We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful weekend away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Full Sutton, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful weekend away”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a quality barn conversion, we really liked the layout, it was quirky and it had plenty of natural light. It is in very peaceful surroundings - sitting out on the patio in the morning with a coffee, the countryside views, and the sound of birds tweeting was just idyllic.

The kitchen was very well equipped and there were a few food basics, and cleaning products provided. Towels weren't provided but we weren't fussed about bringing our own. The upstairs en-suites had large walk in showers which was lovely and there was plenty of hot water. A shower over the bath downstairs would be a bonus. We all slept comfortably, our only complaint would be that a couple of the pillowcases were a bit worn.

Overall, a good base for exploring York and the surroundings. For us, as a family, it worked out much cheaper than staying in York itself and it felt like a home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilski99
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, good location, shame about the 7.30 alarm!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is a cracking cottage, an excellent barn conversion with all the amenities you could ask for. Each bedroom has its own bathroom, although the downstairs bathroom does not have a shower, so you need to borrow a different bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped, with great sized fridge freezer, washing machine that has a 30min quick wash and a separate dryer. The cottage has a good boiler with great pressure, so is warm and the showers will leave you happy!
We were an extended family of 6, over three generations, and we all liked it.
The location is outside of Stamford Bridge, just a 2 mile drive or 20min walk, although the local speed along the road, so not so sure about the walking. The coop is open 6am-10pm every day, so easy to grab any essentials. (We ordered an Asda delivery before we left and got it delivered the evening we arrived, without any issues).
There is no wifi in the property, so gear yourself up before you go (or have a proper holiday!)
Our only concern that let our holiday down was the neighbours dogs - they are put into a run infront of this property every morning around 7.30am, and the poor springer then spends the next 20mins or so barking repeatedly. Was a great reliable alarm, if you wanted one! The dogs themselves are lovely and friendly, and appear allowed to wander around at night once the neighbours let them out the run.
Overall, a really nice cottage, in a good location for accessing York and beyond, but will debate returning due to the alarm call...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Really cosy cottage
Liked least: Neighbours dogs / lack of wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnleygu...
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wow what gem!!! The owners welcomed us on arrival and made us feel so welcome and gave us tips on where to eat out etc.

The cart shed is spacious,well apponted and full of character,lovely views over open yorkshire countryside and so very quiet too.

Great fitted kitchen,everything you would want,wonderfull hot showers and comfy beds,what more could you want!!

Close to some great attractions,park and ride for york up the road and some wonderfull pubs in the area for superb food,try the Golden cup at caton and the 3 cups in stamford bridge.

We will certainly be back in the future,Thankyou once again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for sharing this lovely review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at The Cart Shed. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand and found plenty to do in the area! We will be sure to pass on to the owners that their tips on the area were greatly appreciated! We certainly hope that you return for another holiday again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00Gracie0...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Phoned the day before to arrange key collection. The owner was very friendly and accommodating.

The cottage was fabulous, a lovely, well thought out conversion, with an en suite to each bedroom and equipped with everything that could be needed. It was extremely clean. The enclosed courtyard was handy for the dogs but also a really good sized grassed garden with direct access to the cottage. It was centrally heated heated with good insulation, so very warm too.

We were three generations, and the cottage was great for all of us. We wanted somewhere just outside York, so we could visit the city during the day. Stamford Bridge (about 2 miles from the cottage, had a co-op (that we used), fish and chip shop, a couple of pubs and more amenities (which we didn't use) that were all very handy. The Yorkshire Wolds Trail about 8 miles to the east (just over the hill you can see from the dining room window) was a good walk, you can park at the picnic area and then cross the A166.

The Cart Shed is even better than the pics. Warm, well equipped and clean with really nice owners, lovely views and a great layout., i would love to stay again and for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
We are so pleased that The Cart Shed exceeded your expectations and that the property suited you so well, especially with three generations to please! We hope to see you again soon, and we would love to have you for longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing