We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed here while going to Yellowstone. We appreciated the fact that they accept dogs and had a kitchen in the room. We prepared half of our meals there, which saved a lot of money and frankly tasted better than in Yellowstone. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean. My favorite part about the room was the bed! The blankets and comforter were very soft and cozy and made it hard to get out of bed! The downsides were that it was located on a busy intersection which was a little tricky to get in and out of. The noise from the road wasn't bad, but we were on a lower level unit and with people walking by (loudly), noise from above and from beside- it wasn't very quiet. If I had to do it over, I would ask for an upstairs unit.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room- more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank U1999QHlindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

My daughter and I stayed at the Pony Express Motel for four nights, We got room #15 (on the ground floor) with the bunk beds, queen bed, microwave, and refrigerator. When we first got there it was before check-in time and a sign made it clear that they did not want folks asking if rooms were ready before check in. That's o.k. because it is obvious that being family owned, it is all hands on deck to get the rooms ready. Anyway, every day the room was well cleaned including fresh towels (and plenty) every day no matter if we hung them up, With so much walking it was nice to return to a refreshing shower. The bath tub has no mat or grab bars- not a prob. for us, but may be for some. There is a separate alcove for the sink and small vanity. The queen bed was very comfortable and the sheets smelled so clean! Everything in the room worked well except for a curious phone without a cord. Foolishly, I tried to call the desk (with my cell phone) to ask for a wake-up call and of course, they do not do wake up calls. Silly me! Luckily my daughter set her i-pod and we were all set with that for a wake up.
As far as the location goes, there is currently construction across the street making traffic go less smoothly than usual plus the motel is set off the road on a driveway that also serves as a road into a gas station and a couple of other buildings, To go left out of the motel, and back into Jackson (very short distance) we had to either go up route 22 and turn or go across the busy highway into Jackson. One plus if you happen to choose Alamo/National rental car is that the office is only two minutes up route 22 from the motel. (that's where the shuttle from the airport takes you to get your car.)
After a fabulous four days, we wanted to print out our boarding passes and Chrissy (one of the owners) graciously used her work computer to print them out. I think they may have decided that with so many ways to access many transactions by cell phone, it may not be necessary to offer some of these "out of date" amenities.
All in all, we loved our little home away from home and would definitely go back to the Pony Express again.

Room Tip: The rooms in our end ( room # 15) on the first floor seemed very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed for one night on our way to Yellowstone and couldn't of been more pleased. We were given a 2 bedroom condo for just my husband and I and it was fantastic. Bed was wonderful, living room and kitchen well stocked and wifi was perfect. Dinner recommendations given us at front desk were spot on and we had a wonderful dinner.
We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We landed in Jackson after almost 30 hours of traveling. We landed late at night-and the guys at Pony express left us an envelope with directions to our room, keys and the wifi password. The motel was awesome-the bed was comfortable, the kitchen was well equiped (even had a dishwasher!) and it was in a great location. In the morning we got great recommendations from the guy in the reception. It was I think the perfect place to stay while visiting Jackson, Teton village and Grand Teton national park.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sapir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

The motel room was clean and the bed large we had a ground floor room and the very small bathroom at the rear slopes slightly and everything slopes with it.... odd!

It is at the junction where the road to Teton village connects to main road to Jackson

Parking was easy and behind a gas station. A short walk away is an upstairs bar/ restaurant serving 27 different beers and the food is pretty good and not over priced, it seems to be very popular with the local families on a Saturday night which is always good.

Across the road is a super market and bowling alley

All good

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
2.2 km away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
624 reviews
1.7 km away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
764 reviews
4.2 km away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#23 of 40 in Jackson
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
0.4 km away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.6 km away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: €62 - €316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing