We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Jefferson Street Inn was a nice hotel. It has everything you would expect (pool, fitness center, restaurant, etc...) The real treat, however is the location of the hotel. We booked the JSI for a ski trip to nearby Granite Peak. It is a bit of a drive from the mountain, which was an initial concern for someone who likes to stay right on resort property whenever possible. Unfortunately Granite Peak doesn't really have an on-site hotel so we booked this hotel. I'm glad we did. Not only does the inn offer free on-call shuttle service to and from the mountain, it was walking distance to the majority of Wausau's non-skiing entertainment. It was never more than a 5 minute walk to the restaurants or bars, which is important if you want nightlife because there was virtually none near the mountain. The rooms are clean and the price is reasonable which are important, but if you want to have something to do once you get done skiing there is no better place to stay in Wausau.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BullyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    247
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
250
246
29
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Jefferson Street Inn just last weekend, we were in town to do some skiing at Granite Peak. The hotel was only a 10 minute drive from the hill and we specifically picked the hotel for its downtown location (we loved being able to walk to dinner, breakfast, the bars and shops).

The parking situation at Jefferson Street Inn is a little odd, they have a very small parking lot right outside the hotel as well as a parking garage across the street. We got a tag to hang in our car, which I wasn't sure if that gave us access to that closer lot but we parked there the first night without any problems. The second night it was full so we used the parking garage, which wasn't that big of a deal. I did have to run out to the car later in the evening to grab something, and being a girl you just never know, so I was slightly uncomfortable with that but it was fine. Our room was very nice, clean, roomy and updated. The guest's review below is right about the fans in the rooms blowing out air constantly- the rooms were actually a little warm, despite the air vent blowing out pretty cold air. It was a little odd. Also, the shower head sprayed water out WAY too hard- it almost hurt to turn your body towards it and wash your face! The pool area was pretty nice, I was expecting something a little bigger considering the hotel's 4 star status- but it worked. They had a hot tub area as well, which was fantastic after a day of being on the slopes. We wanted to use the Sauna as well, but it seemed to be broken since it wasnt heating up.

We didn't eat at the City Grille (seemed really pricey) but there are lots of great local restaurants as alernatives (Red Eye Brewery and Mint Cafe!). All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I came back up to ski- the location alone made it worth it.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow (and there is only one), so maybe opt for a lower floored room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We usually book the JSI for business trips to Wausau, sometimes for family events. Always nice, clean rooms. Forget controlling the room temps, however, the loud fan blasts air out regardless of how you might stack towels, books or a chair on it to stop it. Breakfast is puzzling: no bread. Why is that?? Not everyone enjoys gumming tough chewy bagels. Otherwise it is adequate. If you need to use the hotel computer, everyone who sits in the area behind you or strolls by is free to look at your emails, bank accounts and other information. It's a huge, bright screen - and in the winter, you will freeze your buns off in that lobby. The lack of parking is the number one reason we might not be able to continue to use the JSI - if you are lucky enough to get a pass to the lot out front, good for you. However, they seem to think walking across the busy street to the parking ramp at night and hauling your luggage is no big deal. For women who travel alone, like me, this is going to be a deal breaker. I do not know what they can do about that-they charge $3.00 no matter where you end up, but they're really hemmed in as far as any expansion goes. Restaurant is fair - pricey for what you get. However, there's a pretty good and fast Asian restaurant across the street. Still, it's a pretty hotel, friendly service and safe. Convenient to meetings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Your breakfast comments regarding the lack of bread, will be share with the chef, they do a variety of different bread type options I will ask him to consider adding to the choices. I understand that parking can be frustrating with being a downtown location we work the city of Wausau to provide parking for our guests. I am sorry that we did not explain that we have a skywalk that connects from the parking ramp directly to the hotel which is heated for the guest access right into the hotel which can be access from any level of the parking ramp, this was designed for guest safety and protection from the weather. I hope you will consider coming back to the Jefferson Street Inn on your next visit to Wausau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Service, clean and comfortable! I travel for a living and gave up my point to stay where I was treated like family! Worth every penny,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at tre Jefferson Street Inn for a week while visiting Wausau. Our family had two rooms, one of them a suite to accommodate the needs of a new baby. The suite (room 453) was great and had everything we needed to prepare baby's bottles as well as our own meals. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The rooms are spacious, with the only drawback being a fiberglass shower enclosure with a shower curtain. There is a small workout room with new equipment, a swimming pool and sauna. The restaurant in the hotel was popular with locals but it was just so so. All in all from staff, to cleanliness, to towel generosity the big chain hotels would do well to send their managers to this fine, independent establishment for lessons in how to run a first class property.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveitaly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.0 km away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 km away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#6 of 10 in Wausau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Property: Jefferson Street Inn
Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing