We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT handicap accessible/ NOT a good use of funds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Acres Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Booked a cabin for the entire week for 10 ppl (aged 1-70, with a quadriplegic). Booked their largest cabin to accommodate our big family and because it was "handicap accessible". We know that phrase is often abused so we inquired about specific needs we had like a ramp, wide doorways, accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, etc. We were told the cabin had all of those things, WE WERE WRONG.
The ramp to enter the cabin was so steep we had to go down it backwards to keep control of the wheelchair. It was what I would refer to as "step steep made into a ramp". I would say it was an 8ft long ramp for a 4.5 ft height change. The "roll-in shower" was maybe 30 inches wide and had a 5 inch step to get into it. No wheelchair would get into the shower. We use a lift for our individual and had to make a make-shift ramp system in order to even get the person into the shower enough to have reach with the shower wand. Luckily we had some of our own portable ramps with us. The other bathrooms in the cabin were tubs with glass sliding doors, not an option. We were told it was a 1-2 inch lip to the shower, boy were they wrong. When we told them of our issue, they had no solution to even offer.
Cabin itself had many problems. The furniture in the family room area was BROKEN. When you sat down it caved in on the backside making it near impossible to use. We had to stuff pillows in it to be able to sit without getting back aches. We asked them for replacement furniture and they said they had some but never brought it. Maybe the next guests will get to enjoy the replaced furniture, maybe not. If you get there and the green plaid furniture is in there, don't sit down, its broken.
The cabin had a terrible ANT problem which we told the front office about, it was not addressed at all. Garbage disposal worked on and off the whole week, had to have maintenance fix it at one point. Fridge leaked all over floor everyday. Had to clean up water mess daily. Shower ceiling & corners were covered in black mold/mildew in the master.
Many of the windows were opened by cracks where mosquitos would come in and eat you alive. The mosquitos are unbelievable populated. Not even bug spray helped. Especially with windows opened by cracks letting them inside.
Exterior doors that wouldn't open due to warping and twisting. Pretty sure that's a safety hazard in the event of an emergency.
Water front area that went with the cabin was overgrown in weeds and water vegetation. Other docks were obviously being treated but not this one.
Rented a pontoon boat for 4 hours, crazy expensive. Boat was moldy, and sticky from sun rot.
All in all our family invested over $5,000 in this week long adventure and all we have to show for it is a couple hundred mosquito bites and a lot of frustration.

Room Tip: Not handicap accessible
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacque G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Jacque G.,
I can only say thank you for your review. Your suggestions are appreciated and although you did not enjoy your stay, there are always things that we can learn and improve, and we will use your review as an improvement guide.
Sincerely,
Kari Z.
P.S. We do not promote this as a handicapped unit. The ramp is 18' long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Acres Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Their are cottages on the premise. We go there to eat. 3 of us had steak and for the price they charge should be prime. Choice at best. Does have nice ambience. Server was new and did a good job for first day. He did leave dirty plates in front of us which the other waitress cleared the table. They were not super busy. Later the manager asked me how the server did and I told her about the plates and her comment was we cover that in training and the server was busy. We were his only table. Manager should have accepted my comment with a thank you and say I will address with server. Was not impressed by manager.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey8380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Harvey8380,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate the reminder from you about not trying to make excuses, and just saying we appreciate the feedback, which we do! You are absolutely correct that my response to you was not appropriate, and I have received and accepted your correction. Thank you again for coming to the Three Coins Restaurant, and I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again.
Sincerely,
Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Spent a night there on a trip to the Rhinelander area with my wife. Every member of the staff was exceptionally nice and polite. The check-in was a breeze and the resort is well maintained, clean, and quiet. We had a king bed on the first floor and woke up to a beautiful batch of fresh snow looking out at the lake. The rooms are nicely appointed and we slept peacefully. We did not eat at the resort but we did stop to have a beer in the restaurant's bar. It was very nice and this truly is a classic northwoods WI resort. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Dave F,

Your very nice review is appreciated so very much. Our staff works hard and is conscientious. It is great to be able to share your good words with them. It keeps us all inspired! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

My Husband's work has brought us to Holiday Acres a few times for work related training. While my husband was gone the girls and I stayed behind at the hotel and enjoyed the pool. We were treated like royalty. They served us lunch even though the diner was closed and made us feel like we were at home. We love this place and will recommended it and return as often as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Beth S,

Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review. Holiday Acres has a conscientious and hard working staff, and your kind words are what keep us all inspired. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Kari Zambon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We just returned from a four day stay at Holiday Acres and we had a wonderful time.
We were in a one bedroom cottage in the woods. The cottage had a gas fireplace, a well equipped kitchen, comfy bed and cable TV. All the comforts of home. We enjoyed eating at the resorts' Three Coins restaurant, especially in the morning when Kim, the owner of the resort, was making our delicious breakfast. They also have a great bar and indoor pool. There are seemingly miles of trails in and near the resort. While we were there several snow mobile riders either stayed over night or stopped for a meal. Can't wait to visit during the summer months.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lumberjacks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear lumberjacks2017,

Your very nice review means so very much to all of us at Holiday Acres. I will be sure to tell Kim that you 'specially enjoyed having him make your breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Kari Z. (Kim's wife)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
8.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
4.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
51 reviews
8.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 8 in Rhinelander
44 reviews
6.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
36.5 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Address: 4060 S Shore Dr, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range: €76 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing