We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamo Motel(Sheridan)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheridan Inn(Sheridan)
US$197
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$96
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge Motel(Sheridan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
41
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsride horsesthe main houseswimming poolbingowranglersduderanchscenerytrailshootantelope
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We only stayed at Eaton's for three days of our trip out West, but it was worth the stop. We aren't horse experts, but we rode horses for a few hours at least twice a day and we loved it. Riding around on your horse (specially chosen for you based on your size, riding ability, preferences, etc) around the Bighorn Mountains was amazing. On our rides, we literally saw the deer and the antelope play (with all their babies) in the mountains. The riders in our group were ages 10-70 and everybody enjoyed it. All the horse wranglers were great. Special thanks to wrangler Kristen -- who our 10YO daughter thought was pretty much the coolest person she'd ever met.

The food was better than I expected--we enjoyed every meal. Many of the staff members in the dining hall, including our waiter, are part of the Eaton family and you could tell they took pride in their place. And the rooms were just as cabins at a Dude Ranch should be--the right combination of rustic and clean.

As a few others commented, it really is all about the horses. The other activities, such as archery, crafts, etc. were not as well thought out. That said, the pool was nice and the scenery is incredible--so even Grandma (who didn't ride horses) enjoyed her stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This incredible guest ranch is a walk back in time as the ranch buildings have remained much the same as they were when the ranch was established ... with, of course, updates for comfort. Eatons is the oldest dude ranch in the US and history abounds here. It is also the only ranch which allows good riders to ride the range solo without the common 'nose to tail' trail ride. Their horse stock is certainly quality and the wranglers knowledgeable and fun! Instruction is also available. All day rides and summer overnights are popular for a good reason. Eatons has 7000 acres to explore from wide open plains to mountain peaks of 10,000 feet and breathtaking alpine meadows abounding with wildlife from trophy elks to bears, antelope and an occasional mountain lion!
Many people who return to Eatons have a long family history here and many come the same week year after year to meet with their Eaton friends and for good reason for it is a true ranch experience!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This was my 3rd time at Eaton's Ranch . I stayed in the cabin wigwam . The two years before I stayed in hells kitchen and Morrill . They were all really great cabins . My horses have always been very well mannered . The food was really good . They always have really fun activities . Such as tie die and bingo . I had A really great experience !

Room Tip: gold coast cabins are on wolf creek . you can see them rangle the horses from those cabins .
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank hannahglee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Our first time here and it was really amazing! The staff is awesome and the wranglers are great. We stayed by the creek and it was fabulous. More secluded from the other cabins. Cabins had everything you need and are very nice. We did walk around the other cabins and they are all very nice. We chose not to stay right next to the pool figuring there would be more foot traffic and noise.

The scenery is breathtaking! The wranglers do a good job of showing you all you need to see and know the history of the ranch. Getting a chance to go off on your own without a wrangler is very cool.

The Eatons' extended family are great people and make you feel very welcome. Very laid back experience and very limited wifi and TV only in the main house. We all unplugged for a week and after about a day, we were all used to not having any electronics.

Food was plentiful and good. We all ate way too much!

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcl8rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Don't go for fishing, or any of the other activities; the staff is not set up for anything other than horse riding. But the horse program is fantastic. Good wranglers, good horses, majestic scenery.

Office staff is poor, and communication id poor, but once you get a day or two to figure out how things work, it's all good. Ask a lot of questions at check-in, and make them give full answers. These are untrained kids working in the office. But good kids.

Food is very good, cabins are "sparse Western", but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a cabin by the creek if you can
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews