We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Very Nice Room”

Super 8 Superior WI
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Superior WI
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Superior
Certificate of Excellence
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value, Very Nice Room”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We came to Superior for a wedding. Since I had a very goo experience at the Super 8 in Waukesha, Wi, I decided to try the Super 8 in Superior, wi. I am very pleased. Our room was very clean and they even provided a roll-away since there were 3 adults. We have a king Suite with a sofa sleeper, bur the roll-away was a nice touch.
The room is quiet and the staff is very friendly and professional. The parking lot does need some attention :) Several potholes, but we arrived early and have great parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    94
    66
    11
    4
See reviews for
74
81
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times, Super 8's aren't luxury hotels, but it's a clean comfortable place to stay on a budget. The staff is friendly, it's within walking distance of 3 restaurants, 2 are right in it's parking lot. We find it a great place to stay when we go up north to spend time at the Wisconsin Point Beaches. The rooms have a refrigerator which is great, we had a King room which also had a microwave, so it makes for economical travel when you can store and heat food in your room. There is no pool at this location, but that's what Lake Superior being so close if for! Really the only bad thing is it's right next to a truck stop/gas station and if you get a room on that side, it can be a little noisy if you are trying to sleep in, but put the AC on high and you'll sleep like a baby!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerngirlnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was the closest one to downtown Duluth that was affordable & let you stay just the one night. The rate after taxes was $110, approximately. The website stated that they have Wireless Internet (High Speed), which they didn't when we checked in. The Guest Information Book doesn't state anything about Breakfast or the Internet either.

The room was clean, but we didn't have enough Shampoo or Soap, considering there were 2 beds in the room, but only one soap & one Shampoo. The Coffee Maker had water in the back of the pot, I guess they wanted to save us a step in making it...haha.

The location was okay, even though Superior is a very dingy looking town. The shower head in the bathroom is very low, thankfully we are on the shorter side. There was not a pool or any type of leisure activity inside the hotel. There was a vending machine that had expired items in it, the staff at check in was not friendly at all and we were not told of anything the hotel offered.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay here...at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelJunkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Avg Rating: 71% avg!!

This hotel was okay. It is located in a great area with a gas station next door and it's in driving distance to beautiful Duluth/Superior. The maids did their job very well and the cleaning was great checking in. Also, the check-in lady was much older, but still had a great personality and was very personable. Here are the problems though; the lobby/hallways smell like cigarettes, the Air Conditioner doesn't work, parking is really bad considering there aren't many spaces, the room keys don't work unless you move them slow, Isn't quite worth the $130/night. If you can, try to avoid this hotel and stay at the Edgewater Resort and Waterpark in Duluth or The Inn on Lake Superior. Goodluck!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nryan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were not able to sleep. There is a railroad switchyard across the street, a semi truck scales in the parking lot, and a gas station/truck stop/truck parking next door. There was noise all night. This may be fine for a trucker looking to catch 40 winks, but not for the traveler looking for a pleasant experience and good night's sleep. A very bad location. The ladies running the place did a nice job with the room maintenance and breakfast. Internet computer was ancient and excruciatingly slow. We booked online sight-unseen and paid around $80; way too much for this kind of place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilburrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
9.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Hotel
6.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
6.2 km away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Superior
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#12 of 33 in Duluth
337 reviews
12.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
454 reviews
18.1 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Superior WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Superior WI

Property: Super 8 Superior WI
Address: 4901 E 2nd St, Hwy 2 & 53 East, Superior, WI 54880-4303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Superior WI 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Superior WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Superior
Super Eight Superior
Superior Super 8
Superior Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing