We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It;s always open in the airport and worth 15 minutes of your time”

Mitchell Gallery of Flight
Ranked #29 of 153 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are a non-profit aviation museum located inside Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Stopped in, spent 20 minutes perusing aircraft models, information on Mitchell, Lovell and others, as well as getting an insight of how the airport has grown since the 40's. And it is free!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank barrym765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"aviation history"
in 10 reviews
"small museum"
in 7 reviews
"milwaukee airport"
in 6 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 3 reviews
"air force"
in 2 reviews
"main terminal"
in 2 reviews
"local flight"
in 2 reviews
"museum is free"
in 2 reviews
"learn something"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"gen"
in 7 reviews
"powell"
in 7 reviews
"astronaut"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 10 reviews
"aerospace"
in 3 reviews
"pioneers"
in 3 reviews
"pilot"
in 5 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018

Great displays about the life of Gen. Billy Mitchell. Not from the area, we spent nearly an hour learning the history behind this man. Even our 8 year old was intrigued and will follow up with a book of his own.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank AbMb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This is a standing monument to flight. The hangars were closed my first two times but my husband, an engineer as in physics and software, got to see it with guests. It makes one want to place shoulders back and honor those who have served and our countrymen/women who serve today.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank thedoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This tidy exhibit is chock full of great artifacts and interesting information. My son is an aviation buff so he sought it out and we both enjoyed strolling through it. We had to be a couple hours early for our flight so it was nice to spend some time here.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 516madelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This is an interesting stop in the Milwaukee Airport...travelers and locals can learn about local flight history while in the airport.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank B3029SJhelenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitchell Gallery of Flight also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Gallery of Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing