We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent continental breakfast, great shower, lousy lifeguard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent continental breakfast, great shower, lousy lifeguard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a few issues during our stay...

The bathroom sink was completely clogged when we checked in. We let the front desk know and the maintenance man did come to fix it. He pulled out the drain stop and there was black "muck" all over it. This muck dripped all over the sink and the counter around the sink. I asked the housekeeper in the morning to please pay special attention to this area when the room was serviced and when we returned later in the day, the muck was still there. YUCK!
When we checked in there was also hair all over the bathroom and short whisker shavings all around the sink. (The sink is outside of the bathroom and the counter tops are dark colored--trying to give the benefit of the doubt to the housekeeper but it was still nasty!)

Also, there is a kiddie pool, a big pool with a slide, and a hot tub. The kiddie pool was warm but at the base of the little slides the floor is really rough (looks like they did some patch work) and my kids got some scrapes on their elbows, legs, and butts. The bigger pool was kind of cold, but the slide was fun for the kids. No complaints about the hot tub. Actually nice that my eyes didn't burn when I was in there.

NOTE...there is a lifeguard on duty but don't trust him to save anyone from drowning!!! The first nite we were there he sat in a chair eating a bag of microwave popcorn. The second nite he was in the corner furthest from the pool on his laptop, talking on his cell phone, and reading the USA Today newspaper. This guy paid no attention to what was going on in the pool. There were kids climbing up the waterslide, stopping halfway down, jumping in and out of the slide halfway down, and breaking just about every other safety rule posted on the slide.

The continental breakfast was excellent--eggs, biscuits n gravy, sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, milk, juice, breads, fresh fruit, muffins, and cinnamon rolls. Very nice! And lobby had enough tables to accomodate many families.

Rooms were ok. Kind of weird to have the bathroom sink at the foot of the bed. Microwave and fridge were nice. Shower was great! Very nice Kohler shower head and plenty of light in shower. Shower unit was also new-looking and mold/mildew free! Beds have soft and firm pillows and were ok. I woke up with a sore back the 2nd nite but otherwise they were fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WisDellsHiexGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Hello,
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to report both the positives and the negatives that occurred during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Wisconsin Dells. We know with all the choices here in the Wisconsin Dells area that every small detail with a guest stay is extremely important! With that being said I will speak with the appropriate people here at the hotel to get the above issues corrected so that when you or any other guest comes back to our property these wont be issues you experience again! Next time you stay if you have any issues or would like to speak with a manager my office door is always open and I would enjoy sitting down to talk about the positives as well as any issue you may have! We look forward to serving you again next time you are in town.
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    149
    84
    33
    25
See reviews for
214
81
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pender, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Eight adults and two kids called this Holiday Inn express home for two nights as we all went to see the University of Wisconsin football game (1 hour away) one weekend. The Presidential Suite with its three bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living area, and kitchen was large enough to accommodate us all. The onsite indoor water park was very good at keeping the two young ones (one and three) entertained during down times. A great value versus multiple hotel rooms

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed for two nights from Oct. 7-9, 2011 for my daughter's hockey tournament. We had an executive room that had two queen beds and a couch/hide-a-bed. The room had a microwave and refridgerator which came in handy. The room itself was relatively clean (the carpeting could have used a shampoo), the beds were comfortable enough (again, not great but useable), and the location was very good (right in the heart of water park country). The worst part? Breakfast. Ugh. The "scrambled eggs" had to have been powdered and just disgusting. I was trying to make my 7 year old eat them until I tried them myself! Stale bread and nasty sausage links really don't make a quality breakfast. Stick to yogurt, cereal, and they had a make-your-own-pancake machine, though I did not try it out. I did not use the pool or other amenities, though the workout room looked like it had some nice machines. Front desk staff was helpful enough with the few things I needed them for (check in, a comb, and check out).

Overall, simple stay, not fancy, not the Bates motel, just clean room for a decent price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joliet_Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI - USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This HI Express is ready for a remodel. They recently changed managers and you can see the positives from the change. Staff is very good. Breakfast is adequate, with many choices. Pool area is large with a nice area for small children and a fun slide. The slide is often closed, open mainly on weekends as they need to have a full-time lifeguard there to monitor its use. The pool water is always cold. We have been here many times and is consistently cold. The hot tub is large but many of the jets don't work. Pool towels are not consistently keep on hand, so bring your own. All in all disappointing. Exercise room is a joke. 2 broken treadmills and a broken exercise bike.
The room has a small fridge and a microwave which is nice. It also had a flat screen tv with a nice array of channels. Pay per view is available. Mattresses are terrible. It was the topic of conversation at breakfast between complete strangers. When you stay at a hotel a good night sleep should be expected, here, it was not possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackerfanWi-Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WisDellsHiexGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Hello,
First off I just want to thank you for taking the time to report your issues. I'm glad you can see the positives that are happening at the hotel on a daily basis. Your issues have been documented and we are in the process of addressing them immediately. Next time you are in town please stop in and talk to me about your stay so that I can be sure you leave 100% satisfied as that is our goal with each and every one of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

One of the only 3 star (per hotwire) hotels in the dells where nearly everything is a motel. It was a little tricky to find as you have to drive down wi dells parkway until it looks like it will end and then track it back in the opposite direction. Within a 10 minute drive to all sites. The hotel was reasonably clean and has a strong chemical scent in the hallways. The indoor pool area was nice with a large hot tub, kiddie pool, and a third large pool with a water slide. Not outrageously clean; the chairs were dirty and I saw a few areas of rodent droppings near the edge of the backwall- not anything worse than you'd get with an outdoor pool. Small exercise and game room was nice. The free breakfast was well stocked even near the end of service and there were hot and cold options. The room was nice. My husband and I booked through hotwire and ended up in a handicap accessible king. Room and bathroom were nice sized, room had a chair, desk, nice tv, fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. Also, the toiletrys were fine. Room was clean, bed was ok-I was comfy but hubby was not. I liked the pillow selection. The bathroom door didn't click closed or lock, there was no screen on window and there was a hornet nest just above us so we couldn't open the window for fresh air.
Generally, this hotel was fine and it beats the abundance of what look like trashy motels. I wouldn't recommend or tell some one to avoid this hotel and if you can get a good deal it is an acceptable and cost effective choice for a quick trip.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEMkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#41 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dell...
#13 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Address: 1033 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Near Popular Attractions The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Wisconsin Dells is at the heart of the 'Waterpark Capital of the World.' Located off I-90 at Exit 92, this Wisconsin Dells hotel is less than a mile from major attractions like the Original Wisconsin Ducks, Noah's Ark Water Park and Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Nature lovers staying in our Wisconsin Dells hotel will have easy access to the unique natural beauty of the Dells of the Wisconsin River; our hotel is also four miles from Mirror Lake State Park and 16 miles from Devil's Lake State Park. For more fun indoors, there is a 24-hour shuttle to the nearby Ho-Chunk Casino. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near I-90/94 and I-39, keeping them connected to nearby cities. We're only four miles away from the businesses of historic downtown Wisconsin Dells, and our hotel is within 11 miles of companies such as Flambeau, Inc. and Seneca Foods. Lodging in our Wisconsin Dells hotel also allows you to utilize the services of our 24-hour Business Center. During your stay in our Wisconsin Dells hotel, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet access. We help you keep your usual routine by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, a Fitness Center and copy and print services in the Business Center. Book your reservation now for our hotel near Wisconsin Dells attractions and start planning your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing