We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackwater Creek Ranch
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I wanted a little cabin in the woods and I got it. I was off the grid during my stay (no cell service) but could enjoy the free wi-fi at the lodge when I needed to. Our first night, Sean came out with a rope and taught my son and husband how to lasso a steer by the camp fire. The weather got cold that night and we had snow the next morning. Johnny and Diane were fabulous, friendly and helpful. Got some great tips for heading into Yellowstone, Johnny brought us an extra heater (freezing temps at night) and even got up in the early AM when our power went off. He got it back running quickly! It all added to the camping atmosphere. My only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwaterranch, Owner at Blackwater Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon.
Diana & Johnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing time riding horses in the mountains at Blackwater Creek Ranch! We had a great guide named Kristina. She took care of us. She was very nice and friendly. She brought us back early when our City Slicker behinds couldn't handle the full 2.5hr ride that we wanted. They even refunded some of our money. I highly recommend! We will be back and hope to stay for a week!

Beautiful trails and views! Loved it

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Would discourage you from staying here! The pictures and descriptions on their website are not even remotely close to the cabins! The cabin we stayed in was a "trapper shack," it did have running water however. The cabin itself was blazing hot during the day as there is no air conditioning and got quite cold at night. There were bugs all over, the sheets and pillowcases were dirty and the furniture was dusty! Upon opening the windows we quickly realized where all the dirt and bugs were coming from. There is no cell phone reception and no wifi. The woman owner was NOT even remotely friendly or welcoming in fact it was if we were annoying her by checking in and asking questions! The husband/wife managers I think we awesome! Super friendly and very helpful we suggest the owner take a lesson from them on her people and social skills! As I stated above, I would not suggest to anyone to stay here! And WAY overpriced for the nasty accommodations! I bet it leaks when it rains, check out the roof!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mgunnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Blackwater was awesome and the staff were great! They were very helpful with information, went out of their way to help the kids enjoy their time and the horses are great for kids to ride with reasonable riding rates. The cabins were very clean and cozy. Just what we wanted in a rustic & real mountain experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckeasling6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwaterranch, Owner at Blackwater Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Diana & Johnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Whilst you may consider the accommodation to be a little rustic, don't be fooled, the beds are comfy and the showers are hot. We stayed here for a couple of nights during our fly drive holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and packed plenty in, making use of the pool, going on a horseback trail with the Wranglers and going into Cody to see the nighttime rodeo. Dianne and Johnnie were extremely helpful, as were their staff, and the food was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwaterranch, Owner at Blackwater Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thanks Caroline,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look for to a return visit.
Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
26.4 km away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
51.5 km away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
603 reviews
18.5 km away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.8 km away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
51.4 km away
Cody Cowboy Village
55.3 km away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Creek Ranch

Address: 1516 N Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blackwater Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing