We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
27
23
19
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
23
19
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds wildlife park mt olympus noah s ark hear loud room was clean olympus water park late at night off season main building front desk staff stayed one night minute drive nice stay free tickets indoor pool would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We meet extended family in the Dells for the weekend. We chose to stay here because they could accommodate a one night stay. Our usual place required a 2 night minimum.
We stayed in a room with two queen beds, bunk beds, and private bath in the hotel. The room had a refrigerator with a small top freezer. I also noticed that there was a washer and dryer on the first floor. Our group included 3 adults and 3 kids. The room was humongous and the kids loved the space.
We utilized the included Noah’s Ark water park passes for two days. The reception staff were kind and efficient. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank R5389KJlisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at American Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for letting our family take care of your family Lisa! We appreciate your kind feedback more than you'll ever know. We strive for top notch customer service as well as cleanliness. Please stay with us again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We booked 3 sites for a 4 day vacation back in February 2018, good price and from the website looked to be located in a good spot not far from attractions and nice clean camping site with full hook-up. Then we a month before our trip we had to move our reservations out only 1 week. We were charged an additional $20 a day due to the time of the year, even though we paid $60 deposit and were NOT canceling our trip just moved it one week. In addition were mislead on Noah's water pass tickets that they were included in the stay. When we arrived, the sites was in a parking lot with water hookup no grass except behind the site, there was only one fire pit for 3 sites and the grass wasn't cut so we couldn't enjoy the site. We also had to pay $10 a day for each water park pass, only to find we could have used it every day of our stay. In addition, we went to move a site in-front of the one we had which did not have septic, they charged us the same amount of money for either site. Each time we asked a question about what was available, we got different answers. Staff didn't seem to know what options we were to get. We made the best of the trip, but I would not recommend you pay for full hookup as those sites were not family kid friendly, not shade or grass or fire pit. If you just want to park and go and pay the same price as a hotel stay, then you'll be fine. We would not recommend this site for camping. Extra amenaties were not as they show, pool was a hot tub, play area was just a basketball court and a set of swings.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfinneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at American Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for booking with us! We are sorry to hear your stay in our Campground was anything but wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Never been to this area before and booked online. The photos on their website are misleading and don’t show the horrible conditions of their RV sites. Power to RV was put in on the end of each site (which are NOT pull thru) which is fine if you are a Motorhome for every other site. All utilities except sewer had to be drug under the RV to the source. Then the sewer lines were added later because they would obviously NOT work in the original set up. There are people walking thru your sites night and day. Blacktop sites are a converted parking lot that is in need of repair. The campers/RV next to us all stated that they were also 1st timers and would never stay here again. No security, no privacy, no one in charge or who knows how RV sites work. Paid $377 for 5 people in our party for 4 nights. It did include passes to the animal park which is the only positive I can add. Photos were before neighbors miv d and n next door. Our sewer was basically in their site (so they got to look at it for breakfast - and the neighbor on our side was the same!)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank AnnetteS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at American Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you for staying with us Annette in our campground. We are sorry to hear your stay was anything but wonderful :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We stayed in the 6 person Cabin. It was much better appointed than we were expecting. The Cabin had 2 Queen beds plus a bunk bed. It included all bed linens, pillows and a few small towels. Plus there was a TV, small microwave, fridge and an air conditioner. The fridge and A/C were turned on prior to our arrival and the room was clean. The Cabin was nicer than we expected.

What was difficult were the rest of the camping accommodations. We had a small fire ring (no grate) and a picnic table that we shared with another unit. The units were very close to each other. We noticed the neighboring tree houses were set a little further apart, and they all had cooking grates on their fire rings. We managed with our less than adequate camp ring, but since we cooked all of our meals it was disappointing. The communal restrooms and showers were clean enough but crowded. It was nice to be able to use the hotel’s indoor pool, but be sure to bring your own towels to the pool area.

Our package included tickets to Noah’s Ark water park and the Timbavati Wildlife Park, so for a family of 6, it was an excellent value for the price. The housekeeping staff were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank libbyjeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at American Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for letting our family take care of your family! We are glad you enjoyed your Campground stay with us :) We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

If you Google this hotel, it clearly says " a 2 stars hotel" so don't expect too much of it.
Pros: Noah's Ark passes, close to most, better attractions.
Cons: Carpet in hall and rooms are very old, they probably haven't been change in a long time, price goes up $100 If you stay from Fri to Sat compare to staying M-T, probably even more for the weekend, pillows are too soft (maybe old) they should buy some firm or extra firm pillows"

For my family of 4 room wasn't bad, two queen beds, mini fridge, microwave and a sort of a table. They also give you Timbalati passes, I gave it a try but I didn't like it, only thing I like it was that you are able to feed the giraffe with carrots that they sell there. Camel ride would be fun too but $8 per person to ride (too much). American resort hotel should offer something else besides Timbalati and let people choose Noah's Ark and between Timbalati and another attraction, because I understand little kids love petting farm and animals just like my little 3 years old son.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at American Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for letting our family take care of your family! We appreciate your kind feedback & look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews