We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I expected more than what I received. I was not impressed at all by this place!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I expected more than what I received. I was not impressed at all by this place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

First got there and the representative continued to talk on the phone instead of taking care of
the customers in the lobby. The rooms are not worth the almost $100 per night I paid. I've
paid less in other hotels, and was given more. I was especially surprised at the exceptionally
small tv in the room. I didn't realize we'd get a 19 inch ancient tv, (not flat screen). Also, the
furniture in the room reminds me of a low budget extended stay hotel. It was extremely noisy
on the first floor, which is where I was. They didn't even have ice. You either had to pay for it, or
make your own in thedorm sized fridge that was included in the room. Also, I went into the
bathroom and opened the toilet only to find what looked like a maxi pad in there. Why not check
the rooms first to make sure things like this don't happen. Overall, I'm very disappointed. I would
never recommend someone to come here to celebrate their anniversary! It isn't the place to be.
So what about the amenities! It still isn't worth the money I paid. This puts me in the mind of a
1 star hotel or less. I would have definitely paid much more to go somewhere else more upscale
if I knew this place would be like this.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor by the pool if you want peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tighny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our Resort. I'd like to address some of your concerns and complaints.
I'm sorry that you were not given our full attention on your arrival. There was only one person behind the desk when you came in and they were on a reservation call. When this happens, it is our policy to acknowledge the incoming guest and tell them we will be right with them and continue with the reservation, since it doesn't take that long to finish up and the check in process goes very quickly. I'm sorry if this did not happen for you. I apologise if you were not acknowledged right away.
If you had a smaller TV, you must have been in one of the few rooms that has a 24" instead of the 32" flat-screen TV's that are in 95 % of our rooms. I apologise for that. We would have had no problem bringing in a larger TV for you, had you mentioned it to us.
When you complained about the kids running past your room, we had security check it out and keep an eye out for noise. Security found nothing wrong and no noise but we did move you to one of our brand new suites at no additonal charge. (That new suite had 2, 32" flat screen TV's)
We have ice in the office at no charge. There is a large sign that clearly states that the ice is free.
The last thing in your complaint that I wold like to address is the "Maxi Pad" you found in your bathroom. Clearly, this did not happen. You complained so many times through out your stay but never mentioned a maxi pad being left in your bathroom? I'm sorry, but I have a hard time understanding how you could complain about kids running outside your door but never complained or mentioned that there was a maxi pad left in your bathroom.
We realise that we can not be everything to every guest but we certainly try to make each and every guest happy and comfortable. 99% of our guest comments are positive and they talk about wanting to come back to Sunset Bay.
We know we can't please everyone and clearly, we failed to make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    179
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
341
107
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We went in the off season and were nearly the only guests, perhaps 6 other cars in the lodge. The manager was very accommodating. We found this place on a pet-travel website and were able to take our dogs with us! Very important when you have no kids. We only stayed one night, but the room was clean, the rate was right and we had a gorgeous view of the lake from our room (with a balcony).

This place is out of the "hustle and bustle" of the main drag in the Dells, but close enough to all the amenities. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms also had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

This will be a regular stay for us when we travel to Wisconsin every fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equusnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Loved being able to take our dog. And there were a lot of them :) Resort okay. My daughter liked the slide at the indoor pool. Beach ping pong was fun. For what it was, it was nice. Close to Noah's Ark too.

Room Tip: Take your dog!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feelingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We loved the new rooms at this resort very clean and modern. Nice resort and off the path of the tourist area if that is what your looking for. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburb
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We chose this hotel because it was a pet friendly hotel. It was.We were a bit dissappinted with the housekeeping. If we were going to the Dells again with our pet, we would stay there. If we weren't probally not.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
3.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#7 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
4.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#29 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.8 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing