We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the last minute for one night. Without trying to sound too snotty....I've traveled a lot around the world. The LAST place I expected to find this caliber hotel was in Milwaukee. The Pfister reminds me of the best hotel in Buenos Aires, The Alvear Palace.
Old hotel with beautiful interiors that have been truly maintained over the years. Some of the rooms have been renovated and have a more modern feel but blend in seamlessly with the older architecture and design.
The service was impeccable as well and the Sunday brunch not too shabby either.
We were able to get an excellent deal on a suite because we didn't mind checking in after 9:30pm (something to remember for the future). Also the housekeeping staff is on call 24/7 which surprised me. Can't wait to go back. And don't forget to go to the Art Museum on only a few blocks away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maliajets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
What fantastic sentiments. We are so pleased that you found us "stunning." We can't wait for a return visit from you and your husband soon. Thank you again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    329
    85
    36
    25
See reviews for
375
688
69
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I've stayed for a total of four nights at this hotel. Twice in their Grand Heritage suite, and twice in a "tower" room (in the rather unsightly barrel shaped, 1970's addition that houses Blu and the pool). Both rooms were impeccably clean - a BIG thing for me. The cleanest rooms and carpet I've ever seen in a hotel.

The best was the Grand Heritage suite. It definitely is grand, but understated in decor. I liked the simple decor, it was hardly overpowering and was definitely classy. The suite had three rooms - the sitting area, the bedroom, and the bathroom. The bathroom was magnificent, and was literally the size of my apartment bedroom. White marble with black veins cover the floors, walls, shower and tub. There are a total of three vanities, all with marble tops. Two sinks, each separated by a console in the middle. Shower stall is superb - water can spray from the ceiling or wall. At night, this bathroom really comes alive - the lighting is fantastic. A modern chandelier hangs from the ceiling and can be dimmed to multiple light settings. The vanities each have dimmer operated lighting, the shower has floor lights which illuminate the shower seat and floor as well as a recessed light from the shower ceiling. The tub which fills from a stream from the ceiling also has recessed lighting. The separate "toilet room" within the bathroom also has it's own recessed light and marble floor. I got ready in this bathroom the morning of my wedding and it couldn't have been better. I felt just like royalty!

The bedding is wonderfully comfortable, and the carpet was clean! I actually walked barefoot in this suite and felt (relatively) comfortable doing so. Normally I wear socks and shoes in hotels because of the deplorable conditions. Not so here!

The only negative part of the stay in the tower rooms were the size of the rooms and bathrooms. The bathrooms are literally a "water closet." Only one person at a time can fit, and is actually surprising how small these bathrooms really are. Other than that though, the rooms in the tower have wonderful views and are nicely decorated.

This hotel is wonderful - too many good things to list. A bit over-priced in some aspects, but the service and ambience is just wonderful. A must during a visit to Milwaukee - really takes you back in time.

Room Tip: Grand Heritage suite - pricey, but beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We can't thank you enough for such an amazing review. We love to hear that your really enjoyed everything about your stay, it tell us and our staff that we are doing the right job for our guests. We strongly look forward to all of your future stays with us.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The mural in the lobby is breath-taking. We didn't get to enjoy all the amenities because we got there late and had to leave early but it was very comfortable and everyone was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candlewick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
I guess you will have to visit us again very soon, and take in more that the Pfister has to offer. We look forward to having your, and thank you again for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Experienced the couples massage at the spa and it was simply amazing. The atmosphere is calming and the serivece unparalleled. Don't miss the lobby bar for a cocktail after!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Wow! From the sound of things, you had a very relaxing treatment with Well Spa. Your correct in saying that the Lobby Lounge is the perfect stop for a cocktail to follow. Please do visit us again soon, for another treatment.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

There are two sections to the Pfister...the original 9 floor hotel, and the 23 floor tower. We had a room in the towerand it wes very nice.

Pros: Beautiful views through spacious bay windows from each room in the tower (the tower is round so almost every room has a nice view); comfortable beds; appointed as you would expect a beautiful old hotel (two poster headboards on the bed, ornate mirrors, impressive window treatments, etc); friendly staff; great restaurant (Mason St Grill); close to lakefront, art museum,and summerfest grounds; convenient above ground parking (floors 2 through 6) accessible from the hotel elevator

Cons: Due to the shape of the rooms, they are noisy as you tend to hear showers, plumbing, and sinks from adjacent rooms; bathrooms are nice (two room) but toilet/tub room is very small; two beds are full size, not queens; no free internet; .cafe food good but pricey; location is not as close to some theaters and sports arenas; fewer restaurants in vicinity than locations several blocks north and west;

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views. Lower floors in the tower facing west may face adjacent hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for your very factual and poignant review of the Pfister. You seemed to really have paid much attention to the style and architecture of the building. Next time your back staying with us, I would love to be able to give you a more in depth tour of the building and it's amenities. Thank you again for your stay, and review.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing