midwestern farm kind of barn, but a far more compact version. Wonderfully appointed with a beautiful (and very comfortable) bed, and even unfolding the (also very comfortable) fold-out couch still leaves plenty of room. No windows in there at all, just gorgeous views of the skies & the banana trees through the screens. The outdoor shower is very cool, lattice all around you, with trees above you. The 'front porch' is great - carpeted, with a couple of rocking chairs and a table, and with barely a view of the main house, you may feel like you're alone in the rainforest.

The grounds are lovely, with coffee, macadamias, avocados, coconuts, lemons, passionfruit, bananas, papayas, starfruit, and all manner of fragrant flowers growing everywhere, and there are wandering walking trails which will give you a look at most of these (and more). J.P. gave us a tour, and educated us about all the things growing there, and it's definitely worth your time. No pesticides or other chemicals are used here, everything they grow is organic. Despite all the greenery, there were never critters of any kind in the Coffee Barn.

The breakfasts - served in the main house's dining room - are delicious, served with fresh-ground Kona coffee and fruit picked just before you come up in the morning; Johnsie will make the remainder of the breakfast to your satisfaction. For example, we had ridiculously good oatmeal stuffed full of mango & coconut one day, and scrambled eggs with sausage gravy another - whether you're a raw foodist or a hearty omnivore, Johnsie will take care of you. They take great care and pride in providing you the best of the best in anything they serve. And the view from the lanai is not to be missed!

They have a fully stocked community kitchen where you can keep your food in the 'fridge, and cook lunch or dinner. There are also numerous items available for your use while you're there, such as coolers, beach towels, snorkel gear, and even extra hats. Books are available at the main house if you want to pick up a classic or a more recent publication. There are a half-dozen very good beaches within minutes, so it's a great base from which to explore the area. It's also not far from 'civilization' so you can run to the grocery store or go out for dinner without a problem.

If you're looking for an antiseptic hotel where every room has matching decor & smells like Lysol, this place is not for you. If you're looking for some charm, friendly people, and natural beauty, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llarisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

What is important to you in a place to stay? Lucky Farm B&B has a lot of good points. The hosts were warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were quite good and included fresh fruit hand picked that morning on the grounds. We met charming people who were staying at the B&B at the same time we did. The Kona coffee was excellent. We were able to borrow fins at no charge from the inn. The location was fantastic with regard to sight seeing, and especially good for being near spectacular snorkeling places. There is at least one very good restaurant within easy driving distance, and several others that served good food at reasonable prices as well.

On the down side, the lanai was badly in need of a scrubbing up. The towels in our room were thin and dank and never fully dried out after use, and we were never offered fresh towels. The grounds were very unkempt, and had debris strewn about.

My husband and I both felt that the pluses outweighed the minuses. But since we have come to use Trip Advisor quite often, and hope to find reliable reviews, we feel we must report the bad with the good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abylover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Maybe I haven't grasped the spirit of real Hawaii, but I didn't enjoy the stay at this B&B (5 nights). If you want to sleep in the middle of a tropical forest, this place is OK. If want to see how was the accommodation of the old coffee workers, this place is also OK. But if you want a dry, clean, serviced place to stay, look for alternatives.

CONS: Pomaika'i B&B is an incredible wet place. Towels don't dry. Dry hanged clothes become damp in matter of hours. And there is not fresh towels or sheets, unless you ask for it.
You have to clean the room yourself and make your bed.
Also, you have to share the space and the bed with ants (every morning I had several crushed ants between me and the mattress as they wanted to share my bed and my weight and gravity pushed down while I was sleeping). Mosquitoes were not a problem inside the room. But beware outside.
And as there is nothing but a mosquito net on the windows, you can hear every sound from other guests and the road next to hotel (specially intense from 6 AM). Bring ear plugs!

PROS: Even with all the cons, I had a good sleep. Humidity and temperature was OK for me. But I can't stand with the damp towels from the night before and the ants.
Breakfast, as mentioned before, is good. Free wi-fi is also a nice touch.

Pomaikai location it's neither good nor bad. It's not close to the beaches or Kailua-Kona or the airport, but it's not very far.

In brief, in case I return to Hawaii, I will look for another place to stay, maybe more standard. And drier. And the price doesn't make a difference.
Maybe with a little improvement from the family managers, adding room cleaning on a regular basis and checking the rooms daily, could be a recommendable place. But currently, it is not.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sioFont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

My family and I really enjoyed the hospitality at the PomaiKa'i "Lucky" Farm B&B. The fresh fruit and fruit juices were unique and delicious. Breakfast was terrific. I really enjoyed the discussions of the botanical aspects of the fruits of the day with JP. Johnsie, the proprietor was very accomodating with our reservations, even with the picky food choices of my 4 year old daughter. We stayed in the Coffee Barn which was an enjoyable experience sleeping in a Hawaiian tropical jungle all the while safe and protected from the mosquitoes, coqui frogs and the wild boars! Captain Cooke is a wonderful town and an excellent base for short trips around the Island. PomaiKa'i is an excellent place to stay and enjoy the "Real" Hawaii.

Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Not only was the hospitality outstanding, but John Paul (JP) and Tony played a breakfast concert for one hour that reminded me of some of the great music by Jerry Jeff Walker and Bob Wills. Our host, Johnsie fixed a breakfast that included many kinds of fruit that made me realize that I was experiencing the true Hawaii. If you want a friendly, relaxing experience, stay here! These folks enjoy making people happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhoagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
4.8 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
23.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
23.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Halemalu
Halemalu
#3 of 4 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.9 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
14.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

Property: Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Address: 83-5465 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8303
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at a working Kona Coffee Farm! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast accompanied by fresh fruits from the farm. Try the macadamia nuts right out of the back yard. Snorkel, scuba dive, kayak, or hike at the nearby beaches. Beach equipment, guest kitchen. Free Wi-fi internet access. The Coffee Barn now has an in-room fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Hotel Captain Cook
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing