We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill Big Time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Edmonton, Alta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gone downhill Big Time!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here in 2006 and had a great time. It is under new management now and has really slipped. Cats and cat leavings everywhere!! The kitchen area is disgusting and we wouldn't leave anything other than bottled water in the fridge. It's too bad. It is a great location and used to be terrific. The garden room we were in was clean though and a sanctuary away from the cats and smell. I don't think Johnsie notices the cat mess. And her partner JP is fairly useless, though he will try to impress you with his knowledge of not much.......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank troutfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midwest Girl
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent 4 nights in February, 2012. The host Johnsie and her dad, John are nice enough but the place is not very clean , the lanai is full of cats, and the breakfasts were ok at best. The kitchen available for guests was nasty with dirty counter tops and the moldy smell was awful. Our room was a nice size, the bed mattress was ok but the sheets were "pilled" from use and uncomfortable. There was hair on the bathroom floor and it looked like it needed scrubbing. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MidWestGirlLuvs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unidabiscuit, Owner at Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
We're so sorry you were disappointed with your experience here, but you certainly didn't get to know us very well, as my Dad was not even on the Big Island during your stay and should not be included in your evaluation of us. John Paul (my co-host here at Lucky Farm B&B) & I have endeavored to keep the guest kitchen area in better shape, certainly much better than what you describe...though a moldy sponge can occur very quickly here in Hawaii. We no longer feed the cats on the lanai, so they are less likely to be around, though most of our guests tell us that they very much enjoy our kitties, we wish that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Cross this one off your list. My family walked in to the coffee barn (damp and dirty shack) and turned around and walked out. When we went back up to the host house and hesitantly stated our dismay about the bed corner listing down dramatically in two directions, the large jug of "CatOff" on the dingy chairs by our door, the proprietor, Johnsie, was as nasty as you could imagine without spitting on us. Computer corner? under the house, dirty and damp. Refund? Not on your life. We were berated for booking only one night. Hands down the worst place in all my years of budget travel, in the states and abroad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allseeLsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Excellent location and value. We stayed in the rustic coffee barn, which we enjoyed (note: mattress tilted way down in one corner, but we fixed by putting an extra pillow underneath). The property is unique and not for everyone, but great if you are looking for just the basics in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This quirky place is truly laid-back and relaxed. If you're looking for glitz and over the top amenities, go somewhere else. But if you can look beyond the property's slightly ramshackle appearance and focus on the positives, this place has a lot to offer. We stayed in one of the two "greenhouse rooms". The no- frills rooms are clean and our bed was really comfortable. The only downside to be considered is the fact that the rooms are open ( no glass in the windows, only screen) and because of this, one hears everything from outside. This was not a problem when it came to the room next door, which was occupied-- we heard virtually nothing. However, when the roosters started in at around 4 every morning, we realized that it could be an issue. I carry earplugs whenever I travel, so it was not a problem for me, but be forewarned.
There are also coqui frogs at night, but I personally find their calls soothing. But that's just me :) That's the "bed" part. But where the magic comes in is the breakfast. Every morning we were treated to an amazing array of fruits right from the farm, freshly brewed Kona coffee, homemade breads and jams and something cooked up in the kitchen by our hostess Johnsie. Vegetarian and vegan-friendly, her recipes always pleased. Co- host John Paul is a real character and knows a lot about Hawaii history, organic gardening, and music and gladly shares his knowledge on all three subjects. He will take you on a tour of the property, and if you're lucky, he and Johnsie will launch into an impromptu breakfast concert while you're there; they are both really talented musicians. In short, if you can look beyond the slightly disheveled exterior, this place is filled with great spirit and delivers a true feeling of "aloha".

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
4.7 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
290 reviews
23.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
55.0 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.9 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
405 reviews
2.7 km away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

Property: Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Address: 83-5465 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8303
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at a working Kona Coffee Farm! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast accompanied by fresh fruits from the farm. Try the macadamia nuts right out of the back yard. Snorkel, scuba dive, kayak, or hike at the nearby beaches. Beach equipment, guest kitchen. Free Wi-fi internet access. The Coffee Barn now has an in-room fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Bed And Breakfast
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Hotel Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing