We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish fry”
Review of The Braising Pan

The Braising Pan
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in West Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for the Friday fish fry. I had the smelt and my wife had the perch. It was very good. I also had the spaetzle and the red cabbage. All were very good.

Others in our party had some of the German items, burgers and salads.

The service was pretty good except that our server kept getting our orders mixed up. Just giving them to the wrong person.

They had a bus boy who kept our water glasses full, and asked several times whether we had any dishes he could take away. Outstanding!

They don’t have a lot of tables so get a reservation. They have a small beer selection, but are known for their bloody Mary’s and old fashions.

Thank AndyB5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Owner at The Braising Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! I hope your next visit is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with, AndyB5542.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Ordered the cheesy-beer sirloin for $21. First of all, sirloin for over $20? When it arrived, it was clear by the consistency of that cheese sauce product that that wasn't real Wisconsin cheese. It had the appearance of Velveeta. There are delcious melting cheeses that one could use but this one had the appearance of a processed product. The waitress assured me that it wasn't Velveeta; perhaps not, but it likely came out of a jar. Staff was friendly but it wasn't worth the drive to West Bend from MKE.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Serratus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Owner at The Braising Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback, Serratus8. I am very sorry to hear that your food quality was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We very much enjoyed our first visit to The Braising Pan after a visit to the Museum of Wisconsin Art in West Bend.

We arrived around 11:30 am and were given the choice of the Breakfast or Lunch menu - we chose Lunch.

We each had a cup of soup (Chicken Curry and Loaded Baked Potato). Both soups were outstanding, not salty, with great flavor.

Our sandwiches were Braunschweiger on grilled pumpernickel and Pork Schnitzel on a toasted bun. The sandwiches were equally outstanding and we appreciated being able to order the sandwiches with a choice of soup as our side. Other choices with sandwiches are fries or coleslaw.

Service was great and our waitress was friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

We visit West Bend from time to time and look forward to visiting again. I would return for the Chicken Curry soup alone!

Thanks for a wonderful lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terri53226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Owner at The Braising Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. Have a great day, Terri53226!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a non franchised, locally owned restaurant with a great reputation. Good food, wonderful wait staff and a friendly atmosphere. Near Regner Park so it's a perfect way to start the day at the park.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tfredrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Great chicken wings, have wing special on Thursday nights, lots of different sauces to pick from. always have good service, get there early, they only sell so many until they are gone on special night. Con = not enough places to sit, not a place to take kids.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 945tracih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Braising Pan also viewed

 

Been to The Braising Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing