We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind!”
Review of Eatons' Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wolf
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eatons' Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Located in Wolf Wyomming, Eatons Ranch is a great place to disconnect for a few days. Don't expect to take calls or receive email. It's a great ranch for horse back riding, hiking, swimming pool with hot tub and trout fishing nearby. Don't expect 5 star accommodations. The cabins are rustic, but clean. The food at the Ranch was very good and the staff was great.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cabins. I stayed in Mellon which was a very good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandywE4799OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

We only stayed at Eaton's for three days of our trip out West, but it was worth the stop. We aren't horse experts, but we rode horses for a few hours at least twice a day and we loved it. Riding around on your horse (specially chosen for you based on your size, riding ability, preferences, etc) around the Bighorn Mountains was amazing. On our rides, we literally saw the deer and the antelope play (with all their babies) in the mountains. The riders in our group were ages 10-70 and everybody enjoyed it. All the horse wranglers were great. Special thanks to wrangler Kristen -- who our 10YO daughter thought was pretty much the coolest person she'd ever met.

The food was better than I expected--we enjoyed every meal. Many of the staff members in the dining hall, including our waiter, are part of the Eaton family and you could tell they took pride in their place. And the rooms were just as cabins at a Dude Ranch should be--the right combination of rustic and clean.

As a few others commented, it really is all about the horses. The other activities, such as archery, crafts, etc. were not as well thought out. That said, the pool was nice and the scenery is incredible--so even Grandma (who didn't ride horses) enjoyed her stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This incredible guest ranch is a walk back in time as the ranch buildings have remained much the same as they were when the ranch was established ... with, of course, updates for comfort. Eatons is the oldest dude ranch in the US and history abounds here. It is also the only ranch which allows good riders to ride the range solo without the common 'nose to tail' trail ride. Their horse stock is certainly quality and the wranglers knowledgeable and fun! Instruction is also available. All day rides and summer overnights are popular for a good reason. Eatons has 7000 acres to explore from wide open plains to mountain peaks of 10,000 feet and breathtaking alpine meadows abounding with wildlife from trophy elks to bears, antelope and an occasional mountain lion!
Many people who return to Eatons have a long family history here and many come the same week year after year to meet with their Eaton friends and for good reason for it is a true ranch experience!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This was my 3rd time at Eaton's Ranch . I stayed in the cabin wigwam . The two years before I stayed in hells kitchen and Morrill . They were all really great cabins . My horses have always been very well mannered . The food was really good . They always have really fun activities . Such as tie die and bingo . I had A really great experience !

Room Tip: gold coast cabins are on wolf creek . you can see them rangle the horses from those cabins .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank hannahglee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Our first time here and it was really amazing! The staff is awesome and the wranglers are great. We stayed by the creek and it was fabulous. More secluded from the other cabins. Cabins had everything you need and are very nice. We did walk around the other cabins and they are all very nice. We chose not to stay right next to the pool figuring there would be more foot traffic and noise.

The scenery is breathtaking! The wranglers do a good job of showing you all you need to see and know the history of the ranch. Getting a chance to go off on your own without a wrangler is very cool.

The Eatons' extended family are great people and make you feel very welcome. Very laid back experience and very limited wifi and TV only in the main house. We all unplugged for a week and after about a day, we were all used to not having any electronics.

Food was plentiful and good. We all ate way too much!

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcl8rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eatons' Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatons' Ranch

Address: 270 Eatons Ranch Road, Wolf, WY 82844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Wolf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf
Price Range: €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eatons' Ranch is a dude and cattle ranch located on the magnificent, pine-covered eastern slopes of the Bighorn Mountains. Just eighteen miles of Sheridan, WY, the Ranch consists of 7,000 acres of beautiful open country with rolling hills, grassy meadows and hidden valleys. For over 137 years, we have offered guests a western experience and shared with them a way of life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing