We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, but overpriced”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Due to weather, we were stranded in Milwaukee for one night and this was the closest hotel to the airport that had an available room. We booked a regular room with a queen-sized bed for $140. For that price, I was expecting a whole lot more than we got, but we didn't really have much choice.

The room was very basic, clean and comfortable. We reserved a crib for our infant son, which was the standard pack 'n play type portable crib - it didn't come with the bassinet attachment, but did its job just fine.

The bathroom was also on the small side, and the tub did drain very slowly, but we didn’t bother calling down about it. Toiletries were nothing to write home about.

I was surprised to find that there was a miniature fridge and a small microwave in our room in addition to the regular little coffee maker, so that was kind of nice to have.

We did visit the pool, which was in a nice little atrium that unfortunately looks out to the parking lot. Despite that, the pool area was really nice and the water was warm.

My favorite part of our stay was Sunday brunch. At check-in, we received two $6.50 vouchers to use at breakfast in the downstairs restaurant. It was a very nice brunch spread, including an omelet bar, and pancakes and French toast made to order. The food was good and the service was excellent.

All in all, not worth $140, but if you need a clean place to stay that is less than 5 minutes from the airport, you’ve got it here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisgirl317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    120
    98
    58
    32
See reviews for
112
129
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We arrived at the Mke Airport Cllarion on Aug. 17th. Due to severe allergies I always check pillows for feathers. After finding 2 of 5 pillows with down contents, even some feathers sticking our of l pillow case, I called the desk and the clerk said that there were NO FEATHER PILLOWS IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL. I then took the offending pillows to the desk and showed them to the lady there. At that time a man came out and handed me two non feather pillows. Later my wife was suffering a terrible sinus headache and when she went to take a shower found water 2-3 inches deep in the tub, with a lot of black debris in bottom of tub. The desk said no plumbers on duty. They could bring a plunger up. We were in pajamas and since we couldn't remove the plug in the tub, a plunger wouldn't help. We declined the plunger and went to sleep. In the a.m. my wife went down to get a luggage cart and mentioned it to the lady on duty and all she said was, I understand you folks declined to have anyone come to your room last night. By morning there was about 10 inches of water in the tub. Needless to say, we will NOT be staying there again as we have for the past 4 years.

Room Tip: check your room thoroughly before stating there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annet458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
I am sorry that you experienced some problems when you last stayed at the Clarion Hotel-Airport. Believe me, now all our Front desk personnel know that we have feather pillows in our rooms. After talking to you, hopefully you will stay with us again and our service will be up to your standards as it has been for that last 4 years that you have stayed with us.

Sharon
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Crowley, TX
Level Contributor
220 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed one night at the Clarion and chose it for an early flight out the next day. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet for being near an airport. Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast was provided at the on-site restaurant ($6.50 voucher per person - if you order above that, you pay the difference). The room smelled a little "musty" and/or like "pets" may have been in it at some point. -- but it wasn't too bad. Huge bathroom door (handicap accessible) that took up almost all of the bathroom whenever it was open, but not a real problem. Comfortable bed, pillows and good shower. I believe they offer a free shuttle to/from the airport, but we had a rental car so did not use it. Would recommend and would stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed here for a quick one night in July 2011 because of the proximity to the airport, reasonable pricing, and free high speed internet. Some comments about the place below:

PROS
- Super close to airport
- Large mini suite style rooms
- Free wifi in room (it's decently fast)
- Free open parking lot
- Free on-demand shuttle to/from airport
- Free donuts and coffee in lobby
- Overall, pretty good value for money

CONS
- Furniture and fitout appears tired and worn
- Carpet really needs to be replaced
- Service is a bit spotty but not terrible

The Bottom Line: This is an extremely practical airport motel for the budget minded. With that in mind, it's fine for what it is, in fact in reality it is quite a good value considering how many things they throw in for free. Particularly nice is the free WIFI and on-demand shuttle to and from the main terminal (all you do is call them and they send the shuttle). Just don't expect anything too fancy and you'll be pleasantly satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I randomly picked Clarion from a list of hotels near the Milwaukee airport and gave them a call. A woman named Kelly told me she would be there in a just a few minutes to pick me up. Sure enough, there she was driving the hotel bus. She was very friendly and personable to all the guests on the bus, which made me feel good about my random pick. Once at the hotel, Kelly immediately got behind the desk to start checking people in. It was then I realized that she and another employee were the only ones running the hotel and picking people up from the airport! Despite this, they were both very calm, friendly and funny, which really put me at ease after an exhausting travel day. Even though the hotel bar was closed, Kelly even offered to drive me to the nearest bar! She also automatically applied a discount to my room.

The room was clean, fairly modern and included a microwave. I was especially happy for the quiet and cold AC. I needed to print a boarding pass for the next day and sure enough at 1 a.m. there was an open business center with two computers and a free working printer (so rare it seems at hotels these days).

I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but it looked surprisingly big.

In the morning, there was a huge array of complimentary muffins and donuts, coffee and juice. They also run shuttles to the airport every few minutes, so it's super convenient for a quick layover like I had.

I couldn't have been more please with this hotel, especially for the price. Not sure if all Clarions are run this well, but I might just try another one because of this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 km away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
1.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#23 of 56 in Milwaukee
225 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Airport
Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207-6114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service hotel facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, just minutes south of the Downtown/Lakefront districts, and from Interstates 94/43. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, complimentary WI-FI, dining in our acclaimed Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary 24-hour health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. The swimming pool is currently under renovation, alternative swimming options are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing