We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip style and friendly faces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Aloft (our first time) when we visited Milwaukee for Summerfest in July 2011, and we were very happy with our choice. We picked it, because the price was good, and we like to try new places. Lets just say, we now check for other Aloft properties wherever we travel, because we enjoyed the Milwaukee location so much.

The staff, from valet attendants, to front desk, to maintenance were happy and friendly, which makes a world of difference when you're tired from traveling. The lobby was clean, and the style to whole property is kind of a hip-modern look with a slight European edge. In the lobby there are comfortable places to lounge, as well as a funky bar, pool table, and self-serve snack area. You can also access the workout room and pool from the ground floor.

NOTE: The hotel is on the Milwaukee river, and the river front walk is right outside. It's just a short walk to restaurants, bars, parks and river cruise lines.

We were on the 3rd floor, and our room faced the Milwaukee river. Our first impression was that the room was clean and well designed. The bed was very comfortable, and there is a nice flat-screen TV mounted on the wall directly opposite. There was plenty of room for luggage, and lots of outlets for phone/computer chargers. The bathroom was also clean. It has a raised sink bowl, and there is a sliding door separating the toilet and shower (no bathtub). The shower shares a common wall with the bedroom area, and the wall is made glass, but you cannot see through it. We liked the modern style, but if you're more on the conservative side it might make you feel a little uncomfortable. The room has a safe, coffee maker, hair dryer, desk and small storage area. There was even complimentary water (a nice treat if you're like us and getting sick of hotels charging $5 for a bottle). I screwed up the combination to our safe and couldn't open it, and when we called for maintenance he arrived quickly and with a smile.

We really enjoyed the property. We felt safe and comfortable, and the friendliness of the staff was very welcoming. We would definitely stay at this location again if we make it back to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Summerfest is probably one of the most fun events in the city and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 503 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

...as other reviewers have stated, there's a bridge nearby with metal grating, and cars that drive over it pretty much all night (so it's loud). Also, the bathroom situation (where you can't close the door completely) is magnified by the fact that there isn't a fan in there. Requested a river view room on a higher floor and got it. Enjoyed the free bottled water and fridge. Room design was neat, but the lighting was either way too bright or not bright enough. Frosted glass shower that you can see in the room? Cool, but maybe not for certain situations (I'd be horrified to share one of these rooms with a family member). Parking tip: To avoid the expensive valet, use the City of Milwaukee parking garage:
4th and Highland Garage
324 W. Highland Blvd.
Milwaukee, WI 53203

It was only about a block away, covered and safe. Meters nearby required quarters and were a quarter per 10 minutes (we didn't have that many quarters). Overnight weekend parking was $6...not bad. Dining tip: AJ Bombers is about a block away and has super delicious burgers. (it's been featured on many shows on Travel Channel) Bar district is also stumbling distance if you're into that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Just ask. I do have SPG, but am just a general member now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imnotsante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Great review of the parking situation as well as the dining tip, AJ's is one of the staffs picks to send guests to. Sorry to hear about the bridge noise, but the good news is that the City is working on helping us remeduy that situation as we speak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was my first stay in Aloft hotel, a low cost version owned by the W hotel brand. For about $100 I had a king room with a comfortable bed, extra pillows, a large flat screen TV, free WiFi, and a great shower.
I have 2 complaints; noise transferred from the hallway into the room too easily and as someone else mentioned the bathroom is completely exposed when the door is opened. If the door was hinged on the opposite side a person walking down the hallway wouldn’t have a view of a guy in briefs shaving in front of the sink when his wife/gf opened the door, as happened to me while walking to my room.
Even with the peek-a-boo bathroom, I would return if I could grab a room for about $100 or so. Water street bars and restaurants are only a couple of blocks away and the hotel has a sense of style that’s appeals to me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Great location just north of Old World 3rd St. along the Milwaukee River. Within walking distance to everything in downtown and especially close to Edelweiss Cruise lines for a night on the river or Sunday Brunch cruise. Modern and trendy, so I would suggest it as a great place for an adults-only stay.

Room Tip: Cheapest rate would be the 2nd night 50% rate compared with other deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derodenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here twice for business and will definitely return. The location is great because it is surrounded by restaurants within walking distance and is easily accessible to the highway.
Everyone is friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. I worked out the last time I stayed here and the gym did the job for what I needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for the feedback. We enjoy being able to take care of our guests, such as yourself, that give us an opportunity to take care of them on every trip to Milwaukee. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,125 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: €96 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport. Valet parking only available at $30 overnight and $15 for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing