We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake and woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Acres Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The staff is wonderful! Very nice, helpful people.

Nice cabin...very clean. Very nice restaurant and coffee shop on site. You don't have to drive into town for meals. Activities available for those who want to be active. The onsite gift shop is outstanding. Worth coming to even if you are not staying on property. We are planning a return trip next August. We loved it.

And...beautiful lake, beach and woods to enjoy.

Room Tip: The website rooms are very accurate. We had a cabin and it is rustic but comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shark182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear shark182,
Your excellent review is appreciated more than you can imagine. Sharing it with our staff is one of the things that keeps us all happy and feeling good about what we do.

We are delighted to hear that we will be seeing you again in August of 2017. Have a great year and thank you again for coming to Holiday Acres Resort!

Sincerely,
Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Acres Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Had a very nice time and our latest stay at Holiday Acres Resort in one of the cabins. We had no issues making the reservations by phone. We were were not able to start our "week" until until Sunday and wouldn't be there for the full 7 nights, we offered the better weekly rate as opposed to the nightly rate which was very much appreciated. The pictures on the web site of the cabins and resort and very accurate and represented the current operation quite well. There were several events scheduled throughout the week for children and adults such as boat ride and lunch on one of the islands on the lake, trail ride/wagon ride for a cowboy breakfast and a meet and greet cookout.
This was our second stay at Holiday Acre Resort, the first was about a year ago and we stayed in the hotel area for one night, most recent was a 6 night stay in a cabin. During both visits It became quite evident that Holiday Acres Resort is an active community partners through out the year, hosting business/civic organization meetings in theIr conference room to hosting weddings and local triathlon event on the resort grounds.
We will be planning to return again in 2017 for another week and hopefully more of our family can join us.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank donnyvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear donnyvee,

Your great review of your visits to Holiday Acres is appreciated so much. All of us work hard to offer our guests a wonderful time. Your good words are what fuel our enthusiasm and are what we live for. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I loved Holiday Acres and it was the best place to have my wedding!!! Everyone was there to help me and make sure it was great from the receptionists to the maintenance crew to even the owners, everyone came out to make sure it was perfect! I would have given Holiday Acres a 5 but we had a bad experience with one of the bartenders Gabriel. She was rude to me and my guests during my reception. I would not recommend her ever bartending any functions. However, once I mentioned something to another worker who was working so hard to help out any way she could, everything changed. Gabriel's attitude to my guests completely changed which I truly appreciated. This should not detour you from this resort. I highly recommend Holiday Acres for anyone's upcoming wedding!!! Please see Kileigh and Gladys because they were amazing!!!! Thank you!!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kelsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Kelsey K,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding! Our staff cares a lot about pleasing our guests and your good words have been shared with them. Thank you for celebrating your very special days with us. It is an honor that we do not take lightly.

Sincerely,
Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

As first time visitors we were excited to stay at HA. We're book a 2b cabin for a five member family. On the positive side we found the surroundings great with lots to do for the kids. The beach was great and the hodag hunt also. The kids fished a lot and caught small fish. We enjoyed the bar, the cookout with music and getting a latte in the coffee shop on mornings. Had a motor put on the boat since we wanted to sail to Hodag island for camping. Went riding at nearby stables which was a great experience for the kids. Staff was always friendly and helpful.

What we missed was a clean cabin. Tub was filthy, clogged with hair. Carpet stained and dirty, bed sheets stained with holes and outdated. Fan didn't work when we needed it one evening. Considering the price of the cabin you would expect more.
We enjoyed the pool all though it wasn't clean and had several lightbulbs that needed to be changed. Didn't see any staff members vacuum the pool once even though it was pretty full of sand. Wifi didn't work unless you were in the restaurant (which seems odd considering the free advertising you get when people check in and upload pics to social media)

Overall a great location but a place that needs a serious update.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Henriette Bjerr... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

So glad to hear that your family enjoyed the resort and the activities. Thank you for letting us know that the cottage you stayed in needed maintenance and deep cleaning. Our housekeeper does rounds on Sunday mornings in the summertime to check on cleanliness and things that are needed. Unfortunately, she must not have spoken with you. My sincere apologies that the cottage was not up to our standards or yours. We do appreciate your taking the time to let us know about it. Best regards, Kari Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Another summer and another unforgettable trip to Holiday Acres. What a privilege to escape from the fast pace world and search for pinecones and wildlife with your kids. Our cabin was spotless and equipped with everything we could need and more. All nine of us fit very comfortably in our three bedroom and the rowboat included with our cabin was put to great use! The grounds are breathtaking and safe, letting our kids just enjoy being outdoors. Speaking of safe, the lake is the perfect depth for kiddos and NO WEEDS!!! Yippee!! The staff goes above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome and we loved doing the scavenger hunt, and the hodag hunt is an absolute must! Our kids were exhausted and full of fresh air and we will always be anxiously awaiting our next journey to the north.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindsey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you so much, Lindsey34, for your five star review. Our family and the crew work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy themselves and the description of your stay put smiles on our faces. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
8.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
4.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
51 reviews
8.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 8 in Rhinelander
44 reviews
6.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
36.5 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Address: 4060 S Shore Dr, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range: €76 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing