We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, view and the room.”
Review of Elk Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Refuge Inn
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The location was perfect. Not in Jackson town but close to town. (2 minutes drive) Easy to enjoy the food and beverage at town center and you also get quiet room. The view was great which right face to National Elk Refuge, but no elk you can see at Summer.

Tips: Ask for upper floor room. You enjoy the convenience of ground floor and a balcony with better view.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor room. You enjoy the convenience of ground floor and a balcony with better view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyGou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us.
It is nice to a short distance away from town during the busy summer months.
We're glad you enjoyed the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Elk Refuge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The room we stayed in looked recently renovated. The room was super clean. Beds were really comfortable. You must stay on the second floor if you want a good view. It is also more pleasant for sitting out on a balcony. The rates were very reasonable for the area. Room had a kitchenette with a fridge. The only complaint is the road noise. The traffic on the road is quite busy. We slept with the sliders open to stay cool so we didn't have to use AC. I'm not a light sleeper so it wasn't an issue, but sitting out it is noisy. They didn't have an icemaker, but they at least filled my water cup for me. The people at the front desk were very friendly. The daughter that checked us in told us good places to go for breakfast and dinner, told us about a local horseback riding place that people had recommended, and about events that were happening while we were there. We went to one of the restaurants and the horseback riding. Great recommendations. It was nice not to be in the congested part of Jackson. You will only see elk in the winter however :) I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Must stay on second floor if you want a view. Parking lot above, so there are no stairs required.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff and the view.
Hopefully, you saw many wildlife including elk which are scattered through Grand Teton and Yellowstone parks during the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This establishment away from down town Jackson is an excellent value particularly in the should seasons. Wonderful access to Gran Teton National Park. In busy seasons it is typically overpriced Jackson Hole, but still less than many, many places. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Stayed there on two different trips and am booked for a third.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Jim49950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your review and comments.
I'm amazed 365 days a year at the beauty of our setting.
We had 8500 Elk this past winter right across the street and a brown bear there yesterday.
It's common in the evenings to see Rocky Mountain Sheep on the hill behind the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The bed was wonderful with no bowed section. The living room area was delightful, with a fireplace and dining area, two sofas. The staff was great and very accommodating, making for a fun informative stay. We knew going in, since they were very upfront on the phone, that there would be no elk there during the summer, so we were not misled by the title of the motel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have "ground floor access" since the driveway climbs around back making the...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The location of this hotel is perfect if you are visiting the Tetons - its on the north end of town and away from all of the downtown crowds. Its an older hotel and was a great price for the location, but not sure if I would stay here again. Don't expect a view if you are on the first floor since cars are parked directly in front of the rooms. Was told ice machine was broken, and no coffee was available in the rooms because they "ran out of the little packets." They did however bring me a bucket of ice and had coffee available in the lobby. Bathroom vanity was tiny and barely held any toiletry items. No chairs in the room, but internet did work well. Front desk staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: pick a room on second floor if you want a view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts.
We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
3.2 km away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#7 of 40 in Jackson
748 reviews
4.1 km away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
2.8 km away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 40 in Jackson
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
0.1 km away
Flat Creek Inn
Flat Creek Inn
#16 of 40 in Jackson
354 reviews
4.2 km away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#18 of 40 in Jackson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Refuge Inn

Address: 1755 N Hwy 89/191, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: €63 - €1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Refuge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Refuge Inn is a wonderful, economical choice for the traveler looking for a quiet, scenic and affordable stay in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Just two miles from downtown and overlooking the National Elk Refuge. The Elk Refuge Inn provides great views, great service, and convenience all at a reasonable cost. Perfect for those looking for all that Jackson, Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Elk Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Refuge Hotel Jackson
Elk Refuge Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing