We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”
Review of Birchcliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birchcliff Resort
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Only good thing is it's clean. The furniture is from the 60s, has a crappy tv, the appliances are from the stone age I think, also our sink was clogged so we couldn't use it. Also the rowdy neighbors screaming at each other was the icing on the cake. I will be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eyebrowqueen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sundogtn, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your stay was unpleasant. We were not aware of any maintenance issues and although we do not condone disruptive behavior, we cannot control how others will act. However, we are here to take care of any uncomfortable situation once we are made aware of it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

My boyfriend and I were here just for a weekend, and we found the resort to be quiet, cozy, and well taken care of. The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending things to do in the Dells. The location is wonderful; It is set back in the woods and away from the waterslides and theme parks, but the attractions are still nearby and easily accessible.

We really enjoyed the Chula Vista water park. It is truly a world-class water park, and we couldn't believe that admission was included with our stay!

If we were to return to the Dells, we would definitely stay here again. It was exactly what we were looking for -- a nice, quiet getaway from Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jptrpadvsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The grounds were well kept, The cabins were nicely furnished, clean and very confortable.Outdoor activities were available such as tennis court, ping pong table, hiking trails, and a very well kept swimming pool.
The location si close to the Wis Dells and easy to get to.
Over the years we have stayed at a number hotels/motels in the area and found Birchcliff reasonalby priced and better than any of the others.
Our overall experience was excellent and would recommend this Resort as the place to stay while visiting the Wis Dells.
.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I tell everyone about Birchcliff. My family and I have been going here for several years. Our annual trip in August is something that we look forward to all year. The wooded grounds are beautiful. The have been working hard since last year, new stairs in the pool, new fire pit and screen doors. So much to do while you are there ~ Volleyball, swimming, tennis, 2 ping pong tables, horseshoes, shuffleboard, game room, playground and a nightly campfire. The campfire is started every night by the owner. Plenty of wood for the fire ( you don't have to buy it). The cabin we stayed in was cabin 32. It is nicely decorated, very comfortable. We have stayed in the other duplex cabins all nicely decorated and comfortable. The owners are wonderful people, who obviously take a lot of pride in their resort. This place is just far enough away from all of the Dells attractions, you fell like you are not in the Dells. The grounds are filled with families and children playing. I couldn't imagine a summer without going to Birchcliff, we are definitely going back next year. If you like a big hotel with a water park, then this is not the place for you. If you like good family time, sounds of children laughing and maybe a good conversation by the campfire, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dandy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Our family has been going to Birchcliff for years, starting with our honeymoon. Now, our family is grown and married, but we always spend a weekend in September with all of us.
If you are looking for a place to stay that doesn't have a waterpark and all the noise and crowds that go with it, THIS IS THE PLACE.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheqchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 km away
Meadowbrook Resort
Meadowbrook Resort
#43 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
212 reviews
6.1 km away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
3.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiv...
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
179 reviews
5.2 km away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#32 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
91 reviews
5.7 km away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#11 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchcliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchcliff Resort

Address: 4149 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8903
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: €140 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchcliff Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wooded, cabin resort surrounded by State Forest. Peaceful, outdoor setting. Activities on-site include outdoor pool (open seasonally), basketball/tennis, ping pong, shuffleboard, horseshoes, hiking trail to beach along river, community campfire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Birchcliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing