We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
90
38
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
38
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main lodge lots of hiking trails float trip cutting board burner cooktop closest town small lake lodge rooms pine restaurant grounds are immaculate family reunion lake cottage on site restaurant northern wi north woods beautiful facility hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our family stayed at Heartwood in order to canoe the Namakagon one fall weekend when the colors were out. Our duplex was comfortable, attractive and clean, and we enjoyed the firing and free firewood. The only flaw was the very slow kitchen at the Pine Lodge restaurant where we ate dinners. I understand that after Labor Day staff is reduced, but next time I visit in the fall I will cook dinner myself.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaplePine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for choosing Heartwood for your fall getaway, what a great time of year in the Northwoods! The Namekagon River is truly one of the crown jewels of the region, hard to find a waterway with more naturally pristine beauty. Our apologies for the slow dinner service, we will address your concerns with our team to ensure that isn't repeated. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Wilderness get away. The staff was wonderful the accommodations were great and the wedding event was excellent . My intentions are to plan a golf outing with four couples to stay in one of the cabins that sleep 14 so there's plenty a room for eight people to sleep and the kitchen is large

Room Tip: Bring your own towels
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 163larryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for visiting our amazing venue in the heart of the Northwoods, and your kind words. We will look forward to hosting you during your golf outing as well -- would be a great plan for this amazing autumn weather and the start of the beautiful color in the region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We reserved a duplex cabin, a lake cottage, and a number of lodge rooms. The duplex cabin had a stove, refrigerator, sink and 4 rooms (3 of which had two bunk beds sleeping 4). This served as the evening meal center and our extended family enjoyed milling around both inside and outside. A bit smaller than we expected but served the purpose. The lodge rooms were quite a bit more spacious and some of us had a 2 burner cooktop as well as microwave and fridge. The lodge units are in 3 buildings, each of which have an exercise center and a gathering space with fireplace, tables and games, and sofas and chairs. It was our go to spot for one rainy evening and for those who wished to stay up late reminiscing. The cottage also had full kitchen. On Saturday the Activity center servers up Enormous burgers, chips and soda for $6. What a deal! (As well as huge brats and dogs for $4 and $3.) They were so very accommodating getting our group out to canoe the Namekagon River - and picking us up. The beach are of their private lake had canoes, kayaks, a water trampoline - great entertainment. Also a hot tub available near lodge rooms. The grounds are immaculate. While we did not experience mosquitoes, there were some bothersome gnats on the outdoor golf course (27 holes!) On Sunday, the onsite Pine Lodge restaurant served a magnificent breakfast buffet. This is a beautiful facility, peaceful, with lots of outdoor activities. Our entire family of 41 had a wonderful time all the way down to the toddlers.

Room Tip: Golden Eagle Lodge, lower level best access to hot tub. Close to lake & Activity Ctr. Bring good flashlights
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tonnatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while at Heartwood, we are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed the accommodations, grounds, amenities and recreation. We hope to see you back for a winter getaway for the family to enjoy the tubing sled hill, cross country ski trails, skating rink, and maybe even wet a line ice fishing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The positives: lots of activities (when it's not raining), very secluded area, saw a lot of wild life, great fire places in main building, great pillows, bed was comfortable, fridge and micro in room
The negatives: our room was not serviced - when I called, was told we had to come to the main building to get towel and other items replenished. Still not sure why our room was skipped. Our building didn't have a common area. We went to the next building so we wouldn't disturb the maid (who we thought was going to clean the room as she was 2 doors down when we left). We could hear the TV and talking from the other rooms. Bedspreads and carpeting are old/not of good quality...could use some updating. The person at the front desk upon arrival and departure was not friendly at all...did not greet us, did not ask how our stay was. I felt like we were interrupting her computer time. It rained the whole time we were there. There is a long dirt road into the facility that wasn't the best to travel on in the rain.

Room Tip: If you want a common area, ask about the building.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we were happy to host your getaway and glad to hear you had a comfortable bed and a true getaway from the everyday. Our apologies that your room was missed on our housekeeping rotation, our ratings for cleanliness are among the highest in the industry, so we are indeed sad to hear you weren't pleased. Our rooms were completely redone 8 years ago and have been cared for by a wonderful team of dedicated employees, but we appreciate your comments and will check that room to determine if there is an out-of-the-ordinary issue. We hope you are able to return to the property on a less rainy weekend to enjoy an escape once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Great place, really enjoyed kayaking down the river and the seclusion of the place. The resort is very well kept up and we really enjoyed the facilities. Mosquitoes were bad at night, but welcome to northern Wisconsin!! We will definiately come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank loriweinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Director of Sales at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews