We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in the lodge for 3 nights when attending a family wedding at Heartwood. The staff members at the facility were first rate. The employees in the lodge, bar and housekeeping were excellent, Jennifer, the coordinator for the wedding and reception was top notch. The accommodations were comfortable and the amenities in the room are good. The microwave and mini refrigerator in the room were handy over the weekend. Fortunately, members of our family had a cottage with a kitchen where meals could be prepared since the restaurant on site is only open on a limited basis.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Heartwood, we were truly privileged to host the wedding and your family. We will share your kind words with the hard-working team that enjoys making your stay comfortable and memorable. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our family stayed at Heartwood in order to canoe the Namakagon one fall weekend when the colors were out. Our duplex was comfortable, attractive and clean, and we enjoyed the firing and free firewood. The only flaw was the very slow kitchen at the Pine Lodge restaurant where we ate dinners. I understand that after Labor Day staff is reduced, but next time I visit in the fall I will cook dinner myself.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaplePine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for choosing Heartwood for your fall getaway, what a great time of year in the Northwoods! The Namekagon River is truly one of the crown jewels of the region, hard to find a waterway with more naturally pristine beauty. Our apologies for the slow dinner service, we will address your concerns with our team to ensure that isn't repeated. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Wilderness get away. The staff was wonderful the accommodations were great and the wedding event was excellent . My intentions are to plan a golf outing with four couples to stay in one of the cabins that sleep 14 so there's plenty a room for eight people to sleep and the kitchen is large

Room Tip: Bring your own towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for visiting our amazing venue in the heart of the Northwoods, and your kind words. We will look forward to hosting you during your golf outing as well -- would be a great plan for this amazing autumn weather and the start of the beautiful color in the region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We reserved a duplex cabin, a lake cottage, and a number of lodge rooms. The duplex cabin had a stove, refrigerator, sink and 4 rooms (3 of which had two bunk beds sleeping 4). This served as the evening meal center and our extended family enjoyed milling around both inside and outside. A bit smaller than we expected but served the purpose. The lodge rooms were quite a bit more spacious and some of us had a 2 burner cooktop as well as microwave and fridge. The lodge units are in 3 buildings, each of which have an exercise center and a gathering space with fireplace, tables and games, and sofas and chairs. It was our go to spot for one rainy evening and for those who wished to stay up late reminiscing. The cottage also had full kitchen. On Saturday the Activity center servers up Enormous burgers, chips and soda for $6. What a deal! (As well as huge brats and dogs for $4 and $3.) They were so very accommodating getting our group out to canoe the Namekagon River - and picking us up. The beach are of their private lake had canoes, kayaks, a water trampoline - great entertainment. Also a hot tub available near lodge rooms. The grounds are immaculate. While we did not experience mosquitoes, there were some bothersome gnats on the outdoor golf course (27 holes!) On Sunday, the onsite Pine Lodge restaurant served a magnificent breakfast buffet. This is a beautiful facility, peaceful, with lots of outdoor activities. Our entire family of 41 had a wonderful time all the way down to the toddlers.

Room Tip: Golden Eagle Lodge, lower level best access to hot tub. Close to lake & Activity Ctr. Bring goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tonnatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while at Heartwood, we are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed the accommodations, grounds, amenities and recreation. We hope to see you back for a winter getaway for the family to enjoy the tubing sled hill, cross country ski trails, skating rink, and maybe even wet a line ice fishing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The positives: lots of activities (when it's not raining), very secluded area, saw a lot of wild life, great fire places in main building, great pillows, bed was comfortable, fridge and micro in room
The negatives: our room was not serviced - when I called, was told we had to come to the main building to get towel and other items replenished. Still not sure why our room was skipped. Our building didn't have a common area. We went to the next building so we wouldn't disturb the maid (who we thought was going to clean the room as she was 2 doors down when we left). We could hear the TV and talking from the other rooms. Bedspreads and carpeting are old/not of good quality...could use some updating. The person at the front desk upon arrival and departure was not friendly at all...did not greet us, did not ask how our stay was. I felt like we were interrupting her computer time. It rained the whole time we were there. There is a long dirt road into the facility that wasn't the best to travel on in the rain.

Room Tip: If you want a common area, ask about the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we were happy to host your getaway and glad to hear you had a comfortable bed and a true getaway from the everyday. Our apologies that your room was missed on our housekeeping rotation, our ratings for cleanliness are among the highest in the industry, so we are indeed sad to hear you weren't pleased. Our rooms were completely redone 8 years ago and have been cared for by a wonderful team of dedicated employees, but we appreciate your comments and will check that room to determine if there is an out-of-the-ordinary issue. We hope you are able to return to the property on a less rainy weekend to enjoy an escape once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
40.2 km away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
24.1 km away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
39 km away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
AmeriVu Inn and Suites
#14 of 15 in Hayward
75 reviews
39.5 km away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
32.9 km away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Address: N10884 Hoinville Rd, Trego, WI 54888-9161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Price Range: €51 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing