We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location, but...”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was excited to stay at Aloft in Milwaukee...super location, great rate, chic decor, and a comfortable bed. What's not so evident were the paper-thin walls and frat-party feel on the sleeping room floors. There were twenty-somethings partying quite loudly above and across from us until at least 6am - one young guy in nothing but a towel was storming up and down the hall on our floor yelling for his girlfriend. There was security in the lobby, but we never saw her to quiet things down in other areas of the hotel.

My hussband called it "dormitory-style lodging" - I've stayed in youth hostels that were more restful.

Room Tip: ask for something that's not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyfabul0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. Sorry to hear about your weekend visit with us, but we do appreciate the feedback so that we can address issues that may come up. This feedback will help us in working with our security team to address problems and work to limiting such disruptions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    223
    97
    51
    23
See reviews for
83
233
38
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This property and the staff are a first class operation. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is superb, the hotel is extremely clean, great rooms/suites, the showers are amazing. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessTraveller301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of the hotel and staff. We always appreciate the positive feedback, but more importantly are glad that you had such a wonderful experience with us here. Hope to have you back again as a guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the Riverwalk, and in easy walking distance to anywhere downtown Milwaukee. Pretty cool decor - ultra modern styling. Very cool vibes at our Friday night check-in. Front desk staff can provide lots of information and maps on the area. Room layout is very efficient and fairly spacious. For a person who doesn't usually notice bed comfort (unless it's missing), I was impressed at how wonderfully comfortable the beds are, with real duvets no less. Breakfst isn't free, but a feature I liked is the grab and go salads and sandwiches, which would provide real convenince to road warriors especially. My only two downsides are the expense of the valet parking (but you get that at most big city hotels) and a certain cheap feel to the construction. I wonder how long it will stay looking so nice - but for now, it's great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks for taking time to share your opinions on the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to be able to take care of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at the aloft with my fiancee for two nights over my birthday weekend and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The decor of the whole place was very cool and trendy. The bar happy hour specials were good so it made perfect spot for all my girlfriends to meet before our night out on the town!! They have a free pool table in the lobby which with the happy our prices make the aloft lobby and perfect pre-party spot!!! My only complaint was that the whole staff wasn't overly helpful but there are a couple who will go above and beyond for you. The bartender was awesome and really added to our stay....All and all had a fun experience here and can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Happy belated birthday! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for allowing us to take care of you on your special day. Glad you found the staff to be helpful overall, but also thank you for letting us know where we have room to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Cheap decor. Skimpy on amenities: towels, soap, coffee. We had to call down for everything. Service was prompt, though. The room and the pillows had a musty smell. Parking was overpriced.

This was my 2nd stay and it seems that, although this is a relatively new hotel, it's starting to look run down. I think that management needs to get its act together.

Maybe if you're very young and have no expectations, you might like the Ikea style decor and quasi-hip concept. For me, I'll go someplace else next time. Hard to believe that this is part of the W hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HornBlowR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for the feedback, we always appreciate what our travelers have to say. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, and I would love to have the opportunity to address these concerns with you personally. If you have the time, please feel free to contact me and we can discuss where we can get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing